Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(491)
Amino Acids(1,286)
Calcium(3,418)
CoQ10(2,287)
Coconut Oil(3,020)
EFAs(3,305)
Fish Oil(1,430)
Iron(506)
Krill Oil(708)
Magnesium(1,618)
Melatonin(982)
Multivitamins(10,626)
Omega-3(4,619)
Algae(716)
Bee Pollen(259)
Caffeine(85)
Celadrin(78)
Charcoal(82)
Chitosan(39)
Chlorella(127)
Choline(123)
Collagen(202)
Colostrum(170)
D-Mannose(43)
DHEA(364)
DMAE(73)
EFAs(103)
EpiCor(28)
FOS(2)
GABA(154)
GLA(6)
GPLC(27)
Gelatin(13)
Glycine(7)
HGH(33)
Iodine(40)
L-Lysine(142)
L-Theanine(191)
LPP(39)
Lecithin(220)
Lithium(3)
Lutein(308)
Lycopene(89)
MSM(369)
NADH(44)
Pectin(38)
Propolis(68)
Pycnogenol(128)
Quercetin(122)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(10)
Relora(2)
Silica(17)
Soy(97)
Taurine(73)
Yeast(69)
Probiotics(4,660)
SAMe(534)
Spirulina(78)
Vitamin A(127)
Vitamin B(4,232)
Vitamin C(2,575)
Vitamin D(2,248)
Vitamin E(456)
Vitamin K(241)
Whole Foods(1,139)
Zinc(332)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Octacosanol or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Twinlab Octacosanol -- 8000 mcg - 60 Capsules

Concentrate • Wheat Free. Octacosanol Concentrate is derived from spinach a preferred all natural source of octacosanol. It also contains other synergistic long chain alcohols.
Overall rating:
4.588 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
15 out of 17(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Twinlab Octacosanol -- 8000 mcg - 60 Capsules
Review 1 for Twinlab Octacosanol -- 8000 mcg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
strau23
fromMidwest
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:30-60 days
Did nothing for me
 August 22, 2010
"This product did not do a thing for me. I will not purchase again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Twinlab Octacosanol -- 8000 mcg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
targe
dependable energy
 September 7, 2009
"I have used this product for years and it really gives me prolonged energy!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Twinlab Octacosanol -- 8000 mcg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Triathlete1
fromVirginia
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Product.
 July 31, 2009
"I have been usng this product for 15 years now. I'am 50 years old and this product clearly helps in endurance and recovery. I beleave that Octa-Cosanol has clearly been a part of my almost 30 years of winning my age group in Triathlons througout the USA. Wish me luck in the AGE group National Champships."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Twinlab Octacosanol -- 8000 mcg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JackG
fromNorthern Illinois
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Stamina and Energy
 April 26, 2009
"This product is a substantial stamina and energy enhancer. I usually take 1 before breakfast and 1 before lunch. When needed, I take two each time. No more."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Twinlab Octacosanol -- 8000 mcg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rdbman
fromCO
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Memory help
 April 13, 2009
"This product has been show to increase oxygen uptake and I am proof of that. Noticeable difference without it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Twinlab Octacosanol -- 8000 mcg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OctaMan
fromAtlanta
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
HDL too
 April 16, 2008
"I've been taking octa for 25 years now, very religiously. I have very few health issues anyway, so when I went for my first cholesterol screening in over 10 years I was pleasantly surprised to learn that my HDL is out the roof - 56 is a good target, mine was 96!
I'm 58 and have excellent energy levels all day and night. That's one result from octa - the other is upping your HDL. Read the research, starting with U of I and Navy Seals, over 25 years ago. Lots of support for both oxygenic effects and cholesterol impact. But don't expect bubbling energy; you have to get moving to get the benefits!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Twinlab Octacosanol -- 8000 mcg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JimG
fromRockford, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Energy and Stamina Enhancer
 October 27, 2007
"I take one before breakfast and one before lunch daily. In a very high stress job, this addition to other energy enhancers has made the difference in keeping up with the younger people (I am in my early 60's.) and in not taking my usual dark chocolate raspberry bars after lunch like I used to. I simply don't need them, thanks to Octacosanol. And I charge hard right up to and after 5 pm. Brain getting fried, like others complain of? Rarely."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Twinlab Octacosanol -- 8000 mcg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vitaperson
spinach based octacosanol
 October 14, 2007
"These products are usually sold as policosanols extracted from sugar cane. Twinlab's octacosanol is a mixture of long chain alcohols (which makes it a policosanol) but it is extracted from spinach. So you get some of the goodness of spinach with each capsule."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Twinlab Octacosanol -- 8000 mcg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
MikesBored
fromIowa
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:30-60 days
Not great
 September 1, 2007
"This is something I thought Id try after reading an article on how it can raise strength. Since then Ive taken two a day and I guess if it does something it isnt too noticable to me. I like supplements that I know have some effect and if this stuff is helping its not a lot, not enough to keep it in my supplement program. On the other hand its not an expensive product so I guess it was worth trying but I wont keep using it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Twinlab Octacosanol -- 8000 mcg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
runtilithurts
Good Stuff
 June 7, 2007
"Twinlab Octacosanol is great. The additional oxygen that is provided to the muscles is truly beneficial in my training. I highly recomend this product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Twinlab Octacosanol -- 8000 mcg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jack78
fromConnecticut
Age:75+
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Strong & Energetic
 May 25, 2007
"I've been taking Octacosanol for over 20 years or more. I'm 78 and am told I looke like I'm in my 60's. I play Senior soft ball on two different teams, I work out at the YMCA and take the above every day. I highly recommend it for the active person to give you added vigor and strength."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Twinlab Octacosanol -- 8000 mcg - 60 Capsules
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
6 out of 6 recommend this product