Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Nut Butter Blends or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz

100% Organic Raw & Stone Ground. Dastony uses an ancient method known as stone-grinding in creating the world's finest organic nut and seed butters. Originally used for turning olives into luscious and delicious olive oil stone-grinding applies pressure with powerful perfectly smooth granite wheels. Although "old world" in its approach. It is revolutionary in terms of preserving nutrients and flavor. Only the finest organic sprouted raw almonds are used in every handcrafted batch to created a gourmet and silky smooth nut butter. Attention to artisan methods is something we at Dastony take great pride in.  . Enjoy Dastony Sprouted Almond Butter:. With a spoon right out of the jar. On toast beads crepes and ice cream. Instant nut milk-simply blend with water.
Overall rating:
4.48 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
22 out of 25(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz
Review 1 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful123
fromCapron, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
THE BEST
 April 15, 2016
"this product is wonderful for adding to smoothies. It has a sweet taste but no sugar/sweetener in it. It is not as thick as almond butter that is not sprouted but the flavor is fantastic. Also it is great for dipping celery or what ever. Since I do not eat bread I would never make a sandwich with it but feel it may be to much like a sauce to use on a sandwich."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrsbusyb
Others complaint is my compliment
 February 28, 2016
"Other reviewers didn't like how runny this almond butter is, but that is why I love it! Sure to spread it like a traditional nut butter isn't going to work. Since moving to a cleaner whole food diet my "dessert" go to is sliced bananas, this almond butter drizzled over top, coated in the Vitacost unsweetened coconut shred, and some dark chocolate chips. YUM.
This almond butter is perfect to drizzle. As someone who hates receiving a nut butter that is hard as cement with an annoying layer of messy oil at the top- this almond butter was a real pleasant surprise with how loose but well mixed it is. The entire butter is almost in a liquid state- but the oil to nut is mixed perfectly so it is ready to drizzle upon opening. Also great to mix into yogurt as it easily stirs.
This almond butter is pricey- no doubt- but the flavor and quality is there and because of its liquid state I am able to use it sparingly for my application. I will purchase again, in fact I am on my second jar, and I have since ordered more of this brand's offerings."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MonicaB23
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Best taste but really runny
 February 21, 2016
"This is probably the best tasting almond butter I've ever had, but it is really hard to spread since it's really thin and runny. But it's so good I don't care."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LaAnnB
fromMetro Atlanta, Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Really tasty!
 February 19, 2016
"I bought this almond butter mainly to use with my apples, but I found another great use. I make my coconut pancakes, add a layer of almond butter then sliced bananas... So good!!!
It has a Strong almond taste... so you know it must be good, so natural. I just wish it wasn't so much money.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthNNNut
Love it! Too bad the price went up!
 February 18, 2016
"I love this almond butter. It is runny, but the fact that it is sprouted gives me some hope that my tummy won't have as much of a problem digesting it. The price on vita cost however just went $3 a jar up. I was still able to order at the $13/jar price form a different retailer, but am not looking forward to the times when the price increase effects all the retailers. Will have to make my own then..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
DunwoodyMom
fromAtlanta
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Runny, runny, runny
 January 7, 2016
"This almond butter has a nice flavor, but it is so runny it drips off whatever it is spread on. Thought it might get firmer in the fridge, but it did not. Would never purchase again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Katiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Nice almond butter, but pricey...
 December 11, 2015
"I have a lot of food sensitivities and digestive issues. I seem to tolerate this almond butter well. A little pricey though."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Klem
fromAuburn Ca
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Sprouted almond butter yum!
 November 30, 2015
"Very delicious, very healthy almond butter. Well worth the price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Unza
fromJersey Shore
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Consistency of milk
 November 20, 2015
"To call this item almond butter is wrong - it cannot be spread but you could pour it in a glass and drink it. I was so disappointed and don't know if my purchase was what it always is like or I got something different. What a tasteless mess of liquified almonds. I have had Sprouted Almonds brand and it is WONDERFUL but Vitacost doesn't have it anymore and this expensive jar of tasteless muck could only be used to pour on something or maybe water down more and you'll have some kind of almond milk. I would NEVER purchase again. As a side note - Vitacost stands by all their products and are very good about making it's customer happy. I give the almond butter zeroo stars and Vitacost 5 stars for customer service."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bless1
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
It is like eating the nut fresh from the tree
 November 7, 2015
"This almond butter reminds me of my childhood, we had an almond tree, when the almonds fall my siblings and I would get them hit them with the hammer and eat the fruit. This butter has the taste of fresh almond. Love it"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
golfjunkie
fromLynnfield, MA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very high quality product
 October 12, 2015
"The taste of this almond butter is excellent. Mild, yet full of natural almond flavor. What's really great about this product is the organic almonds are sprouted, which is better for the body because the sprouting releases the enzyme inhibitors which can interfere with digestion and makes the almond more digestible. This almond butter is also raw and is stone ground, which adds to the high quality of this product. Although it's expensive, a little goes a long way when using this almond butter."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hiker22
fromDenver, CO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best tasting almond butter ever.
 July 28, 2015
"This sprouted almond butter is best tasting almond butter ever. It is so good it is hard to stop eating it. I highly recommend you try it. I also like the fact that not only does it taste good--but it is sprouted and organic."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
POHSMBEE
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
BEST NUT BUTTER!
 July 16, 2015
"This is theeeee best nut butter ever! I've tried them all and not only is it the healthier, more digestible kind, but it's the tastiest as well!."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LynnD
fromArizona
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Creamy
 July 13, 2015
"The only thing I don't like about this is the price.. but that's what happens when you not only want something organic but sprouted as well. It is soooo amazing though- Love how creamy and smooth it is. I like to put it in my smoothies or just eat right off the spoon. :-)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
redbeetlove
Amazing!!
 July 12, 2015
"This sprouted almond butter is really the ultimate tasting almond better. I've been eating AB for years; regular, raw of every brand, organic, non-organic and now have found the best one. I will never go back to just straight raw.
There is something very different in taste and consistency. It's so
smooth. Easily spreads, not like standard raw and the color is a rich deep brown.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SML1
fromPA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great taste
 June 25, 2015
"This almond butter is wonderful. It has great flavor and it's better for you because it's sprouted almonds."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
eeekj35
fromPennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Tastes great. Not gritty. Nice consistency.
 April 27, 2015
"I love this almond butter. It isn't too bitter. It is smooth. Tasted great on a wrap with bananas and chia seeds."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
exploringtu
fromFairfield
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Bliss in a jar
 April 21, 2015
"Great tasting but oh so addictive. I eat it by the teaspoonful straight from the jar it is so good. Note that this is a very small jar though - about half the size or smaller of a regular jar of peanut butter."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
amorobo
fromNew York
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
This is the best almond butter by far.
 March 18, 2015
"Easiest to digest than all others!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sprouted Almond Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Liliashealth
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Delicious and Nutritious
 March 16, 2015
"I will definitely be purchasing this brand of sprouted almonds again. It tastes great and can be paired with fruits, vegetables; added to smoothies and puddings. Love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next