Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Selenium or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 200 Capsules

Powerful antioxidant.* Protects against oxidative stress.*. What is selenium? Selenium (Se) is a trace mineral found in soil and water. It is also found in certain foods. Brazil nuts are the best source of selenium while yeast whole grains and seafood are also good sources. Selenium functions in a number of antioxidant enzyme systems in the body such as glutathione peroxidase (GPx) thioredoxin reductase (TrxR) and iodothyronine deiodinases (IDD).* Selenium has been well studied and is recognized for its importance in human health.*. How does selenium support health? Important free radical scavenger*. Supports the cardiovascular system.*. Maintains a healthy immune system.*. Supports the health of the thyroid gland.*. How does Vitacost Selenium Select support health? Vitacost Selenium features a more readily absorbed form of selenium.*. One bottle contains 200 one-capsule servings. PLEASE NOTE: This product now features a smaller easier-to-take capsule and is packaged in a smaller bottle. The formula remains the same.  . About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.686 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
33 out of 35(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 200 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthywhey
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
easy way to supplement what the diet lacks
 June 26, 2014
"Selenium is hard to get unless you eat Brazil nuts. This is an easy way to supplement what your diet lacks."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vitabeep
fromkona, hawaii
 May 29, 2014
"great price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrHector
fromCanada
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
This product is essential
 November 7, 2013
"I find that Vitacost Selenium is easy to take and it's also a great price. Excellent quality."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
older1
fromNorth Carolina
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Selenium
 July 21, 2013
"I purchased this product because my ever vigilant doctor explained the use of this product is helpful with overall growth. As she described you can build a house with wood but Selenium provides the nails that hold it together. She recommended 200mg a day. I have been taking it for 6 months now and only my insides know if it is working but I feel great at 62. Can't hurt is my theory."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Geemyker
fromCanada
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great value for an under appreciates mineral
 April 26, 2013
"Selenium is lacking in today's diets and can lead to a number of problems. In my case, I use it because I take iodine, (Lugol's) for thyroid support (and every other gland). The selenium is needed when you take larger doses (Like 12-50 mgs/day) to protect the thyroid. This brand is the right kind to take, based on what I've read, and the right strength. I like the small caps, and feel good, so I assume they work."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mjsandiego
fromSan Diego, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Awesome product
 April 13, 2012
"I've been taking this product for many years now and I can’t say what I want to because of the FDA regulations as to what this product did for me but I’m sure I can say that every adult should be taking this product period….mj"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
anglsilov
fromTexas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Senelium
 February 1, 2011
"Great product, excellent price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Msg11
fromNevada
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good Product
 July 10, 2010
"I have been taking this product for a month or so and it appears to be working well as an antioxidant that keeps heavy metals and chemicals from the food supply in check.
Great value for the price.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wholebodyhealth
fromSAN JOSE, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
GOOD SO FAR.
 April 1, 2010
"I HAVE USED TO INCREASE ANTIOXIDANTS IN MY SYSTEM AND SEEMS TO BE WORKING. I'M SATISFIED."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
trainer688
fromcanton,Oh
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
just ok
 February 14, 2010
"this product is NOT as good as many other selenium products. So goes ther cheaper price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DLNE
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Pharmacist
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Makes taking Selenium easy
 February 5, 2010
"Previous products left a bad after-taste. This product is a tiny capsule. Easy to swallow and never an after-taste. Great price, too."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
R3D3
fromArkansas
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent Product!
 September 15, 2008
"This is a high quality selenium that is a great value!"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
foff
fromPrairie Grove, AR.
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Still in testing mode.
 August 2, 2008
"I have been taking this since I received it and have noticed a decrease in my cravings for sweets. But I read articles that said it would help with weight loss. I guess I haven't been taking it long enough to see those benefits."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BuDee
fromOK
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Easy to swallow
 June 12, 2008
"One of the best forms of selenium and easy to swallow, size and price-wise."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
LeVan
fromLafayette, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Reactions to Selenium
 November 2, 2007
"I took this Selenium for about two weeks and I began to have pain on the back of my hands and upper back. Nothing had changed in my diet, supplementation or routine. After I stopped taking it--in three days all the symptoms subsided. My husband is taking it and has had no reaction."
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jimirka
 June 28, 2007
"This is an excellent product and apparently a good quality selenium supplement. It most definitely has had noticible, beneficial effects. Be sure not to take more than one a day or one every other day, though, as selenium overdose is bad. I take it with a zinc supplement as well."
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
barnaby
good daily dose
 May 16, 2007
"this should be a daily for everyone. I have not found a better deal anywhere."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FitMom
Good Value
 May 15, 2007
"Good value for this important supplement."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 200 Capsules
Based on the average of (17) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
17 out of 17 recommend this product