Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz

Excellent Hold & Texture. Fortified with Panthenol & Plant Proteins. No Parabens SLS or Phthalates Petrolatum and Artificial Colors. This high performance advanced styling hair gel delivers salon quality texture shape and shine to all hair types. The unique blend of Panthenol Plant Proteins and Extracts plus Flaxseed (Linseed) adds body and volume with great structure and a lustrous shine. Suitable for color-treated or permed hair.
Overall rating:
4.473 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(129 reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 129 reviews
5 Stars
93
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Star
6
116 out of 129(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Review 1 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1mamma4
fromSD
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
love this gel!
 April 1, 2016
"This gel is not sticky or crunch when dry. perfect!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
shoppinggram
fromRaleigh NC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Will continue using
 February 24, 2016
"I have tried different "natural" products and like this best. Good control but not spikey. Some shine but my hair doesn't tend to be shiny since it is rather dry."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KevinBC
fromNew Braunfels, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Great Natural Product
 February 15, 2016
"Have used it for some time and it works for me."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steph83
fromFrance
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Best gel
 February 8, 2016
"Jason Hi Shine is the best gel I have ever used and will stick to it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cariball
Gives my hair extra body
 January 20, 2016
"Appreciate the hold this helps give my hair. Very happy with the product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Songbirdjoy
This is a great alternative to chemical gels.
 December 7, 2015
"I had been using a conventional hair gel that left my hands feeling greasy and smelling like chemicals, which I hated. I switched to this and am loving its natural feel. It helps control frizz on my curly hair without leaving a chemical residue. I am very pleased with it. The only thing I might like different would be for it to leave my hair a little softer and less stiff, but overall it's great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cbokay
fromNorthern California
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great for Thick, Curly, or Spiked Hair
 November 7, 2015
"I have used Jason products for years and I stand by their name completely. But this one is not for me. Sadly I didn't see the Jason thin to Thick styling gel at Vita Cost and so I bought this Jason flaxseed styling gel instead.
I have a lot of hair but it's thin and I need gel to keep it in place. This gel doesn't leave my hair feeling smooth and silky like the thin to Thick products. It's hard to explain, but this gel makes my hair feel almost like a birds nest. I tried using it straight and then I tried mixing it with a little water, but it still left my hair feeling dry.
As I said, I'm an advocate of Jason products, and I believe this one is super for persons with thick hair. If I had my old spiked hairdo back, I would use this product for sure because it does give good hold and volume, too."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Miinndy
fromNew York, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Very good
 November 7, 2015
"Gives shine without making hair hard."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
themermaid
fromFlorida
It works
 September 30, 2015
"Must admit I was surprised. I have used other natural gels and they either made my hair look like dull hay or didn't keep my hair in place. But this actual provides enough body and stiffness for my very fine hair AND it really does leave it shiny. No smelliness. No chemicals. I Will definitely order again."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
haveFaithnGod
Glue!!
 August 5, 2015
"This stuff is as thick and sticky as super glue! Not to mention it left my hair stiff and crunchy, even if I used a small amount. I will say it held my curls great, but I cannot stand the stickiness of this gel. When first applying it, my hair will stick to my face or arm. If you want something that is thick and will hold, this is it. Otherwise, if you are looking for a light/medium hold gel, avoid this one."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Huckle
fromisrael
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
great product
 May 25, 2015
"holds my hair very well, keeps it shiny."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SDuBransky
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
It works!!!
 March 4, 2015
"Love the smell and it is light weight. Not sticky!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Imperfectvegan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Husband loves it
 January 15, 2015
"I buy this for my husband who has beautiful thick hair. I adds shine and keeps shape without feeling sticky or stiff."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dolphin22
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good hair gel
 December 26, 2014
"My husband uses it everyday after washing his hair and is satisfied with it. It smells good and works well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Alagirl
fromAlabama
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
good product
 September 5, 2014
"This does help add some volume to my thin hair."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
plantbased2
fromNevada
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Works well
 August 8, 2014
"This styling gel works as well or better than a lot of other products I have tried and it is natural."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
sharoncookie
fromTN
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Joson
 July 15, 2014
"I really didn't notice any difference. Other products are about the same."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
katskratch
fromSaint Simons Island, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent
 June 27, 2014
"I have fine, limp hair. It no longer appears that way. Thank you."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bluebirdbug
fromVermont
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great gel for natural curly hair
 April 14, 2014
"This gel works great for my natural curly hair. It is really thick, so if you have thin hair, it probably wouldn't work well. For my hair, it allows my curls to stay defined and keep my hair from getting to "puffy". It doesn't leave any residue. I use this with Aubrey Organics B-5 gel, which also is great, but much thinner in consistency."
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Jason Hi Shine Flaxseed Styling Gel -- 6 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
VictoriaR
Has alcohol in it! = REALLY DRYING!
 March 12, 2014
"I wanted to love this. It has a strong hold and would be great, except that it dries your hair out because it has alcohol in it. My hair felt like straw. It would be fine right after diffusing it (I have curly hair) but as soon as I scrunched out the crunch it was dry like hay."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next