Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(566)
Algae(894)
Amino Acids(2,142)
Bee Pollen(330)
Caffeine(39)
Celadrin(82)
Charcoal(103)
Chitosan(43)
Chlorella(194)
Choline(144)
CoQ10(2,652)
Coconut Oil(4,121)
Collagen(354)
Colostrum(185)
D-Mannose(53)
DHEA(440)
DMAE(67)
EFAs(3,749)
EpiCor(38)
FOS(2)
Fish Oil(1,665)
GABA(196)
GLA(9)
Gelatin(19)
Glycine(14)
HGH(46)
Iodine(57)
Krill Oil(765)
Lecithin(284)
Letter Vitamins(12,718)
Lithium(6)
Lutein(404)
Lycopene(107)
MSM(446)
Melatonin(1,225)
Minerals(9,089)
Multivitamins(13,050)
NADH(53)
Omega-3(5,287)
DHA(285)
EPA(75)
EPA & DHA(2,850)
Pectin(22)
Probiotics(6,345)
Propolis(85)
Pycnogenol(152)
Quercetin(136)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(12)
Relora(2)
SAMe(621)
Silica(21)
Soy(80)
Spirulina(112)
Yeast(65)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop EPA & DHA or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Vegan EPA - DHA Featuring Life'sOMEGA(tm) -- 600 mg - 60 Vegan Softgels

Vegan omega-3 supplement with 100% plant-based DHA and EPA. Fish oil free! Omega-3 supplement for vegans & vegetarians. With DHA & EPA from plant sources. No fish oil or animal ingredients (vegan softgels). Featuring life’sOMEGA™ algal oil. Superior source of omega-3s compared to flaxseed and other plant sources. Vitacost Vegan EPA-DHA is a plant-based omega-3 supplement suitable for vegans and vegetarians. This unique animal product-free formula features two well-known essential fatty acids—DHA and EPA—from life’sOMEGA™ a high-quality marine algal oil delivering the same omega-3 nutrition found in fish oil and krill oil without animal-derived ingredients.  . Unlike other plant-based omega-3 options such as flaxseed (which contains ALA an essential fatty acid that’s converted to DHA and EPA by the body) this supplement is a superior alternative supplying DHA and EPA directly in ready-to-use form. .  . It also provides a more sustainable source of omega-3 nutrition than oils obtained from wild-caught fish or krill.  . What are DHA and EPA?  . DHA (docosahexaenoic acid) and EPA (eicosapentaenoic acid) are omega-3 fatty acids required for normal function of many body processes; yet they can’t be created by the body and must be obtained through diet. While eating fish is considered an ideal way to obtain DHA and EPA they can also be found in plant sources such as marine algae or obtained through the conversion of ALA (found in flaxseed walnuts soybeans and some plant oils). .  . How do DHA and EPA support health? EPA and DHA are well known for their cardioprotective properties their ability to maintain healthy cognitive function their potential to support healthy moods and their positive impact on joint comfort and flexibility*. Higher blood levels of omega-3 essential fatty acids including EPA and DHA are associated with a healthier mood*. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (cGMP).  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
16 out of 18(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Vegan EPA - DHA Featuring Life'sOMEGA(tm) -- 600 mg - 60 Vegan Softgels
Review 1 for Vitacost Vegan EPA - DHA Featuring Life'sOMEGA(tm) -- 600 mg - 60 Vegan Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to swallow
 April 30, 2016
" this product has the required omega 3 ingredients "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Vegan EPA - DHA Featuring Life'sOMEGA(tm) -- 600 mg - 60 Vegan Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromMA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
600 mg false: each softgel 300 mg x 60 in bottle
 April 15, 2016
" This is probably a good product (there's no way to know whether you're getting enough omega 3, especially as a vegan), but the package/description is misleading. It says 600 mg and 60 softgels, but if you read the nutrition labeling, a serving is 2 softgels, EACH containing only 300 mg of omega 3. Be careful if you're doing the math. These are only slightly less expensive than the competitor when comparing mg of omega 3. "
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Vegan EPA - DHA Featuring Life'sOMEGA(tm) -- 600 mg - 60 Vegan Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Little after taste, good product
 January 18, 2016
" I wanted a veggie Omega-3, higher in DHA content. This product fulfills that, and more. The after taste is minimal. The gel caps (also vegetarian) do not stick together. I thought these were a pretty good deal when I bought them the first time. My last purchase, around Christmas, while they were on sale, made them a super buy. I will continue to purchase these, and highly recommend you give them a try. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Vegan EPA - DHA Featuring Life'sOMEGA(tm) -- 600 mg - 60 Vegan Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPort Townsend, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
So far so good!
