Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop L-Carnitine or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules

A powerful mitochondrial antioxidant to promote healthy cognitive and cardiovascular function.*. What is acetyl L-carnitine? Acetyl L-carnitine (ALC) is the acetyl ester of carnitine an amino acid derivative. It’s distributed throughout the central and peripheral nervous system. ALC is known as a mitochondrial antioxidant that can provide anti-aging nutrition.*.  . How does acetyl L-carnitine support health? ALC has been shown to reduce both physical and mental fatigue associated with aging.*. ALC is a precursor to the important brain neurotransmitter acetylcholine which contributes to the support of cognitive function and memory.*. ALC can help to maintain blood pressure levels already within normal range.*. New research indicates ALC may promote healthy glucose metabolism.*. Why choose Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl? Provides 500 mg of ALC per 1-capsule serving. Contains 60 servings per bottle. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.524 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
20 out of 21(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Anonymous
fromProsper, Texas
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Can't tell if this product helps or not
 September 20, 2013
"I take several supplements that my doctor recommends. There is no way I can tell honestly what works and does no good. I can not tell if this or any other supplements helps because I take 6 or 7 others each day."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Decidedheart
fromArizona
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Duration of use:Over 180 days
So far so good!
 November 22, 2011
"I try different brands for different supplements all the time (unless I know when its it, its it) I pay very close attention to what my body is telling me, this is one product that works very well with me! I take it in the morning before I eat along with other amino acids (they work well together). It makes a difference when taking them consistantly and with other ones. I never take one amino by its self, I believe they dont work as well."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
act471
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good value
 November 9, 2011
"I buy this product for my husband. He is not a big supplement taker but requests these be reordered!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JUICEMAN
fromNEW YORK NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
A GOOD PRODUCT
 July 21, 2009
"I like this form of l carnitine very much. It is very good for brain health. As usual, NSI offers this product at a great price."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TunaFish77
fromPhila., PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
works on the brain
 June 22, 2009
"I seemed to understand things even more clearly with this Carnitine-seems like I zoomed through a book on Investing like it was nothing. I'm only in the mid-30's and I'm not yet demented -but I feel like it sometimes, hectic as life is. I don't know if I need this, but since it works well with Alpha Lipoic Acid, I decided to get both."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lcampbellmt
fromboston, ma
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
inexpensive
 January 13, 2009
"I have been taking acetyl l-carnitine for years now and i noticed a difference when i first started taking it. I do wonder why you only take one of the NSI product a day while others call for 3 times a day?"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GoodHealth4me
fromBerkeley, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Part of a team of nutrients
 October 3, 2008
"I've never taken this alone so I won't ramble on unduly, but I find it a potent addition to other supplements I'm taking so that my formerly failing cognitive abilities stay sharp."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jge313
fromNatick MA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
great value
 January 28, 2008
"The association between alpha limpoic acid and acetyl lcarnitine has been well established. I use 300mg of alpha lipoic acid and 500 mg of acetyl l carnitine. For cell structure and mitichondria life it has proven to be very positive and NSI has the best value on a superior product."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
huckleberry
No effect
 August 13, 2007
"I don't see any changes by using this product."
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
babies4him
fromNew Port Richet, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Productt
 June 16, 2007
"When used in conjunction with other aminos and CQ10"
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tstearns
NSI Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl review
 May 25, 2007
"High-quality product at an amazing price!"
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
guineapig
good for cutting
 April 24, 2007
"I feel this is an excellent product. I would recommend this product for anyone who is serious about training and getting rid of unwanted fat. It is especially good for those that need to cut and define in a shorter period of time and will also provide some energy as an advantage. Many people take this product along with BCAAS to get that ripped look. enjoy!!!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
9 out of 9 recommend this product