Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz

Excellent Hold & Texture. Fortified with Panthenol & Plant Proteins. No Parabens SLS or Phthalates Petrolatum and Artificial Colors. This high performance advanced styling hair gel delivers salon quality texture shape and shine to all hair types. The unique blend of Panthenol Plant Proteins and Extracts plus Flaxseed (Linseed) adds body and volume with great structure and a lustrous shine. Suitable for color-treated or permed hair.
Overall rating:
4.468 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(126 reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 126 reviews
5 Stars
91
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Star
6
113 out of 126(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Review 1 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steph83
fromFrance
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Best gel
 February 8, 2016
"Jason Hi Shine is the best gel I have ever used and will stick to it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cariball
Gives my hair extra body
 January 20, 2016
"Appreciate the hold this helps give my hair. Very happy with the product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Songbirdjoy
This is a great alternative to chemical gels.
 December 7, 2015
"I had been using a conventional hair gel that left my hands feeling greasy and smelling like chemicals, which I hated. I switched to this and am loving its natural feel. It helps control frizz on my curly hair without leaving a chemical residue. I am very pleased with it. The only thing I might like different would be for it to leave my hair a little softer and less stiff, but overall it's great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cbokay
fromNorthern California
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great for Thick, Curly, or Spiked Hair
 November 7, 2015
"I have used Jason products for years and I stand by their name completely. But this one is not for me. Sadly I didn't see the Jason thin to Thick styling gel at Vita Cost and so I bought this Jason flaxseed styling gel instead.
I have a lot of hair but it's thin and I need gel to keep it in place. This gel doesn't leave my hair feeling smooth and silky like the thin to Thick products. It's hard to explain, but this gel makes my hair feel almost like a birds nest. I tried using it straight and then I tried mixing it with a little water, but it still left my hair feeling dry.
As I said, I'm an advocate of Jason products, and I believe this one is super for persons with thick hair. If I had my old spiked hairdo back, I would use this product for sure because it does give good hold and volume, too."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Miinndy
fromNew York, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Very good
 November 7, 2015
"Gives shine without making hair hard."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
themermaid
fromFlorida
It works
 September 30, 2015
"Must admit I was surprised. I have used other natural gels and they either made my hair look like dull hay or didn't keep my hair in place. But this actual provides enough body and stiffness for my very fine hair AND it really does leave it shiny. No smelliness. No chemicals. I Will definitely order again."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
haveFaithnGod
Glue!!
 August 5, 2015
"This stuff is as thick and sticky as super glue! Not to mention it left my hair stiff and crunchy, even if I used a small amount. I will say it held my curls great, but I cannot stand the stickiness of this gel. When first applying it, my hair will stick to my face or arm. If you want something that is thick and will hold, this is it. Otherwise, if you are looking for a light/medium hold gel, avoid this one."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Huckle
fromisrael
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
great product
 May 25, 2015
"holds my hair very well, keeps it shiny."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SDuBransky
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
It works!!!
 March 4, 2015
"Love the smell and it is light weight. Not sticky!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Imperfectvegan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Husband loves it
 January 15, 2015
"I buy this for my husband who has beautiful thick hair. I adds shine and keeps shape without feeling sticky or stiff."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dolphin22
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good hair gel
 December 26, 2014
"My husband uses it everyday after washing his hair and is satisfied with it. It smells good and works well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Alagirl
fromAlabama
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
good product
 September 5, 2014
"This does help add some volume to my thin hair."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
plantbased2
fromNevada
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Works well
 August 8, 2014
"This styling gel works as well or better than a lot of other products I have tried and it is natural."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
sharoncookie
fromTN
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Joson
 July 15, 2014
"I really didn't notice any difference. Other products are about the same."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
katskratch
fromSaint Simons Island, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent
 June 27, 2014
"I have fine, limp hair. It no longer appears that way. Thank you."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bluebirdbug
fromVermont
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great gel for natural curly hair
 April 14, 2014
"This gel works great for my natural curly hair. It is really thick, so if you have thin hair, it probably wouldn't work well. For my hair, it allows my curls to stay defined and keep my hair from getting to "puffy". It doesn't leave any residue. I use this with Aubrey Organics B-5 gel, which also is great, but much thinner in consistency."
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
VictoriaR
Has alcohol in it! = REALLY DRYING!
 March 12, 2014
"I wanted to love this. It has a strong hold and would be great, except that it dries your hair out because it has alcohol in it. My hair felt like straw. It would be fine right after diffusing it (I have curly hair) but as soon as I scrunched out the crunch it was dry like hay."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LovesCats
fromCentral Illinois
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Product
 March 4, 2014
"I have very, very curly hair and is product really tames it!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happygirl59
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Does what I want it to do!
 February 24, 2014
"I was looking for an organic alternative for the hair gel I had been using, without having to make it myself and risk spoilage. Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Gel is exactly what I was looking for. The scent is very mild when applying, and non-existant once dry. Non-organic hair products occasionally cause me to sneeze or have an allergic reaction. This one doesn't, and it does help my hair stay in place when I style it."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
leucadiaS
fromLeucadia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Jason Styling Gel
 February 21, 2014
"I have baby fine hair and just love this....... and the fact that there
are no harsh ingredients in it is just a great plus !!!
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next