Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop 5-HTP or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets

l-5-Hydroxytryptophan is the precursor to serotonin a mood and appetite regulating neurotransmitter produced within the body. It has been combined with Vitamin C and Vitamin B6 an important cofactor in the conversion to serotonin. The tablets are easy-to-swallow enteric-coated tablets to minimalize any potential gastric discomfort.
Overall rating:
4.632 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
37 out of 38(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets
Review 1 for Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CK79
fromPueblo, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Excellent Product!
 July 13, 2013
"We have been using this product for years now and the price at Vitacost is much better than anywhere we have found. Brand makes a difference with 5-htp and this one is the best we've found."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
me55
fromPA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Helps my husband sleep...
 March 26, 2013
"I had purchased this product some time ago to relax me when I felt overwhelmed or stressed, but didn't use it much. My husband has a very stressful job, so he has trouble staying asleep. Many days he would complain about his lack of sleep and feeling tired. He started taking this product, unbeknownst to me. Then one day he asked me to order this for him! He said that it helps him stay asleep so he feels rested the next day. It certainly works for him."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
carolinP
fromLodi, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Fabulous!
 December 6, 2012
"This is an incredible and powerful supplement; I begin taking it in the evening when the light decreases in late fall and then add a morning regime as winter comes on. I know without a doubt that it definitely helps my mood due to the decrease in light and have told many about it. Good natural stuff...:-)"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Praise5150
Ok 5-HTP supplement
 July 31, 2012
"Too much B6 if you plan to take more than 50mg. Found I broke out (high amounts of B6 may cause acne) and the tabs sometimes didn't go down very well due to their shape."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vickey21
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Yes!
 July 29, 2012
"Enteric coated, super cheap, easy to swallow, loads of benefits. I noticed a major difference in my mood and quality of sleep. I've settled around 3 tabs a day that I take with dinner since they can make me a little sleepy sometimes.
I've recommended this brand to so many people. 5htp is available pretty much everywhere now, but for way more money and not even enteric coated.
"
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
jojojo
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
tried it
 September 4, 2010
"I tried it and prefer the Doctors Best over this brand. This product wants you to take two a day and Doctors Best is one a day and that works better for me.
I also felt happy on Doctors Best and feel nothing with this product.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mammacita
fromSacramento, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Excellent product
 April 4, 2010
"I have tried other brands and this one is the best. I like the small coated tablet rather than a capsule, and the dosage of 50 mg seems to be perfect when I take it twice a day."
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Artladydp
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
CAN'T SAY ENOUGH GOOD ABOUT IT!!!
 March 30, 2010
"I tried this brand a couple of months ago. I really liked it then. When I ran out I bought another brand at my local health food store. I couldn't figure out why it wasn't working as well for me. I ordered Nature's Way again from VitaCost. I received it yesterday and took one this morning. MY WHAT A DIFFERENCE! I can't believe how much better this brand is! This will be the only brand I use from now on. It only takes about 15 minutes and you feel MUCH better! BUY IT!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
gutarman
frompasadena
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
5-HTP l-5
 February 15, 2010
"It does a good job. My wife likes it even more because it controls her appetite."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chopinlover
fromDelaware
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
the best of 5 HTP
 February 2, 2010
"we've tried others but this one is the right blend"
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
lalcat
frommidwest
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
skeptical
 January 30, 2010
"didn't really get anything from this, than again it might work for someone else."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
motherly
Mood swings
 October 9, 2009
"My daughter has up and down constant emotions beyond a normal teen and she loves this item. Some days she only takes one in the morning and some days has taken 3 by the end of the day depending on her stress and ability to feel in control of her emotions."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
johnny5alive
fromNew York
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
love it
 June 29, 2009
"I have tried many different brands of 5HTP. So far I prefer this to the others."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
scarlett
fromMassachusetts
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Helps with mood on rainy cold days
 April 3, 2009
"I bought this to help with sleeping. I find it does not always work for this, however it does help me feel better emotionally using during day, especially this long, long winter!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
rich44
fromtennessee
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
GOOD PRICE AND QUALITY
 January 19, 2009
"SEEMED TO HELP SOME NOT DRAMATICALLY ,BUT SEEMED TO TELL A LITLE DIFFERENCE"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fourisfun
fromIowa
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
great product
 August 24, 2008
"I love this stuff, helps me sleeps, calms me down."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
even59
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Nature's Way Affordable Quality
 June 17, 2008
"I am really pleased with the effectiveness of Natures Way 5-HTP I have noticed a dramatic change in my sleep pattern and my ability to cope in general. The effects are not overwhelming, I am just back to feeling normal and getting a complete, sound nights sleep. What a refreshing change!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roxeve
 December 13, 2007
"The product is excellent, it is the only brand of 5HTP that is truly effective but Vitacost shipping was a hassle."
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
August
fromHouston, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Puts me to sleep fast!
 October 19, 2007
"I don't consume caffeine, but I have a stressful job that can keep me up at night. I was tired of sleeping pills because of the "hung over" feeling the next morning. The first night I took 5-HTP I was asleep in about 30 minutes. I just followed the recommended dosage of two tablets. My sleep is so deep and peaceful. I am refreshed the next morning. I rarely have time for 8 hrs. of sleep. I normally average about 6-7 hours, and on some nights only 4-5 hrs. There is never a hung over feeling. It's so wonderful! My sleep is sooo "delicious"."
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nature's Way 5-HTP -- 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mory
 August 2, 2007
"Very steady product at a good price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next