Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Olive Oil or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)

Gourmet flavor comes together with organic quality in this exceptional extra virgin olive oil. USDA certified organic & non-GMO. Extra virgin first cold pressed. Light & smooth with rich full-bodied flavor. Vegan & gluten free. Gourmet quality. Move over margarine and butter. The magic of the Mediterranean takes center stage with this silky smooth and nutrient-rich oil extracted from certified organic and non-GMO fruit of the Olea europea tree. Harvested at the point of maturity perfectly ripe plump olives are cold pressed with the liquid collected after a single (“first”) cold press to retain maximum richness and nutrition.  . Enjoy gourmet goodness enticing aroma and fresh flavor of this light natural plant oil:. Drizzled on salads vegetables or pasta. As a dipping sauce for bread or crackers. In stir fry or sautéed dishes. As an ingredient in dressings or dips. In baked goods recipes. In DIY body care recipes. Why is Vitacost® Whole Food Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil better than other brands? All-natural with no additives or preservatives. Certified organic & non-GMO. Delightfully fresh flavor – light and smooth texture. Gourmet quality – great value! About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (cGMP).  
Overall rating:
4.19 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
19 out of 21(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)
Review 1 for Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
tibbstoo
fromRuidoso, NM
Stays liquid when refrigerated
 August 1, 2015
"Appears to be pure olive oil as it says liquid when cold and some do not. Good taste and price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bigdaddysunday
fromil
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
best
 July 30, 2015
"I wish this olive oil had a nicer label to match it's fantastic flavor. One of the best!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
natalie3
fromMD
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
good for health
 July 3, 2015
"Olive oil is good for health. I use it for making salad dressing."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mollyt
fromDenver, CO
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great Taste
 June 30, 2015
"Tastes great, the price is great, just wish they had a larger size."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LindsayM
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 June 16, 2015
"We cook with this, and it works well. The flavor works well for cooking, but I personally would find it a bit strong for, say, salad dressings. A fantastic price for a quality product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mandy4Christ
fromVI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Best Tasting Olive Oil, Can't Beat the Price!
 May 28, 2015
"I love love love this olive oil! I use it in citrus salads, it has a cool creamy flavor to it when mixed with an acid like oranges it livens up any dish! I use it mostly for cooking or mixing with the Vitacost Marinara sauce over noodles! Love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
NYCG
fromNYC
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Extra virgin - good!
 May 26, 2015
"The oil is fine. It might not be the the-best-in-the-world olive oil when it comes to taste-texture-color, but as long as the Non-GMO and Organic signs are real and mean something, the oil is great.
Trust me, I know something about olive oil.
The oil has a very nice aroma, and a great burning taste. For those commenters who complain that "it burned", you should know that if the olive oil is extra virgin and does not burn means there is something wrong with it.
The one I purchased came out to $13 / liter, which is a very good price. Cheaper than anything I have seen at Wholefoods, which were organic but not necessarily non-GMO.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Steve279
Bitter with strange flavor
 April 27, 2015
"I've tried a lot of olive oils, and this is one of the worst. It's bitter with a strange flavor."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
colormepink
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Staple in cooking
 April 8, 2015
"I've lost track at how many times I've bought this product from vitacost. It's such a great bottle of olive oil and very versatile. I use it in cooking, salads, sauces, etc. Despite the small bottle, I think it's just enough for your odd jobs in the kitchen. Besides, I don't use olive oil for pan frying since it doesn't have a high smoke point, but for an every day use in food, this is a great staple to have."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dauhl
fromSouthern California
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
very flavorful
 March 31, 2015
"Love this EVOO - very flavorful and I use it every day.."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Svinsd
fromSan Diego, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Well-priced EVOO, with good flavor/consistency
 March 30, 2015
"This EVOO has subtle flavor and wonderful consistency, and it's priced reasonably, making it a great everyday cooking oil."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SweetEats
fromInland Empire, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Nice stuff!
 February 19, 2015
"I read a few reviews that spoke of this oil in a not so nice light, but most were good, so I took a chance. For me, this oil smells good, tastes good, both raw (in dressings & the like) & in baked goods, & I'm glad I jumped at the sale."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bubblegirl
fromOverseas right now
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Our new go-to oil
 January 27, 2015
"The taste is not too strong, so it compliments any dish. It is organic, non-GMO, GF - everything we need for less than our discount store -"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
redpomegranates
Bitter
 January 3, 2015
"Cannot enjoy it as a dipping oil because of its bitterness. Will not order again."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
sunflowergran
fromPhoenix, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Nothing special about this
 December 22, 2014
"This is mediocre at best. Don't think I'd order it again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadyMariesHair
fromNY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Delicious and Healthy
 November 4, 2014
"I love to pur a little of this olive oil on my rice and also salads and potatoes, it's delicious and healthy. It's also a Great beauty product to use on hair and skin!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
DLCook
fromSalt Lake City, UT
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Super Bitter Tasting
 November 3, 2014
"I was so disappointed in this oil! I'm a big fan of Vitacost products, I think they are usually made of very high quality ingredients, so I was very surprised at how bitter this oil was. I don't know if I received a bad batch or if the oil had gone rancid, but I tried to use it in my homemade mayonnaise and it was so bitter and left such a terrible aftertaste that I had to throw out the whole batch I made. I hope I can send it back because I purchased two bottles!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
yeaornay
fromShreveport, LA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good
 September 29, 2014
"The price is good and I couldn't find a local grocery store that sold organic lately so I really was pleased to find a fair priced OO from Vitacost.."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
zmous
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Good oil
 May 21, 2014
"It has a fresh taste, real zing of pungency and pleasant bitterness."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Certified Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil -- 16.9 fl oz (500 mL)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Maricel
fromSan Diego, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
High quality virgin Olive oil.
 May 9, 2014
"This is a very high quality product at a very affordable price. It is organic too!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next