Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

NOW Foods Solutions Certified Organic Shea Butter -- 7 oz

100% Pure and Certified Organic. Emollient/ Seals In Moisture. Condition: Dry cracked or chapped skin in need of moisture especially on tougher areas such as the elbows knees and feet. Solution: 100% Natural Shea Butter has a rich luxurious texture that penetrates deep to condition and moisturize every type of skin. Shea Butter is derived from the tree nuts of the karite trees that grow in Western and Central Africa. It is a wonderful emollient that's perfect for daily use. Can also be used as a scalp moisturizer.  . This product is naturally hard and color/texture will vary depending on temperature. This product will melt when warmed above body temperature and become solid again when cool. This is natural and may affect the appearance but will not harm the quality of the product. This warming and cooling may produce fat crystals affecting the color/texture making it appear grainy or uneven. If hard shea butter can be softened by placing in a pan of hot water (e.g. 100 F or warmer) for 30 minutes or microwaved until soft.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
6 out of 10(60%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for NOW Foods Solutions Certified Organic Shea Butter -- 7 oz
Review 1 for NOW Foods Solutions Certified Organic Shea Butter -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
scarletred76
fromGreensboro, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
love it!
 August 21, 2014
"perfect to mix with cocoa butter and essential oils to make your own body cream!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NOW Foods Solutions Certified Organic Shea Butter -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
fromBaie-comeau, Québec
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
will never buy this again
 July 30, 2014
"i use a lot of shea butter for my skin and when i saw this one i decided to give it a try. Actually it's the worst shea butter i ever used! the texture is awfull!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NOW Foods Solutions Certified Organic Shea Butter -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Jojo09
Good quality terrible texture
 July 5, 2014
"I have used many natural and organic shea butter products as heavy moisturizers for hands, feet and lips. This one is clearly a nice quality but arrived separated with chunks in it. I will use it but I would not bimuy this again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NOW Foods Solutions Certified Organic Shea Butter -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Tychocus
fromlongmont, Colorado
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 June 25, 2014
"I was very unhappy with this product. It was lumpy and left small globs of product on my skin. I don't know if I got a bad batch but this was horrible and I asked for a refund."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NOW Foods Solutions Certified Organic Shea Butter -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Little1
fromLancaster, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This product smells good
 June 18, 2014
"This product has a nice scent--very mild. I love the concept behind it--organic shea, but the cream is gritty and does not melt or dissolve during application, so that is bothersome. When it does, it's a lovely cream. Based on instructions you can heat it in warm water or microwave to make it smooth, but I don't really have the time for that and I don't have a microwave in my master bath--so not real convenient. It would have been helpful to know this before purchasing. Overall ok."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NOW Foods Solutions Certified Organic Shea Butter -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
gardengrammy
fromStockton, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Not what I expected
 May 26, 2014
"This was my first time buying 100% Shea butter. I was very disappointed. I use coconut oil all the time and thought after reading quite a few reviews that this would readily go on the skin out of the jar; it does not. Even after temperatures got into the high 90's here the Shea butter was just as hard to put on and my coconut oil is of a melted consistantcy. I have not tried mixing it yet with anything else, which I will have to do in order to use it....just have not had the time as of yet."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NOW Foods Solutions Certified Organic Shea Butter -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bluefeatherorganics
fromHealdsburg, California
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
deep moisturizing organic
 May 21, 2014
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"I use NOW Foods Solutions Certified Organic Shea Butter in my Blue Feather Organics (BFO) Coconut Lavender Body & Massage Lotion and it is top quality shea butter that has a deep moisturizing effect and great for a massage! Love Love Love it!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NOW Foods Solutions Certified Organic Shea Butter -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JuJu87
fromGA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
great product!
 April 10, 2014
"I use this to add to my home made facial & hand creams/lotions, and it has been an excellent source for natural moisture and beauty to the skin. With the skin being the largest organ of the body, I try to be fully aware of what I allow to go straight to my bloodstream...any and all products that you put on your skin-goes to your bloodstream.
This product, is good for you without the toxic garbage you find in most skin products today.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NOW Foods Solutions Certified Organic Shea Butter -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maymarz
fromLos angeles
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent Moisturizer
 February 22, 2014
"My daughter and I only use natural oils on our body but she would complain that the oils seem to sit on her skin rather than sink in. She tried this product at my son and daughter-in-law's house and was impressed so she asked me to buy her some. She says this is the best moisturizing product she has ever put on her body. Her skin was feeling dry and cracky but now it's quite soft and she says it feels soooo good and soothed."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NOW Foods Solutions Certified Organic Shea Butter -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mendomom
fromNorthern California Coast
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 January 5, 2014
"I made an organic body butter using this product along with organic coconut oil & organic olive oil. It turned out great!"
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.