Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Farmer's Market Organic Pumpkin Puree -- 15 oz Carton

Naturally Delicious. Farm Fresh Taste. For the Perfect Pumpkin Pie with No Additives. Gourmet Flavor. A Real Family Farm in Oregon's lush Willamette Valley uses environmentally friend farming methods for growing the highest quality pumpkins. During each growing season we make the soil healthier and the ground water cleaner for future generations.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
11 out of 12(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Farmer's Market Organic Pumpkin Puree -- 15 oz Carton
Review 1 for Farmer's Market Organic Pumpkin Puree -- 15 oz Carton
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lindseybb
fromMA
Gender:Female
 December 1, 2015
"We love this pumpkin puree. I use it in making my daughter's baby food all the time and she can't get enough. So nice that it's in a carton too."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Farmer's Market Organic Pumpkin Puree -- 15 oz Carton
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Evonne
fromMaryland
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
good product
 September 14, 2015
"This pumpkin puree has a great taste and texture. Plus it doesn't have a tin can taste."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Farmer's Market Organic Pumpkin Puree -- 15 oz Carton
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
loveskitties
fromNorth Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Organic pumpkin is super!
 September 3, 2015
"Organic eating is surely way better for you. This makes great pumpkin pie or use for soups. This container is made of paper/cardboard. Way better than a metal can which leaches into your food. A+ here! Just great."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Farmer's Market Organic Pumpkin Puree -- 15 oz Carton
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Farmgal
fromFlorence, AZ
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Boxed pumpkin is non-toxic
 August 14, 2015
"Finally a pumpkin in a safe container. The taste is so much better."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Farmer's Market Organic Pumpkin Puree -- 15 oz Carton
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LfromBrooklyn
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love That It Is Not In a Can!
 June 3, 2015
"I love to have organic pumpkin on hand for baking or adding to oatmeal, but I'm wary about the safety of using aluminum cans, so I'm delighted to find that Vitacost carries this great brand that is packaged in a cardboard box. I love the taste, convenience, long-lasting quality (before opening), and the can-free package. I often "stock up" on this product."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Farmer's Market Organic Pumpkin Puree -- 15 oz Carton
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Janie245
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good organic pumpkin puree
 March 15, 2015
"I use pumpkin puree for my dog and this one is great. It's organic and in a box and not a can, which I like. It seems to last quite a while in the fridge. My dog loves it."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Farmer's Market Organic Pumpkin Puree -- 15 oz Carton
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Invigor8
fromCary, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Tastes great!
 January 18, 2015
"This product tastes great and is very easy to use for baking. Much easier than actually baking a pumpkin & scooping out the seeds, then smashing the rest. Also, it is completely unseasoned (which I prefer); so you can add all your chosen spices in your amounts."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Farmer's Market Organic Pumpkin Puree -- 15 oz Carton
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
EvanVI
fromUS Virgin Islands
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Good pumpkin, great container!
 December 7, 2014
"This pumpkin is easy to use in any recipe, and the box is easier to save than a can. It's organic and unsweetened, so you'll need to season it for the best flavor. I like cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, and walnuts."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Farmer's Market Organic Pumpkin Puree -- 15 oz Carton
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nibor428
excellent pumpkin flavor and texture
 August 26, 2014
"I was on here to buy some of my favorite brand of pumpkin when I noticed Peter Piper's scathing review. I wanted to address it to help with any confusion it may cause. If you are accustomed to using Libby's for pumpkin pie, this will be different in texture and color. Libby's uses a specific kind of pumpkin, the Dickinson pumpkin, which is grown primarily as a "pie" pumpkin. Many other canned pumpkin companies actually use squash. The Libby's pumpkins are richer in hue. However, not being a fan of pumpkin pie, I have never used my canned pumpkin for that purpose- but I do use Farmer's Market Organic pumpkin puree on a very regular basis to make pumpkin butter, which we eat year round, and pumpkin bread. I have also made delicious pumpkin cake with it. To me, it has the most natural, true-to-life pumpkin flavor (and the packaging is BPA free, which is important to me since it is a product we use regularly). If you are a pumpkin pie enthusiast, this may not be the one for you (also, note that this is the plain PUREE, not the PUMPKIN PIE FILLING), but we love it and use it all the time."
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Farmer's Market Organic Pumpkin Puree -- 15 oz Carton
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
PeterPiper
fromSilicon Valley, CA
Absolutely horrid, disgusting product
 June 25, 2014
"I cannot believe this "product" (I wouldn't call it a food) got a remotely positive review, let alone two of them.
This is by far the worst canned pumpkin I have ever experienced. I make a lot of pumpkin pies (throughout the year, not just around holidays) and have tried several name and store brands. None are as good as Libby's but all are much better than this.
When you open a can of this stuff you are confronted with a sticky gelatinous mess. It's noticeably pale and off-color compared to Libby's (and most other brands). All that wouldn't matter if it tasted good. However the flavor in a pie was bad too. Just about any homemade pumpkin pie is a lot better than most store ones, but this one I couldn't eat. The garbage disposal ate most of it.
The second and last time I tried this I opened the can and was so revolted I threw it out and opened a can of Libby's. (There was a second time, after enough years had passed that I'd forgotten the exact brand, and didn't realize it until I opened the can and saw the slop and then remembered this was the baby poo pumpkin. I shall never forget again!)
And finally a mildly funny anecdote. I was chatting with a co-worker who bakes a lot (and brings the goods into work -- she's good) and my pumpkin pie fetish came up. She spontaneously warned me to stay away from this brand! I was not surprised; any decent person who had ever tried it would do the same.
It's truly sad that this product is so bad, as there are not many (if any) other organic canned pumpkins to choose from."
-26points
4of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Farmer's Market Organic Pumpkin Puree -- 15 oz Carton
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
azdr1
fromPrescott, AZ
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
As good as fresh
 December 13, 2013
"Love that this pumpkin puree is organic. It's perfect to work into all my baked recipes; and I've also stirred into a bowlful of roasted vegetables with a bit of pumpkin pie spice for a "holiday" taste. It beats cutting and cooking the whole pumpkin; the hard part is done and put in a box."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Farmer's Market Organic Pumpkin Puree -- 15 oz Carton
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lwestbrock
fromAthens, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love me some pumpkin!
 November 7, 2013
"This puree is great for almost anything you want to add some pumpkin flavor. It's not rich like the pie filling...
This time of year, I can't get enough pumpkin and this product makes it so easy!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.