Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Flours Meals & Grains or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch Flour -- 16 oz

An Employee-Owned Company. Kosher. To Your Good Health®. Arrowroot is a large perennial herb (Maranta arundinacea) found in rainforest habitats. The herb is cultivated for a starch obtained from the rhizomes (rootstock) which is also called arrowroot. It is a thickening agent that may be used as a one-for-one replacement for cornstarch. As a thickener it can be used for soups sauces and puddings. It has no flavor of its own and is the easiest starch to digest. It is also an excellent ingredient for gluten free baking or breading and creates a softer and lighter texture to cakes and breads. Our all natural Arrowroot Starch is not irradiated and contains no added sulfites.
Overall rating:
4.923 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch Flour -- 16 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch Flour -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sylvielou
Okay cornstarch substitute
 June 26, 2014
"I bought this for use in a lot of recipes in Nourishing Traditions and for chocolate pudding. I like it as a sauce thickener but not as much for pudding. It makes it more viscous than creamy. Overall it's good and I will continue to use it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch Flour -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bms29
fromSouth Arkansas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great substitute for corn starch
 June 26, 2014
"And it is better for you.
2 teaspoons Arrowroot Flour = 1 tablespoon Cornstarch (3 teaspoons Cornstarch)
1 tablespoon to 1 cup of liquid, when used as a thickening agent
Also arrowroot flour is relatively neutral in flavor and tasteless. It is a particularly good thickening agent for dishes that have delicate flavors.
Do a search & you'll find out even more about how good Arrowroot is.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch Flour -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sondecicada
fromSouth Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Allergic to nightshades? This is great for baking
 June 25, 2014
"Allergic to nightshades and love to bake? I did not want to use potato starch for baking and switched to arrowroot and it works great for bread, cake, muffins, etc. Highly recommended!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch Flour -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taters
fromWashington State
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Baking, Thickening, DEODORANT!
 June 10, 2014
"I use this arrowroot regularly. It's funny how I never had used it before, and once I started buying it, I didn't see how I ever was without it? It's multipurpose for me.
First, I use it in baking. It can be added to flour mixes to hold them together.
Second, for thickening. This can be used at the END of cooking in place of cornstarch or flour. But unlike cornstarch, you don't want to let it keep cooking. It's better added at the end, otherwise it breaks down while boiling.
Finally, I use this in my homemade deodorant recipe. I use coconut oil, baking soda, arrowroot, beeswax, and essential oils. It works great, and the arrowroot helps to thicken it at room temperature.
Great product!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch Flour -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1GoatherderCA
Gender:Female
The best
 May 26, 2014
"I now can buy this in one stop shop with all my other healthy goodies"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch Flour -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reddrida
fromRoanoke, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Like better than cornstarch
 May 5, 2014
"I use for my home made deodorant. Like it better than cornstarch."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch Flour -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaleoPixie
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Excellent for Baking and Sauces
 April 9, 2014
"I've used arrowroot starch in place of tapioca starch in Paleo baking recipes. It is great for thickening sauces and batters. I will definitely continue ordering this product whenever I need it, especially when Vitacost offers it at such a good price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch Flour -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Izeena
fromTamaqua, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product
 April 2, 2014
"I mix this with other gluten free flours to make a great pizza crust."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch Flour -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dustycounters
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 April 1, 2014
"I use arrowroot starch in place of cornstarch. It is more digestible and more forgiving in the heat of making gravy. I find it less bitter. I use in weekly in gluten-free baking and always have it in my cabinet."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch Flour -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
7macadamias
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
works well
 March 17, 2014
"I am using this in place of corn starch in cooking and so far I cannot tell a difference in how things turn out."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch Flour -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lvmybbabies5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Price!!
 March 5, 2014
"This stuff is hard to find in my area. So I was SO happy to find this at such an awesome value!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch Flour -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shaycee
Great Price
 January 18, 2014
"My grocery store was out and they had no idea when they would get more from their supplier. Found it here and the price was considerably less."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch Flour -- 16 oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product