Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz

Kosher. USDA Organic. A staple of Asian food culture the humble noodle is one of the most nourishing 'fast foods' on earth. Eaten with a simple bowl of soup or with stir fried meat or vegetables noodles provide a cheap quick and healthy food alternatives. These unusual noodles contain sweet potato - a source of dietary fiber antioxidants and buckwheat - a plant which is a good source of protein with a low glycaemic index. Serve with stir fried vegetables and ginger. Add tofu or a little meat as required.  . These organic noodles have been produced according to strict organic standards. Organic farming promotes a healthy planet by encouraging natural methods of agriculture which support our delicate environment.
Overall rating:
4.643 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
41 out of 42(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Review 1 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SammyV
fromGA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Quick, great tasting and gluten free noodle!!
 August 15, 2015
"At last! A true soba noodle - no wheat, so I can eat it. Cooks up quickly (don't overcook it) and tastes great. If I make a one-dish meal of it with meat and/or veggies, I double the suggested serving amount. This works with spaghetti (with my homemade sauce and some meatballs - great!), though with stir fry I don't double the amount as I use a lot of veggies. Can't wait to try some of the other King Soba pasta."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mamadhavi
fromGainesville, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great on all counts!
 July 24, 2015
"Gluten-free, quick and easy, organic (!), great taste and cleanly and cleverly packaged (individual servings separately packaged in each pack). Hope Vitacost will add King Soba's other noodles (100% buckwheat, ginger, pumpkin and buckwheat...)."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
DeannaK
fromNC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Pretty good
 May 25, 2015
"Pretty good for an alternative to regular pasta. The taste was pleasant, I cooked it for 5 mins which actually seemed too long because it was a little clumpy. I did add a touch of olive oil tot he water when boiling as I do with all pasta to help it not stick together, but that did not work at all."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ilovecats
fromScottsdale, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Healthy, Tasty alternative
 May 21, 2015
"less glycemic than pasta, tasty."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Going4simple
fromToledo, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Different but we really like them!
 May 18, 2015
"We tried these after coming off an intense diet. They are definitely not spaghetti tasting noodles but we really enjoy them with sautéed veggies and sometimes parmesan cheese on top Yum!!! Even my 2 & 4yr boys like them!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
StClair
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very nice flavors for a noodle !
 May 7, 2015
"We found these Soba noodles very tasty for a noodle... Knowing there is a lot of nutrition from sweet potatoes & buckwheat that is it! Simply good stuff..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
lovechoc
fromWisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
OK, not great
 May 1, 2015
"Got pretty mushy so be careful not to cook too long."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromMilton-Freewater, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This product has an excellent Taste
 April 30, 2015
"With a product this nice, I don't know why they add Wheat gluten?!!
It doesn't need it!
"
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sofy
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Will buy again
 March 27, 2015
"Very delicious."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TwoAs
fromKentucky
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
So delicious
 March 25, 2015
"These are easy to cook (3-4 minutes), delicious, and healthy. A staple in my candida-free diet."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dlr225
Excellent product
 March 5, 2015
"I love these noodles. Taste is great and very healthy alternative. Even eating them alone is a pleasurable taste. I will continue to order them."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
AmyVirginia
not real soba
 March 3, 2015
"It did not taste like real soba. I am not buying this again."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadyLiberTEA
fromUSA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Finally a Nourishing, Tasty, Hearty Noodle! :D
 February 15, 2015
"At last a Nourishing, Tasty, Hearty Pasta not stripped carbs like a bowl of sugar! Surprisingly Sweet Potato mellows the otherwise strong Buckwheat flavor as they provide fiber & nutrients too.
1) I use a Timer since directions & reviewers correctly warn don't overcook lest the sweet potato unsurprisingly become mushy.
2) I set aside some Brita Pitcher-filtered & boiling-sanitized water for the noodles' after rinse,
3) & then remineralize the big boiling pot of filtered water w/ LiquiMins & some Sea Salt,
4) followed by a bit of Olive Oil to keep the pot from boiling over & to help the noodles stay separate,
5) made easier to cook & eat than long spaghetti noodles by first snapping them into quarters down in a deep mixing bowl or bag to prevent spraying the room w/ noodles.
For Thai flavor, gently warm Vitacost's Jem's Raw Organic Cardamon Coconut Sprouted Almond Butter. These noodles are great for Spaghetti too (EZ Spaghetti: saute' Yellow Onion quarters, (optional chopped Garlic), 1/2-small can Sliced Mushroom Caps in Bragg's Cold-Pressed Unfiltered Virgin Olive Oil; brown organic Ground Beef (+ optional Garlic Granules & Sea Salt); combine w/ Muir's Organic Roasted Garlic -or- Cabernet Pasta Sauce (+ optional diluted drop or 2 of Young Living's Oregano &/or Basil essential oils.)
If you prefer Spiral Pasta, Vitacost sells Orgran Buckwheat Spirals stronger flavored lacking Sweet Potato but more durable for Crockpot Turkey Soup to which I add Oat Bran for health too. Mange bene! ;)-"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chauncey54
fromNorth Carolina
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Enjoyed the noodles!
 February 9, 2015
"Having never purchased soba noodles before, I didn't realize they were portioned in servings held together with paper ties. Consequently, when the water boiled I simply dumped the pakage into the water!!! My husband helped me fish them out and we rinsed them under cold water in order to separate the noodles. Then re-placed them back into boiling water. They were a wonderful tasting part of our noodle bowl. We will purchase them again!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
59Chris
fromEdmonton, Alberta
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best Gluten Free Pasta!
 February 9, 2015
"Because of the high arsenic content of rice products, I don't buy/eat anything that contains rice. This pasta was a great find!
To find out more about arsenic in rice, check out consumers report, they have an extensive report on rice products.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
foodiemom123
fromsan diego, ca
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
excellent product
 January 17, 2015
"love this healthy gluten free alternative to pasta. great price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
daisymazie
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Delicious!
 November 19, 2014
"These are great noodles. Cook up really fast. Love that they're also gluten free and organic. Can't wait for them to be back in stock!!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chronos
fromLas Vegas
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Versatile and Delicious Gluten Free Noodles
 October 24, 2014
"These are some of my favorite noodles, gluten free or otherwise.
They are easy to cook perfectly and don't require exact timing. If you go a minute over or under they will still be great.
I think the 5% sweet potato really helps with the texture. These are not gritty or grainy like a lot of other buckwheat noodles, just perfectly toothsome.
These noodles taste amazing in any kind of Asian dishes, but unlike most rice noodles these can also be good in other cuisines."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mermaid1111
fromAustin, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Delicious and a great price
 October 4, 2014
"These are delicious, easy to prepare and very low cost compared to other buckwheat noodles. The sweet potato is subtle, but adds nice texture and flavor. I highly recommend these and will be ordering them again."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SDM22
Good quality, Flavorable, Good Price
 September 24, 2014
"The Soba brand is a great quality brand, though sometimes a bit over priced. This item is pretty consistent with its price and the potato and Soba together make a good flavor noodle that is not mushy and is better for you than standard pasta. Great for Lo Mien especially"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next