Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs

Pure. Natural. Real. 100% Pure Non-GMO. Pleasant-Tasting Natural Sweetener. Great For Reduced-Calorie and Sugar-Free Recipes. Zero Calories. Low Glycemic Impact. Naturally Sweet. Erythritol is a naturally-occurring sugar alcohol derived from a corn source and is naturally found in small amounts in various plants fruits and fungi including mushrooms. It contains virtually no calories (95% less calories than table sugar) has a low glycemic impact and doesn’t contribute to tooth decay. Basically all the bad things about sugar are absent in Erythritol yet it tastes just like sugar and is about 70% as sweet.  . NOW Real Food™ Erythritol has a clean sweet taste and is the perfect natural substitute for sugar in many applications. There’s really no need to use refined table sugar ever again.  . Because you are what you eat NOW Real Food™ has been committed to providing delicious healthy natural and organic foods since 1968. We’re independent family owned and proud of it. Keep it natural. Keep it real.
Overall rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
28 out of 30(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs
Review 1 for NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
taz080
fromdelray beach , fl
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
taste is close to sugar
 February 4, 2016
"I use this most of the time and it works well in baking almost as sweet as sugar."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
arosemom
fromNew York, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good sweetener
 January 26, 2016
"I've been staying away from sugar and the usual artificial sweeteners, which raise blood sugar levels. This product does not have that effect. It's sweet enough for my taste and I have had no problems with it to date. Have been using it for about a year."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
reviewforu
fromNorth Carolina
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love this sweetner
 December 26, 2015
"I use this sweetener to help my blood sugar remain stable. I enjoy the taste and feel I don't have to sacrifice to get a sweet taste."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
shop2mylou
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
just like sugar
 November 20, 2015
"tastes just like sugar to me and vitacost offers the best price for it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deedee52
fromOttawa, ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product
 November 15, 2015
"I received my order in record time. And the price for a 2.5lb bag is unbeatable. Great product for someone who doesn't want their insulin spiked, and with no after taste!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nikkipoo101
fromBoynton Beach, Fl.
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Does not raise blood sugar
 November 10, 2015
"Great way to bake without sugar. I use this making ice cream and any dessert calling for sugar. Good substitute. Will be making Christmas cookies with Erythritol and almond flour instead all the high carb ingredients."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VeganNerd
fromLos Angeles, CA
Great deal
 October 19, 2015
"Erythritol has become my staple sweetener, and this is hands down the best deal I've been able to find."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wellkeeping
fromPleasant Grove, Utah
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent product at a great price!
 September 30, 2015
"Erythritol has become my staple sweetener, allowing me to make the switch to a low-carb lifestyle and still be able to enjoy sweet treats. NOW Foods Erythritol from Vitacost is a terrific value, especially in the larger 2.5 lb. size. I grind a lot of it into 'confectioners style' and use it that way, often combined with xylitol and a small amount of stevia for a very pleasant sweetness. I just hope that the Natural Alternative Sweetener industry will soon be able to start lowering their prices overall. Thank you, Vitacost, for great products that are an excellent value!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kristykins
GREAT Natural sweetener
 September 24, 2015
"This sweetener is GREAT for baking things without sugar, but still offers the sweet that we all crave! I love that it's a natural sugar alcohol."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
2 Thumbs Up!!
 July 1, 2015
"I looked everywhere to find this at a reasonable price - look no further!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
shapinup
fromMidwest
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Really Great Product
 June 4, 2015
"I really like this brand of erythritol. I create my own blend of sweetener by mixing 1 cup of erythritol and 1 tsp pure stevia to make a sugar free blend for some of my recipes and beverages. It's perfect."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
nutsandberries
Good sugar substitute
 June 1, 2015
"For those who need to be mindful of blood sugar spikes, this is a great option. Mix 1 cup with 1 tsp stevia extract for a blend that works just like sugar in any recipe. I usually use stevia to sweeten, but in baked goods where you need the heft/bulk of sugar, but want to avoid sugar, this works. For a brown sugar substitute, just add a dribble of blackstrap molasses to the blend. I find Vitacost has the best price, but it still runs a bit on the spendy side. I appreciate that it's non-gmo."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
QuestLover
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great taste and great texture
 May 29, 2015
"Love this as a calorie-free sweetener. No bitter after-taste and the texture is on point."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KellyW
fromLawrenceville, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great taste and great price
 April 8, 2015
"This is the closest taste to real sugar than any healthier sugar substitute and although a sugar alcohol, it is one that doesn't cause GI upset. Love this and the price for this brand is good too!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Joyfulmomof6
frompacific Northwest
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
it's not toxic to dogs like xylitol
 February 18, 2015
"We've been sugar free for several years now, and had been using xylitol, another of the sugar alcohols class. But we didn't want to take any chances with our new dog getting poisoned.
Erythritol tastes very similar to xylitol, and it is also good for your teeth like xylitol is.
NOW Brand is a good brand that we've been very happy with. It's nice that Vitacost sells it in 2.5 pound bags, because we are a big family.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Babylove063014
fromIndiana
Great product for baking and other cooking need
 February 4, 2015
"I use this products along with stevia extract to make my own baking blend. It's awesome! I use it in desserts and other treats daily."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pat01
fromCT
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
excellent sugar substitute
 January 2, 2015
"I use this for applesauce and any thing that already has fruit in it that calls for sugar, no aftertaste."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
THMChick
fromMIchigan
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I love this product
 December 17, 2014
"I mix this Erythritol with the NOW Foods brand Organic Stevia to make my own homemade truvia blend. Much more economical and I love that it is non GMO. That is important to me.
Perfect in my baked goods and drinks.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
discountshopper
fromSanta Rosa, CA
Good natural sugar alternative
 November 22, 2014
"I have always been a fan of Splenda and still use it, but am trying to also use more natural sweetener alternatives. This erythritol does not have an after taste and can be used in many ways. I have recently purchased it again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NOW Foods Real Food Erythritol -- 2.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Harley883
fromOntario Canada
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Not Sugar ! But it is Good
 November 19, 2014
"This sugar replacement is pretty good, not to much of an after taste, takes a few times using this product to get use to the different taste, I mix it half and half with monk fruit powder or lo han powder and it really helps, very close to a sugar taste."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next