Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz

Feline Formula. Barley Grass Juice Powder. Give them what they want. Advanced Nutrition. Better than Grass. Cats instinctively eat fresh green grass rich in vitamins minerals and enzymes. However that same grass is full of pesticides and chemical fertilizers that can be harmful to their health. Another problem with eating whole grass is that each blade is covered with microscopic barbs that can cause stomach and throat irritation. Since Green Foods uses only fresh juice - without the barbs - their barley grass powder is good for your cat... and your carpet.  . No Pesticides or Unhealthy Chemicals. The barley used in Barley Cat® is grown without the use of pesticides or chemical fertilizers and is the same barley that is used in their human products.  . Optimum Health. Regular use of Barley Cat® promotes healthy skin and coat freshens bad breath and supports digestion. It also may help increase energy levels especially among senior cats.
Overall rating:
4.817 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
65
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
67 out of 71(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz
Review 1 for Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bondsister
"Wild" colors
 April 24, 2007
"Barley Cat brought my pets' color back. Old animals become 'faded' but young stray animals often looked washed out too, from lack of nutrients.
I was shocked how changed my cats looked in the first weeks--the black one turned intensly black; the stripes on my striped cat were soon very defined and crisp. Even their eyes were more pigmented. They had that look that wild creatures have--of 'wild colors'.
All my animals have liked the Barley from Green Foods. I sprinkle it on their dry or canned food or scatter it under their raw chicken bites. I'm on a strict budget but to me this product is a bargain.
You'll be able to tell immediately which of your dogs or cats especially likes the greens because it will be the first to get its beautiful colors back. The more they will eat, the better.
I'd eat it myself if it didn't have liver in it!
"
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
felines
fromNewark, DE
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Wouldn't be without it !!!!
 May 4, 2014
"This is a wonderful product. I have been using it for years. My cats love it and "ask" for it. I sprinkle it on their wet or dry food and when I sprinkle some into one of the water bowls, it's obvious which one I have to refill first !!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dmnme
fromCA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
It works
 October 20, 2013
"4 paws up!! they all agree; they like it!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oliverthecat
fromThousand Oaks, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
My cat loves this product
 August 8, 2013
"I have been using this product for over 2 years now, I just mix small amount in dry cat food and this picky cat just love eating his food with Barley Cat more than just plain food."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
treelover83
fromUlster County, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Kitty loves it!
 June 16, 2013
"My cat only eats dry food, and we used to sprinkle this on top of his dry food. Then we noticed he would lick it all up before he started actually eating, so we gave him a separate little bowl of it. He eats his "green stuff" as a snack between meals and it's so cute to watch him lick up the powder!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Artzlover
fromDubuque, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Finicky Cat
 May 24, 2013
"Unfortunately my cat wouldn't eat anything I put this in! It was a waste of my money. :("
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Heartsong1
fromSeattle WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Barley Cat no go
 April 28, 2013
"My elder cat doesn't like this product. I thought he would love it because he likes to graze on grass!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lyyxlbl
fromCleveland OH
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
All our 7 cats love it
 February 2, 2013
"we have 7 cats --- all indoor cats ----- so it sounds a good idea for them to have some kinds of "greens" with their meal ---- although I am not 100% sure if the nutrition benefit of this barley cat is as great as manufacturer claimed ----- in any way, all our 7 cats love it, and always show more appreciation with the cat food ( no matter wet or dry) with this "barley cat" as topping on it !"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
StarDotter
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
My Cat Loves Green Foods Barley Cat
 January 20, 2013
"Highly recommend all cat lovers buy this product. My cat thrives on this stuff. Keeps her healthy and loving."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jackie22
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
cats LOVE it!
 December 1, 2012
"a bit expensive for 3 oz, but cats just love it.
recommend.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
overfork
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Product!
 October 31, 2012
"Our cats love Barley Cat. We sprinkle a little on top of their food and whichever cat comes in to eat first,he or she will always eat it off of both bowls, so then we have to put a little more for the sad cat that didn't get any. Really noticed a difference in their coats since using this product."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cinnagirl1
fromLexington,nc
Age:55-64
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
great product
 July 4, 2012
"I use this product for my cats raw food diet. its great"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hello2kitty
fromCleveland, Ohio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
 June 12, 2012
"Great idea! Good for kitty!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KittyKuddler
fromVentura CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
MY CATS LOVE IT
 January 18, 2012
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I use a 1/2 tsp am and pm over their wet food and they love it. You can also spinkle over dry food, it sticks well enough and the cats are really drawn to the grassy scent. My spoiled felines pretty much demand this stuff, I always have an extra bottle in reserve. Oh, and for both cats it lasts 3-4 months, I'd say. The cats are very healthy, shiny full coats too."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PERKY1888
fromOrlando Florida
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
AMAZING RESULTS FOR 12 YR OLD CAT
 October 29, 2011
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"My cat was so picky about which foods. As soon as I got Green Foods Barley cat, I added it to wet food and stirred it around. WOW!She began to eat it instead of picking on her food. I give her 1/2 t. in wet food in AM and the other 1/2t.in evening. Saw it on line and bought it by chance.She eats better, eleminates better, and much more energy. LOVE this product!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wichita
fromMidwest
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:61-180 days
Cats love this product!
 October 18, 2011
"I have two indoor cats. Barley Cat satisfies their cravings for eating grass. All I do is sprinkle it on their dry food, and they gobble it up. It has also helped them to not throw-up their food. It's been a life saver for me!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BarginGal
fromPhoenix, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
perfect cat supplement
 September 28, 2011
"I agree with the other reviewers that adding Barley Cat powder to my cat's wet food once a day (even 1/4 tsp.) makes a difference in the quality of his coat. I see shine and thickness where there was once dullness and constant shedding. Also the white flakes have disappeared. He likes his food better when sprinkled with Barely Grass. This is my second time purchasing the product and I will continue to use it as long as I am a cat owner."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tillyrose
fromVermont
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Barley Cat
 June 9, 2011
"I've used Barley cat for over 12 years - my cats have beautiful coats and sweet breath...they are indoor cats and I never worry about them getting enough grass and other nutrients because Cat Barley has it all...really great stuff...the VitaCoast prices and delivery are the BEST!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
betsyd
Duration of use:Over 180 days
cats love it
 June 8, 2011
"Vitacost has the best price I've seen for this expensive item. This stuff helps encourage ever-finicky cats to eat foods laced with other, less tasty vitamins and supplements. I rely on this stuff and my kitties love it. One of my cats even likes it in water as a "green drink. I feel fairly good about the quality of the product and am glad to have an extra source of taurine and vitamin e for them"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Green Foods Barley Cat™ -- 3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MarCat
fromCroton on Hudson, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
They LOVE IT!
 June 7, 2011
"The product is easy to use, not messy and my two 7 year old cats are drawn to it. They even eat it without cat food."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next