Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Sugar or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Coconut Sugar - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)

Enjoy the sweet life! Sprinkle on pure non-GMO coconut sugar as a natural alternative to traditional refined sweeteners. All-natural & non-GMO coconut sugar. Made from the sap of the coconut palm tree. Brown sugar taste with a hint of caramel. Sturdy raw sugar-like granules. No additives or preservatives. Vegan & gluten free.  . Ready to ditch unhealthy refined sweetners? Sugar doesn’t get any sweeter than these tiny tropical granules made not from coconut fruit but from the rich flavorful sap of non-GMO coconut palm trees.  . Sturdy like other raw sugars these versatile crystals add natural sweetness with a hint of caramel and a delicate crunchy texture to any dish. Sprinkle them on or stir them in the same way you’d use any granular sweetener.  . About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (cGMP).  
Overall rating:
4.917 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Coconut Sugar - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Review 1 for Vitacost Coconut Sugar - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SweetEats
fromInland Empire, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Wonderful flavor.
 August 3, 2015
"I think coconut sugar has a slight brown sugar or molasses type taste & we (my household) love it. I use it as my go to sugar (no longer using white over processed sugar in anything), & Vitacost's brand is great."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Coconut Sugar - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CountryMom4Him
fromTexas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Flavorful
 July 24, 2015
"This was something I had wanted to try for a while and was not dissapointed. The flavor is strong enough to add that little extra to my tea and coffee. I use it as a treat."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Coconut Sugar - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
alyssakgf
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Excellent taste!
 May 25, 2015
"This product is absolutely amazing. I love the taste, consistency, everything. Incredible alternative to regular white sugar. Never buying any other type of sugar every again!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Coconut Sugar - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1hapeshopr
fromPA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Nice Substitute for Brown Sugar
 May 18, 2015
"I find this product to be a wonderful substitute for brown sugar and it has a low glycemic index. It does seem to have a hint of caramel which makes it even tastier! We use it on baked sweet potatoes with a little cinnamon mixed in, on oatmeal and in cookie recipes that call for brown sugar. I have found the Vitacost brand to taste just as good as the name brand and the price is much better."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Coconut Sugar - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
different taste than regular sugar, but good
 March 5, 2015
"I didn't quite expect coconut sugar to have such a specific taste. It's almost like a brown sugar but instead of a molasses flavor, it just has a smokiness to it.. kind of reminds me of a dark maple syrup with less intense sweetness.
With certain baked goods, it would be hard to replace this with regular sugar simply because the coconut sugar has a strong taste to it (eg. in something light like a vanilla cake, shortbread, sugar cookie..) However, I love substituting it for things like pumpkin bread and carrot cake. It's also nice with chai and black teas."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Coconut Sugar - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Julietch
fromTarboro, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
great sub for sugar or fake sugar
 January 1, 2015
"tastes great and is healthier than anything else I can buy other than honey. Honey would tie with coconut sugar."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Coconut Sugar - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lmac
fromMyrtle Beach, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Just as good as the name brand
 December 21, 2014
"Bought this sugar to give it a try. Tastes great and price is good too!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Coconut Sugar - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MomOTwo
Best Sugar
 December 17, 2014
"Made a batch of cookies with and they turned out so much better than when I made them using regular sugar. Used with some Tazo tea, and it just had this grand taste! I now keep this sugar next to my coffee maker and tea jar, so I can use instead of regular sugar. I only with this came in a easy pour containter. But great product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Coconut Sugar - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
itsgoodtobealive
fromCinti, Ohio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
The right sugar for me!
 December 13, 2014
"Love this stuff! It has only 15 calories per tsp and the fact that it has a low glycemic index is very important for me. Thanks VitaCost!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Coconut Sugar - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
moparchic314
fromPine City Mn
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
my family likes coconut sugar
 November 21, 2014
"I use this in my baking. I cut back on the amount of coconut sugar I use because it seems so much sweeter than white sugar."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Coconut Sugar - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AmDe77
Great product and price!!
 October 21, 2014
"I am so happy vita cost now carries their own brand of coconut sugar at a lower cost!!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Coconut Sugar - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yogini1972
fromQuebec, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Yummy!
 October 20, 2014
"I looooove coconut sugar! In addition to the fact that it has a low glycemic index, it has a delightful caramel taste. I wouldn't live without it!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.