Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Specialty Formulas or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges

Great Tasting Natural Winter Remedy For Children and Adults. For centuries the dark berries of European black elder (Sambucus nigra L.)  have been traditionally used as a winter remedy. In recent years medical researchers have proven its efficacy in clinical trials.  . Nature's Way® Bio-Certified Sambucus is the superior black elderberry extract. Standardized Bio-Certified extract with proven bioavailability and activity within the body for optimal effectiveness. From premium cultivar elderberries with higher naturally-occurring levels of BioActives® constituents. Full spectrum solvent-free extraction process for maximum potency. Natural formula -- no artificial colors flavors or preservatives. Gluten-free and Kosher certified. Original Lozenge Formula. This formula is a great tasting natural remedy for children and adults. It combines standardized Bio-Certified black elderberry extract vitamin C zinc echinacea angusifolia (root) echinacea purpurea (flower) and natural flavor in a base of sucrose fructose magnesium stearate and silica.
Overall rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
29 out of 30(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges
Review 1 for Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VivaVitaCost
fromLos Angeles
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent for clearing throat
 July 21, 2014
"My Mom and I have trouble with post-nasal drip tickling our throats. At times, we can't seem to stop ahem-aheming and it's really bothersome to us and those in hearing distance. I read that Elderberry helps clear a phelmy throat and sure enough, it works! WIthin a couple of minutes of finishing a lozenge, it's gone. Throat is clear. I think for this purpose, one only needs to take a 1/2 a lozenge, so you may want to get a pill cutter and cut it in half.
Works like a charm!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
BKG75
fromAustin
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
More convenient, not as powerful as the syrup
 November 1, 2013
"I prefer these over the syrup. They taste good and they are easy to give. My kids like them too. My doctor, however, informed me that the syrup is much more powerful than the tablets. If you want to take these on a daily basis for good health, by all means. If you are trying to kick (or avoid) something nasty, like the flu, go straight for the syrup!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ilonabologna
fromFort Mill, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great stuff!
 March 27, 2013
"These lozenges do work! Just have to tolerate the taste. I bought these at another store and the taste really turned me off to not trying them again. However, when I ordered these from Vitacost and tried them again, it was different. The taste was better! I wonder if the ones I bought at the other store were going bad? Shouldn't be due to expiration. Just try them and you will see. When I feel a little under the weather I use them and notice a difference."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foofyg
It works
 March 10, 2013
"When I start to feel a cold coming on, I take these 3 or 4 times/day and the cold goes away."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zimalove
fromNJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great product it really works!
 December 28, 2012
"It really works to increase immune function. I always take it if I feel like I am coming down with something like a cold, sore throat, etc.
I bought 3 bottles for my family.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kaymore
A bit tart, but a great immune system booster
 November 29, 2012
"My kindergartener and I have taken these daily since the start of school, and, other than one very mild cold for her, we have remained healthy. I don't think that it is a coincidence."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
allergysufferer
fromIllinois
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Very effective as regular maintenance for allergy
 November 8, 2012
"I give them to my elementary school age kids, 1 each day, after breakfast. It works to keep seasonal allergy and viral attacks away. I had ran out for a week in between, and my children got sick after a gap of 7 days. Have started now, doubled the dosage, helps with cough.
Also, after a cold and cough bout, if the daily regimen is continued, it seems the cold and cough stays away. I guess the elderberry does weakens the virus.
I would like vitacost to sell this in larger quantity and discounted price.
"
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
shengjie
fromChina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
This product is very good
 July 24, 2012
"This product is very good for my and my family's health"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LowCostShopper
fromIndiana
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Fantastic Antiviral
 March 23, 2012
"I have not founda better product to keep on hand and take with you to work, school, travel or where ever for your health needs. The price on this website is wonderful, the ease of use of the product is just as wonderful. Has nice berry flavor."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BatMelech
fromGA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
LOVE Sambucus Lozenges
 March 4, 2012
"I've tried the syrup, and while it works, it was just too sweet for us. The lozenges have a tartness that tastes great, not too tart, even my children love it! We take them at the first sign of an illness coming on and we rarely ever get sick, the Sambucus knocks it right out. HIGHLY recommend!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NY123
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good!
 March 31, 2011
"This is definitely a good product although I prefer the syrup."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nohow
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Easy to use
 December 6, 2010
"Great for trips."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sapph
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
winter toolbox
 October 7, 2009
"I always keep these around in the winter. I believe they do help support the immune system."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LNYR
fromMidwest
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
A MUST!
 September 30, 2009
"A family member developed a sore throat and knew I'd have some type of natural "potion" along, as our family was travelling together. I shared several of these, the sore throat improved. They tend to absorb moisture, so be sure to keep them in a moisture proof container."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acemoose
fromEast Coast
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Taste like tart-n-sweet berries
 April 27, 2009
"It's good for you, and has been proven to be, for many years. The old-timers brewed elderberry wine for good reason.
Mother Nature provides -- and Nature's Way creates. What can I say? I see my own personal well-being has improved in specific areas, and could very well attribute it to this product."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
scamper
fromoklahoma
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
GREAT product!!!
 January 4, 2009
"I don't know what it is about these, but they are absolutely terrific!!! They are tasty, and they actually give me a quick boost of energy after just one tablet. I have let everyone in my family try some, and they all agree, and are wanting a bottle of their own. this is definitely one of my new staples for the medicine cabinet."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lauy
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Overall Recommended
 December 24, 2008
"I have used this product successfully for quite some time, but recently Nature's Way changed the name from Sambucol to Sambucus and some of the ingredients are different. The tablets do not taste as good as they used to, though the flavor is close, and is tolerable."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fairy
fromRenton, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
good product
 December 18, 2008
"I bought these for my husband and I and all our kids...everyone loves them. They are more convenient than the syrup and taste "like pie" was one comment (a little sour pie maybe). I don't know how effective they are, but they seem really good"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nama
fromHyde Park NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I swear by Sambucol
 October 17, 2007
"I have been using Sambucol Syrup and Lozengers for a few years . At the first sign not feeling well I start taking Sambucol and in a few days I'm back to normal. I reccomend the lozengers for when your on the go, and the liquid is not practicle.I just took a bottle with me on a Hawaii vacation just in case, and sure enough a few days into my vacation I started feeling ill. Within a day of taking the lozengers I felt better."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nature's Way Sambucus Original Lozenges -- 30 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
heartseed
Effective antiviral (in my opinion)
 May 8, 2007
"Sambucol has been a reliable support against the winter viral stuff that everybody brings into the office. I was the only one at work to totally evade the viral mess that folks suffered through for 4-6 weeks this winter(2007). I credit Sambucol and Emergen-Cee Immune Defense, which also contains Elderberry, but with vitamin and mineral elements, too."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next