Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop St. John's Wort or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules

Herbal extract that may help promote positive mood.* Supports women experiencing symptoms associated with menopause.*.   What is St. John’s Wort?  . St. John's wort (Hypericum perforatum) is an herb that has been used for 2000 years for health purposes. The genus name Hypericum is from the Latin word hyper meaning "above" and icon meaning "spirit." The species name perforatum refers to puncture-like black marks on the underside of the plant's leaves. St. John’s wort especially its tiny yellow flowers is a natural source of hypericin and other flavonoid (antioxidant) compounds. Hypericin a natural pigment and the active ingredient in St. John’s wort has become the subject of intensive biochemical research over the past three decades. How does St. John’s Wort extract support health? Supports mental and emotional well-being.*. Clinically researched mood support.*. Supports vasomotor symptoms associated with perimenopause or postmenopause in women.*. In conjunction with Vitex agnus-castus can support the PMS-like symptoms in late perimenopause.*. In conjunction with black cohosh can support the symptoms associated with menopause.*. Why choose Vitacost St. John’s Wort Extract? Standardized to 0.3% hypericin ensuring consistent potency in every dose. Delivers 450 mg per each one-capsule serving. Each bottle contains 90 one-capsule servings. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
30 out of 32(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sanwei
fromCO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Seems to be working good.
 February 1, 2014
"I've been taking it once a day and it seems to be helping me. The quality is good and the price can't be beat. I definitely would recommend it and will be continuing to use it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HerbLUser
fromWI
Age:45-54
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Better than another brand.
 January 28, 2014
"I was buying a St.John's standardized product from a competing company before trying Vitacost. I noticed that mood support was better with Vitacost brand when I used up the remainder of what I had and switched back to Vitacost. For me, personally, I like the cost and effectiveness of this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blakes001
fromSeattle, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good Product, Makes a Difference
 January 19, 2014
"I live in the Northwest and the days get reeeaaaallly short in the winter months. All the darkness can get really de-motivating. This St. John's Wart product helps keep me motivated to get things done and not stay home "hibernating". Just the little bit of lift that I need."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AC808
fromCorona, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great!
 October 9, 2013
"Helps keep a positive mood through a very stressful time. Highly recommended. Good price also."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camino3
fromVA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Effective
 May 19, 2013
"I was under great stress and seriously depressed when I started taking this. As advised, it took a couple of weeks to begin having a noticeable effect. After a couple of months of taking one a day, I was back on track, energetic and getting done what needed to be done. I tried taking a more expensive brand and felt the diffrence within a few days. I ordered more of this product which set me back on an even keel. I've taken this for about a year and am now ready to wean off of it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seal53
fromSavannah, GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great product!
 April 7, 2013
"Good price. My first try with this product. No aftertaste. Easy to swollow. Like the different doses to choose from so I can figure out which one is best for me."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ventutherapist
nice dosage
 March 25, 2013
"excellent product, very effective, and I appreciate only having to take it two times/day instead of three, since the typical recommended dosage is 900/mg per day. Most St. John's Wort capsules come in 300 mg."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
blacksbeachbunny
Helps keep you calm
 March 18, 2013
"Try this product also with Sam-E. Seems to help your way of thinking."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tsobenes
Great product, great price
 November 8, 2012
"Very good quality. I have also used more expensive brands and this works just as well."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2BabyMama
fromAlexandria, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Nature's Anti-Depressant
 August 12, 2010
"This is a great product. I combine with 5-HTP to protect myself from stress and its harmful effects. This product has made a huge difference for me. Won't be without it!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ornategirl
Will continue purchasing
 July 8, 2010
"Taking this product takes the edge off days I feel a bit more stressed (I may take up to 3 a day) . I do take one daily.
It has helped since I started taking this a couple years ago.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SWTemplar
The Best There Is ! ! !
 September 15, 2009
"This is the best St John's Wort Extract on the market. I have tried a great many of them and this is the best! Try it."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
MjSchaf
Nasty taste & smell
 January 7, 2009
"I have bought NSI St Johns Wort for years. The most recient batch seems different. When I opened the bottle there was a very strong chemical like smell. I also have found that i burp up that nasty taste for hours after i take it. :("
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nicoletta
fromPalatine, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
As well as expected
 September 30, 2008
"In these dire times it works quite well and as expected."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
preacher97
fromTacoma, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Super Product
 September 4, 2008
"Great alternative, works great"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
TheAlley
fromWisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Not yet sure if product is working...
 December 7, 2007
"I've been taking this NSI St. John's Wort for a couple weeks and it may be improving my mood but I'm not really sure if it is or not. I'm going to continue taking it and see if I fell a more noticeable difference. The product is at a great price so I will be ordering from Vitacost again when I run out. I've also ordered NSI Sam-E to see if that helps my mood in conjunction with the St. John's Wort. Hoping for the best!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Paumalu
 September 21, 2007
"seems to work good and you only need to take twice a day."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
silvanus
 July 25, 2007
"Long term usage is the only way to determine effectiveness , and I really have not had enough time to reach a solid conclusion."
-16points
0of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
wenny
Natural Mood leveler
 July 24, 2007
"Let's face it; life isn't always a bowl of cherries.
I have found, to my pleasant surprise, that St. John's Wort actually works in maintaining a more positive and relaxed mood. It even has helped me get through PMS more easily.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 90 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vitaminjunkie
good stuff
 July 24, 2007
"Seems to be of really high quality. Good price"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next