Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)

Sweetness straight from the hive! Drizzle on nutritious goodness with pure nutrient-packed Vitacost® Raw & Unfiltered Honey. Raw and unfiltered. 100% pure wildflower honey – no additives or preservatives. Thick smooth and naturally sweet. Loaded with vitamins minerals enzymes and antioxidants. Naturally fat and gluten free + non-GMO. A perfect sugar alternative – great for skincare too! BPA-free bottle. The buzz is that raw honey is better. Why? Hardworking honeybees do their duty to create nature’s perfect food (did you know honey is the only food substance that never spoils?) rich in vitamins minerals enzymes and other nutrients and sweet as can be without any added sugar. Heat it treat it and pack the pretty-looking liquid in bottles—and you get ordinary supermarket honey stripped of the good stuff that makes this liquid gold truly golden.  . Raw and unfiltered honey on the other hand is minimally processed leaving beneficial nutrients where they belong. The flavor is fuller the texture is thicker and you can spoon in or spread nutritious deliciousness as if it were straight from the hive.  . Why you’ll love it.  . Crack open a jar of Vitacost® Raw & Unfiltered Honey and you won’t bee-lieve the glorious golden thickness and pure sweet scent. Created by bees that foraged on fields of colorful wildflowers it’s fresh-tasting mild and rich with subtle floral hints.  . Non-GMO naturally gluten free and stable on your shelf as long as you let it last Vitacost® Raw & Unfiltered Honey is a healthy and sweet addition to your day—in tea on toast or straight from the spoon (promise…we won’t judge!).  . Solid gold. If your honey looks cloudy or less runny than you expected don’t fret! You’re witnessing the natural process of crystallization. Raw honey which isn’t processed like mainstream gooey-drippy honey is rich in pollen and other nutrients and may solidify slightly over time. This doesn’t mean it’s gone bad; in fact honey never spoils! To get things flowing again simply place the bottle in warm water and wait a bit. Or enjoy the sweetness by scooping out the honey and spreading it on.  . About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (cGMP).
Overall rating:
3.929 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(85 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 85 reviews
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
4
1 Star
14
62 out of 85(73%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)
Review 1 for Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
LiftingHeavy
Chemical Flavor
 March 5, 2015
"After a few months after opened the bottle; the flavor change. It changed to a very bad horrible weird, plastic, chemical taste. Not buying again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sonya30
fromWilliamsville, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Terribly gritty!!
 February 28, 2015
"Would never purchase again. Became gritty after 2 weeks. Very disappointed!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Secure
fromNH
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent
 February 20, 2015
"Goes great with Vitacost's organic Peanut Butter!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Akayhu
fromOklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Sadly did not meet quality standards
 February 19, 2015
"It has been solid since we bought it. Have to scrape it out and heat up to get it to liquid form. Grainy texture still after heating and mixing"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tlc031323
fromWorthington, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This product was awesome and vey flavorful!
 February 16, 2015
"Product was packaged in an easy to use bottle in a convenient size. The honey was very flavorful and great to use in all my recipes or alone as a sweetner!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PlanetGaia
fromSaint Johns, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this honey!
 February 14, 2015
"I occasionally add honey to my teas and this is the best one out there for the price. Another reviewer noticed that the honey started crystallizing after a short period of time but it does not mean that it has gone bad! Crystallizing is actually a sign of a good quality honey (look it up!). It is still delicious and can still be eaten. Once the honey is used up, to get to the crystallized honey, I simply cut the container in half with a sharp serrated knife and spoon the rest out. Still delicious in teas or on a bagel Recommend this honey."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nwcoastlover
fromVancouver, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Yum!!
 February 11, 2015
"Great honey!! I use a ton of honey...it has so many uses and is a wonderful healing food!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sparkyk62
fromVero beach, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Crystallizes fast
 February 8, 2015
"I agree this is good honey but don't know how to keep it from crystallizing. I live in Florida, and it happens very fast. Maybe this has been addressed in are previous review."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
earthgoddess
fromPhoenix AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Honey
 January 30, 2015
"This a excellent honey for cooking and baking. I used it in gluten free baking with great success."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
mrrags1
fromTX
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Can't get it out of the silly bottle!
