Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz

Kosher. USDA Organic. A staple of Asian food culture the humble noodle is one of the most nourishing 'fast foods' on earth. Eaten with a simple bowl of soup or with stir fried meat or vegetables noodles provide a cheap quick and healthy food alternatives. These unusual noodles contain sweet potato - a source of dietary fiber antioxidants and buckwheat - a plant which is a good source of protein with a low glycaemic index. Serve with stir fried vegetables and ginger. Add tofu or a little meat as required.  . These organic noodles have been produced according to strict organic standards. Organic farming promotes a healthy planet by encouraging natural methods of agriculture which support our delicate environment.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
32 out of 33(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Review 1 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sofy
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Will buy again
 March 27, 2015
"Very delicious."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TwoAs
fromKentucky
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
So delicious
 March 25, 2015
"These are easy to cook (3-4 minutes), delicious, and healthy. A staple in my candida-free diet."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dlr225
Excellent product
 March 5, 2015
"I love these noodles. Taste is great and very healthy alternative. Even eating them alone is a pleasurable taste. I will continue to order them."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
AmyVirginia
not real soba
 March 3, 2015
"It did not taste like real soba. I am not buying this again."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadyLiberTEA
fromUSA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Finally a Nourishing, Tasty, Hearty Noodle! :D
 February 15, 2015
"At last a Nourishing, Tasty, Hearty Pasta not stripped carbs like a bowl of sugar! Surprisingly Sweet Potato mellows the otherwise strong Buckwheat flavor as they provide fiber & nutrients too.
1) I use a Timer since directions & reviewers correctly warn don't overcook lest the sweet potato unsurprisingly become mushy.
2) I set aside some Brita Pitcher-filtered & boiling-sanitized water for the noodles' after rinse,
3) & then remineralize the big boiling pot of filtered water w/ LiquiMins & some Sea Salt,
4) followed by a bit of Olive Oil to keep the pot from boiling over & to help the noodles stay separate,
5) made easier to cook & eat than long spaghetti noodles by first snapping them into quarters down in a deep mixing bowl or bag to prevent spraying the room w/ noodles.
For Thai flavor, gently warm Vitacost's Jem's Raw Organic Cardamon Coconut Sprouted Almond Butter. These noodles are great for Spaghetti too (EZ Spaghetti: saute' Yellow Onion quarters, (optional chopped Garlic), 1/2-small can Sliced Mushroom Caps in Bragg's Cold-Pressed Unfiltered Virgin Olive Oil; brown organic Ground Beef (+ optional Garlic Granules & Sea Salt); combine w/ Muir's Organic Roasted Garlic -or- Cabernet Pasta Sauce (+ optional diluted drop or 2 of Young Living's Oregano &/or Basil essential oils.)
If you prefer Spiral Pasta, Vitacost sells Orgran Buckwheat Spirals stronger flavored lacking Sweet Potato but more durable for Crockpot Turkey Soup to which I add Oat Bran for health too. Mange bene! ;)-"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chauncey54
fromNorth Carolina
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Enjoyed the noodles!
 February 9, 2015
"Having never purchased soba noodles before, I didn't realize they were portioned in servings held together with paper ties. Consequently, when the water boiled I simply dumped the pakage into the water!!! My husband helped me fish them out and we rinsed them under cold water in order to separate the noodles. Then re-placed them back into boiling water. They were a wonderful tasting part of our noodle bowl. We will purchase them again!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
59Chris
fromEdmonton, Alberta
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best Gluten Free Pasta!
 February 9, 2015
"Because of the high arsenic content of rice products, I don't buy/eat anything that contains rice. This pasta was a great find!
To find out more about arsenic in rice, check out consumers report, they have an extensive report on rice products.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
foodiemom123
fromsan diego, ca
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
excellent product
 January 17, 2015
"love this healthy gluten free alternative to pasta. great price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
daisymazie
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Delicious!
 November 19, 2014
"These are great noodles. Cook up really fast. Love that they're also gluten free and organic. Can't wait for them to be back in stock!!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chronos
fromLas Vegas
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Versatile and Delicious Gluten Free Noodles
 October 24, 2014
"These are some of my favorite noodles, gluten free or otherwise.
They are easy to cook perfectly and don't require exact timing. If you go a minute over or under they will still be great.
I think the 5% sweet potato really helps with the texture. These are not gritty or grainy like a lot of other buckwheat noodles, just perfectly toothsome.
These noodles taste amazing in any kind of Asian dishes, but unlike most rice noodles these can also be good in other cuisines."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mermaid1111
fromAustin, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Delicious and a great price
 October 4, 2014
"These are delicious, easy to prepare and very low cost compared to other buckwheat noodles. The sweet potato is subtle, but adds nice texture and flavor. I highly recommend these and will be ordering them again."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SDM22
Good quality, Flavorable, Good Price
 September 24, 2014
"The Soba brand is a great quality brand, though sometimes a bit over priced. This item is pretty consistent with its price and the potato and Soba together make a good flavor noodle that is not mushy and is better for you than standard pasta. Great for Lo Mien especially"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pat01
fromCT
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Pasta
 September 19, 2014
"This cooks up great and doesn't get all mushy like rice pasta can.
I developed a rice sensitivity after going off wheat and was so happy to find this delicious product. I wish they made other style noodles.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mountainlove7
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
tasty
 September 9, 2014
"These are very tasty noodles and are a great alternative to semolina pasta. These have additional nutrients that plain old white pasta does not, and taste great, too."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovegffood
fromNr. Cleveland, Ohio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Wonderful, delicious noodles
 September 8, 2014
"Different in flavour and texture but simply delicious"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthnutwv
fromWest VIrginia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Best GF Pasta Ever
 September 8, 2014
"This product is fantastic. I have been using brown rice pasta, which I liked very much, but have been concerned about arsenic levels. I do not like the bean or quinoa pastas at all. This pasta is a great consistency, and there is no "off" flavor. Good price, too. I only hope they will make it in some new shapes such as elbows and penne. The directions say to rinse in cold water when done, but I found that warm water is fine if you do not want to chill the pasta too much for a hot dish. Do not overcook. Try this - you will love it, and you won't have to worry about gluten OR arsenic."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
herbalist55
fromchattanooga, tn
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
taste great
 September 5, 2014
"These taste very good. Don't be fooled by the gray color that doesn't look so appetizing. My husband always thinks he won't like it, then says "this is good!" after he takes a bite. A bit expensive for a large family though."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rheagan
fromCalgary, AB
Fantastic Pasta Option
 September 4, 2014
"This pasta far exceeded my expectations! It's the closest thing to wheat pasta I have come across. Being sensitive to gluten, rice, corn, and some beans severely limits my pasta options. This sounded too good not to at least try, and I'm so glad I did. The taste and texture is great. Definitely my new favourite. Like some other reviewers have mentioned, they do cook fast, so you need to keep an eye on it to make sure you don't over-cook and have it turn to mush."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LfromBrooklyn
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Delish GF Noodles!!
 August 25, 2014
"Cook fast and taste great! I love, love, love these yummy noddles!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MamaJones
fromVancouver, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent Noodle/Excellent Price
 August 8, 2014
"I was hesitant to try these noodles because of the price. Most decent gluten free pastas are so dang expensive, but I'm glad I did. These are excellent. Quick cook, just the right texture and taste. My new "go to" pasta!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next