Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz

Kosher. USDA Organic. A staple of Asian food culture the humble noodle is one of the most nourishing 'fast foods' on earth. Eaten with a simple bowl of soup or with stir fried meat or vegetables noodles provide a cheap quick and healthy food alternatives. These unusual noodles contain sweet potato - a source of dietary fiber antioxidants and buckwheat - a plant which is a good source of protein with a low glycaemic index. Serve with stir fried vegetables and ginger. Add tofu or a little meat as required.  . These organic noodles have been produced according to strict organic standards. Organic farming promotes a healthy planet by encouraging natural methods of agriculture which support our delicate environment.
Overall rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 22(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Review 1 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadyLiberTEA
fromUSA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Tips For Buck'wheat'/SweetPotato Protein Pasta
 October 14, 2014
"1) As reviewers write, this is "best w/ meat & veggies but can also be drowned in pasta sauces,
2) just don't overcook this healthy, protein, gluten-free pasta or it becomes mushy."
3) Mother taught us add a little olive oil to pasta water to prevent overflow & to lubricate pasta to help prevent sticking;
4) To avoid tapwater & unboiled Brita pitcher H20, I don't rinse afterward,
5) instead I chop 'em w/ a fork & serrated bread/ steak knife down to spoon size, after draining in a collander over a bowl,
6) & (oiling if no sauce) serve as Asian bowl w/ pan-browned gingered meat & steamed veggies inc ceyote (green pear-like squash), Young Living's Lemongrass & Ginger essential oils, & Trader Joe's "Thai Simmer Sauce" (matching colors helps pasta look less odd that grey too). Yum :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mermaid1111
fromAustin, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Delicious and a great price
 October 4, 2014
"These are delicious, easy to prepare and very low cost compared to other buckwheat noodles. The sweet potato is subtle, but adds nice texture and flavor. I highly recommend these and will be ordering them again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SDM22
Good quality, Flavorable, Good Price
 September 24, 2014
"The Soba brand is a great quality brand, though sometimes a bit over priced. This item is pretty consistent with its price and the potato and Soba together make a good flavor noodle that is not mushy and is better for you than standard pasta. Great for Lo Mien especially"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mountainlove7
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
tasty
 September 9, 2014
"These are very tasty noodles and are a great alternative to semolina pasta. These have additional nutrients that plain old white pasta does not, and taste great, too."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovegffood
fromNr. Cleveland, Ohio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Wonderful, delicious noodles
 September 8, 2014
"Different in flavour and texture but simply delicious"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthnutwv
fromWest VIrginia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Best GF Pasta Ever
 September 8, 2014
"This product is fantastic. I have been using brown rice pasta, which I liked very much, but have been concerned about arsenic levels. I do not like the bean or quinoa pastas at all. This pasta is a great consistency, and there is no "off" flavor. Good price, too. I only hope they will make it in some new shapes such as elbows and penne. The directions say to rinse in cold water when done, but I found that warm water is fine if you do not want to chill the pasta too much for a hot dish. Do not overcook. Try this - you will love it, and you won't have to worry about gluten OR arsenic."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
herbalist55
fromchattanooga, tn
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
taste great
 September 5, 2014
"These taste very good. Don't be fooled by the gray color that doesn't look so appetizing. My husband always thinks he won't like it, then says "this is good!" after he takes a bite. A bit expensive for a large family though."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rheagan
fromCalgary, AB
Fantastic Pasta Option
 September 4, 2014
"This pasta far exceeded my expectations! It's the closest thing to wheat pasta I have come across. Being sensitive to gluten, rice, corn, and some beans severely limits my pasta options. This sounded too good not to at least try, and I'm so glad I did. The taste and texture is great. Definitely my new favourite. Like some other reviewers have mentioned, they do cook fast, so you need to keep an eye on it to make sure you don't over-cook and have it turn to mush."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LfromBrooklyn
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Delish GF Noodles!!
 August 25, 2014
"Cook fast and taste great! I love, love, love these yummy noddles!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MamaJones
fromVancouver, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent Noodle/Excellent Price
 August 8, 2014
"I was hesitant to try these noodles because of the price. Most decent gluten free pastas are so dang expensive, but I'm glad I did. These are excellent. Quick cook, just the right texture and taste. My new "go to" pasta!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
1GoatherderCA
fromBrentwood CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good tasting
 July 27, 2014
"This pasta had a wonderful taste. I cooked quickly and was to soft a noodle. I bought two packages so I will try again to see if I can cook without it being mushy."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nsboren
fromAtlanta, Ga
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
one of my favorites!
 June 26, 2014
"This is my second time buying this noodle. I love it for vegetarian recipes. It has a wonderful texture and flavor."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Readhead
fromBeeville, TX
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
tast great
 June 4, 2014
"These are great, cook faster, taste better, excellent product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bodyecodiet
Great noodles!
 June 1, 2014
"delicious noodles, high in protein, no gluten, rice or corn... can't beat them, very good with stir fries"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
rocoyanna
fromhouston, tx
room for improvement
 May 18, 2014
"the noodles tangle and stick together after cooking. one ends up with a solid mass of noodles that do not separate.
perhaps that can be avoided by making them thicker??!!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lgd1
fromSouth
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Delicious
 April 8, 2014
"Delicious - awesome - all I can say....."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ewgme
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great pasta
 March 28, 2014
"good alternative to wheat, corn, or rice pasta"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NoodleCrazy
fromIthaca, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Delicious!
 February 22, 2014
"Love these soba noodles. Great substitute for regular pasta and gluten free."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ngCharleston
fromCharleston, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
best noodles around
 January 11, 2014
"these are extremely good, so good you don't want to soak them in sauce, something delicate... though I do anyway sometimes :). I can't have wheat, gluten and now rice and corn are off limits, king soba has a lot of good noodles I can eat"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for King Soba Organic Sweet Potato and Buckwheat Noodles -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PianoPlayerII
fromUpstate New York
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
My 4-year old granddaughter and I give 4 thumbs up
 January 2, 2014
"We added a little coconut oil and soy sauce for a yummy treat."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next