Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Whole Food Certified Organic Red Quinoa - Non-GMO -- 12 oz (340 g)

Wholesome quality red quinoa – certified organic and non-GMO. Slightly sweeter taste than white quinoa. Whole food non-GMO red quinoa. No additives or preservatives. Certified organic. Naturally gluten free. 6 grams of protein + 3 grams fiber per quarter-cup serving. Quinoa (pronounced KEEN-wah) is a grain-like seed that becomes light and fluffy with a chewy texture when cooked. From a spinach-like plant (Chenopodium quinoa) native to South America these tiny seeds—as well as the plant’s leaves—have been used as a food source since ancient times. Quinoa is known for its remarkable nutritional value including its fiber and protein content.  . How to cook. Simply combine 1 cup of seeds with 2 cups of water and boil then reduce heat to a simmer cover and cook until water is absorbed. Fluff with a fork and enjoy as a side dish or use in your favorite recipes.  . Meal ideas. Enjoy as a side dish or in recipes (such as stuffed peppers). Add to soup chili or stuffing. Combine with chopped veggies for a salad. Use in place of couscous for tabouleh. Make a breakfast porridge with quinoa fruit nuts cinnamon and almond milk. Use in baked goods recipes. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (cGMP).  
Overall rating:
4.636 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 11(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Whole Food Certified Organic Red Quinoa - Non-GMO -- 12 oz (340 g)
Review 1 for Vitacost Whole Food Certified Organic Red Quinoa - Non-GMO -- 12 oz (340 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BettyL
fromPittsburgh
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great taste!
 May 26, 2014
"Wonderful taste but wish there were directions included!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Whole Food Certified Organic Red Quinoa - Non-GMO -- 12 oz (340 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jer5
fromDetroit Lakes, MN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
red quinoa is great!
 May 19, 2014
"I have been using regular quinoa so wanted to try the red quinoa - different but really good in my quinoa veggie salad!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Whole Food Certified Organic Red Quinoa - Non-GMO -- 12 oz (340 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cocoglo
fromTEXAS
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Non GMO
 April 24, 2014
"Great flavor, great color. I love this quinoa. I make it and use it like rice. it has a naturally nutty flavor and is a low glycemic index food. This one is also organic and non GMO which is a plus when trying to eat healthy."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Whole Food Certified Organic Red Quinoa - Non-GMO -- 12 oz (340 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chefa
fromPittsburgh,Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love the color!
 April 8, 2014
"Nutty and yummy and the color adds a contrast to any dish. I mix it with rice and other grains"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Whole Food Certified Organic Red Quinoa - Non-GMO -- 12 oz (340 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cricketais
fromAZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Sprouting
 April 5, 2014
"If you like to cook quinoa then this is a great product. However, they did not sprout for me"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Whole Food Certified Organic Red Quinoa - Non-GMO -- 12 oz (340 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ltait
fromLake Stevens, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
yummy addition to my pantry
 March 26, 2014
"I've been using regular quinoa for almost a year but I wanted to give this red variety a try and I LOVE them, as does the rest of the family. Good taste!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Whole Food Certified Organic Red Quinoa - Non-GMO -- 12 oz (340 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
gatto
fromQueens NY
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Quinoa is so good
 March 22, 2014
"Have learned recently how to cook and use quinoa. Rinsing is really vital before you cook it. It cooks easily in about 20 minutes and can be served as a side or put into a soup."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Whole Food Certified Organic Red Quinoa - Non-GMO -- 12 oz (340 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
anotherplante
fromTallahassee, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Red Quinoa
 March 3, 2014
"I made mine with Organic Better Than Bouillon-Chicken, and it was delicious. Great flavor, texture and bite."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Whole Food Certified Organic Red Quinoa - Non-GMO -- 12 oz (340 g)
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
ladyheart5610
fromNew Orleans. LA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
New for me
 January 16, 2014
"First time eating and cooking red Quinoa. I've had the beige/white kind. These seem to stay firmer to me when cooked. Which I really liked. Has a little stronger taste which I was not expecting, not my favorite but will eat again....maybe use broth instead of just plain water."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Whole Food Certified Organic Red Quinoa - Non-GMO -- 12 oz (340 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthywhey
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
grind for gluten free breads or boil for salads
 January 1, 2014
"You can buy pre-ground quinoa, or save money and get this kind and grind it yourself for healthy non-gluten bread. I use other kinds of gluten-free flour, too. Friends boil this and use it in salads, (hot ones, or cool the boiled quinoa and then add to a cold salad)."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost Whole Food Certified Organic Red Quinoa - Non-GMO -- 12 oz (340 g)
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product