 November 24, 2015
" So far I really like these. I have only been taking them for a few weeks, but I really like how easy to swallow they are and they actually taste good and I love that they don't have fish in them! "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Vegan EPA - DHA Featuring Life'sOMEGA(tm) -- 600 mg - 60 Vegan Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
On Point
 October 14, 2015
" Does the [vegan] job at a very reasonable price. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Vegan EPA - DHA Featuring Life'sOMEGA(tm) -- 600 mg - 60 Vegan Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSao Paulo, Brazil
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Forget fish oil
 October 10, 2015
" As a amateur plant based triathlete i'm using the Omega 3 supplement by prescription of my nutritionist since 2013. It's a complete and superior choice for those looking for a healthy lifestyle. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Vegan EPA - DHA Featuring Life'sOMEGA(tm) -- 600 mg - 60 Vegan Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromArlington, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great vegan softgels
 July 22, 2015
" I have tried many, many vegan Omega softgels. These are by far the best since they don't cause any problems or burping which sometimes occurs with this type of Omegas. I will be buying these exclusively from now on! "
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Vegan EPA - DHA Featuring Life'sOMEGA(tm) -- 600 mg - 60 Vegan Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLa Jolla Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This product is good
 July 22, 2015
" I originally bought this when the product I normally use was out of stock. Pleased to say it works just as well. I'm a veg and it's important to take this. "
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Vegan EPA - DHA Featuring Life'sOMEGA(tm) -- 600 mg - 60 Vegan Softgels
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromNew Kensington, PA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 July 21, 2015
" these supplements have a strong fishy odor and unpleasant taste. I prefer the Ovega-3 in that you only need to take 1 per day. "
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Vegan EPA - DHA Featuring Life'sOMEGA(tm) -- 600 mg - 60 Vegan Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromColumbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Much easier to tolerate than fish oil
 June 8, 2015
" I wanted an Omega supplement but was unable to tolerate the fish oil due to burping up yucky after taste. These work well, no problems at all. Thanks! "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Vegan EPA - DHA Featuring Life'sOMEGA(tm) -- 600 mg - 60 Vegan Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromOrange County, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
No Burping!
 June 4, 2015
" I tried to take many brands of Fish Oil, as my dr recommended. I HATE fish and after trying many brands which promised me "No Fish Burps" and "No Fishy Aftertaste" I kept on searching. I read an article somewhere about the harm of taking fish oil, as if it is not refrigerated, it quickly becomes rancid. Information is sometimes so contradictory, but I started researching vegan alternatives to fish oil and decided to give this Vitacost non-fish oil alternative a try. I love it! No gross fish taste, burps or gross stuff. The price is reasonable, especially if you catch a BOGO. This is now part of my daily regimen. "
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Vegan EPA - DHA Featuring Life'sOMEGA(tm) -- 600 mg - 60 Vegan Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gender:Male
Great dosage and price
 April 25, 2015
" I have to disagree with some of these comments saying it isn't good value for money. It has 40g of DHA and 50g EPA more than the competitor and most of the time can get it on BOGO. Great all round vegan source of omega 3's. "
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Vegan EPA - DHA Featuring Life'sOMEGA(tm) -- 600 mg - 60 Vegan Softgels
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromSpokane, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Overpriced compared to competition
 March 27, 2015
" This is rated poorly because it's twice as expensive as the alternative brand.
This product has the following per 2 capsules:
Omega-3 Fatty Acids 600 mg
DHA 360 mg
EPA 180 mg
30 servings per bottle
Alternative brand Amerifit Nutrition Ovega-3 has the following per 1 capsule:
Omega-3 Fatty Acids 500 mg
DHA 320 mg
EPA 130 mg
60 servings per bottle
The Vitacost brand requires double the pills for virtually the same amount of DHA/EPA and is more expensive. That is why the Amerifit brand is constantly out of stock. The Vitacost brand should cost half as much when you consider the cost and what you're getting in each serving. "
+10points
16of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Vegan EPA - DHA Featuring Life'sOMEGA(tm) -- 600 mg - 60 Vegan Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMinneapolis, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
NO FISHY FLAVOR!!!!
 February 4, 2015
" I am vegan and have tried so many different EPA-DHA supplements, all with the same nauseating "fishy" flavor while taking them and, on the days I was silly enough to take them any time other than right before bed, while burping them back up. These do not taste fishy going down and don't cause the urpy-burpies! They are far and away my favorite vegan EPA-DHA supp. "
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Vegan EPA - DHA Featuring Life'sOMEGA(tm) -- 600 mg - 60 Vegan Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCharlottesville, VA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
No problems with smell and aftertaste
 October 12, 2014
" After experiencing the fish taste throughout the day from taking fish oil, and after receiving two bottles of krill oil with broken capsuls which smelled fouly of dead fish even on the outside of the closed bottles, this product was quite wonderful. --no noticeable taste, no aftertaste, no smell. "
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Vegan EPA - DHA Featuring Life'sOMEGA(tm) -- 600 mg - 60 Vegan Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice and small
 June 5, 2014
" I just love the small size and that there is no fish in them. That way you aren't burping fish through out the day. "
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Vegan EPA - DHA Featuring Life'sOMEGA(tm) -- 600 mg - 60 Vegan Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLithia Springs, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Great Value
 June 5, 2014
" This product is great for those of us aiming to tread lighter on this planet, by meeting dietary needs while eliminating animal extraction. It meet or exceeds any comparable brand - a reasonably-sized gel cap that delivers a quality grade nutrient. It is worth the buy. "
+21points
24of 27voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost Vegan EPA - DHA Featuring Life'sOMEGA(tm) -- 600 mg - 60 Vegan Softgels
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product