 January 17, 2015
"I ended up wasting a lot of this because I couldn't get it out of the silly bottle it's in! What were they thinking when they made the consistency so thick, yet the opening so small?? I used a knife to try and get out small amounts at a time. Maybe I was burning the calories the honey would add but I'd like a little less hassle and a LOT MORE honey!!
Don't waste your time and money... buy a honey that you can actually get out!
"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
MissLillie1
fromWinter Haven, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Was not what I expected as could not be poured.
 January 4, 2015
"I don't doubt but what this is good for you but I was surprised that the consistency was very thick and has to be removed from the jar by a knife or other thin, long handled instrument. It had a grainy consistency that I didn't expect."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
PaleoPixie
fromChantilly, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Amazing Flavor, Difficult to Extract
 December 31, 2014
"This honey is absolutely amazing. The flavor is intense, complex, and ten times better than the average bottle of honey at a grocery store. The product actually deserves 5 stars, but I give it 4 due to a single complaint that pertains to the packaging more than the product itself. My issue with it is that the honey is very difficult to extract from the bottle. There is a tiny squeeze hole in the lid, but since the honey had completely crystallized before it arrived at my door, there was no chance of using it like a squeeze bottle. I attempted to soften the honey in a dish of warm water, which helped significantly, but it was still not quite squeezable. When I took the lid off to scoop out the softened honey, I realized that none of my spoons fit into the open top, not even the small tea spoons I have. In the end, I had to use a knife to scrape the honey out of the bottle every time I wanted to use some, and even so, I had to soften the honey bottle repeatedly in warm water so that the knife could actually separate it (otherwise it was a solid chunk). Purely because of the inconvenience factor, I probably will not buy this honey again, but the flavor is incredible and if you do not mind spending several minutes retrieving your honey each time you want a few drops for your tea or oatmeal, then I would highly recommend this product."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
FreeSpirit68
fromBroomfield, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
There are better products out there
 December 30, 2014
"This honey crystallizes too quick and is hard to dispense... I will be buying Rice's from now on..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
HomeGrownBaby
Do Not Buy!!
 December 22, 2014
"I read the reviews about it smelling like manure, and thought they were crazy. Well I had used this in baking and wondered why every batch tasted "off" until I decided to use some in my tea. Gross! It DOES smell like manure, and if you taste it off the spoon, it is initially sweet, but there is some kind of aftertaste that ruins everything. Definitely something wrong. Unfortunately I reordered the large size before I realized, so I guess I'll have to test that too..."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
sandybee
fromLas Vegas, NV
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is a Thick Honey
 December 14, 2014
"I gave it a 4 because it is thick and hard to get out of the jar. I like that it is raw and unfiltered, but next time I will order the one that is more liquid. I was okay to use it hot tea ,but I had to use a grapefruit teaspoon to get it out of the jar. I didn't want to heat it to much and loose the health benefits of the raw honey."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
sweetkitty
fromDouglas, Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
not squeezable
 December 13, 2014
"The honey in this bottle is to hard to squeeze straight from the bottle. It must be heated up for 30 seconds or so to get any honey out. I don't like heating plastic in the microwave. I would not buy this product again.
Thanks
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Allthatglitters
fromStearns, Ky
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Honey was hard as a rock
 December 11, 2014
"I have ordered this honey in the past and it was always good, however this time the honey was totally turned to sugar, hard as a rock. Not usable."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Burdock
fromFlorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Had turned to sugar before arrival
 December 11, 2014
"Raw unfiltered honey is purchased for its enzymes, and any attempt to microwave raw honey after it has crystallized will destroy those enzymes; this product, which had been purchased before and was fine, arrived in hard sugar form and even slow heating it in water didn't help. Will avoid in the future."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
BabyMochi
fromSan Mateo
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
This one ariived rock hard
 December 8, 2014
"It arrived rock hard and I had to leave the whole thing in a hot water for hours to get it soft enough to scoop with a spoon.
There is no way it will come out from the squeeze top.
I will never buy this again.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Raw & Unfiltered Honey - Non-GMO -- 24 oz (680 g)
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
amd013
It's hard to enjoy because of the container.
 November 8, 2014
"Good honey, but impossible to get out of the bottle."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next