Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Nut Butter Blends or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sesame Seed Butter -- 8 oz

Stone Ground Goodness. 100% Organic Raw & Stone Ground. USDA Organic. Gluten Free. Vegan. Made in USA. Dastony uses an ancient method known as stone-grinding in creating the world's finest organic nut and seed butters. Originally used for turning olive into luscious and delicious olive oil stone-grinding applies pressure with powerful perfectly smooth granite wheels. Although "old world" in its approach it is revolutionary in terms of preserving nutrients and flavor. Only the finest organic raw sesame seeds are used in every handcrafted batch to create a gourmet and silky smooth nut butter. Attention to artisan methods is something we at Dastony take great pride in.
Overall rating:
4.846 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sesame Seed Butter -- 8 oz
Review 1 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sesame Seed Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Not hard to scoop
 March 20, 2016
" This tahini is creamy and even pour-able. Ingredients show only 100% organic raw sesame seeds. It's stone ground. Requires no refrigeration. Not sure how they manage to make it almost liquid but I like it! Really sticks to the palate like other tahini's. Tastes very good. Price would be my only complaint. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sesame Seed Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great quality. My favorite brand at a good price.
 December 17, 2015
" I love quality products, and this is definitely my favorite sesame tahini. It's raw, and carefully processed. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sesame Seed Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spreadable
 November 25, 2015
" I like that it is spreadable. I've bought other brands that were more solid. I guess it is a matter of preference. It's delicious. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sesame Seed Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCalifon, NJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great taste
 July 14, 2015
" I love making my own kinds of hummus. I have tried a number of sesame seed butters over the years and prefer the organic ones because they are fresher-tasting. Honestly, this one tastewise is comparable to other organic sesame seed butters/tahini spreads.
Still, I recommend trying it. Especially if you have never made hummus before, or do not want a larger-sized jar sitting around on your refrigerator shelf for months going bad.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sesame Seed Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLynnfield, MA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
High quality and great taste!
 April 21, 2015
" I love the way Windy City Organics Dastony produces their products. In this particular product, they do not toast the sesame seeds before grinding. This makes for a mild tasting sesame seed butter (or tahini). They also use very fresh seeds in this product and they use a stone grinding method which preserves the nutrients in the raw seeds as well as the flavor. It adds a subtile flavor to my hummus recipes which I like. Not overpowering at all. I contacted the company and Anna suggested that I might use it as a salad dressing as well, mixed with some lemon juice and ginger. I highly recommend this product and believe me, it's well worth it's price when you take into consideration that it's stone ground, organic, non-GMO and it's of artisan quality. "
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sesame Seed Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromalabama
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
has good and bad features
 August 31, 2014
" the taste is very good, but it is very liquid. I wish it was thicker. I bought it because it was the only one Vitacost sold that was made with unroasted sesame seeds, and I will buy it again unless they get another brand made with unroasted seeds. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sesame Seed Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMechanicsburg, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Appreciate the Quality
 July 22, 2014
" I bought this based on reviews and found the quality to be excellent. I always appreciate a small company that sets out to make a quality product without sacrificing for the bottom line: profit.
You pay more for this product than many others of the same, but it was worth it to me.
I hope this company continues to make a fresh, quality product and does not compromise like so many other businesses do.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sesame Seed Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSun City, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great tasting!
 June 16, 2014
" This tahini is raw, organic, and tastes great! I had been looking for some time for this. Glad I found it, and I'll be getting more. It works great in tahini cookies or just off the spoon. Thanks for carrying this product. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sesame Seed Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSouth Dakota
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great!
 June 16, 2014
" Great quality! It's RAW too!!!
I REALLY wish they could get the price down though. ...please??
How about you make it a Vitacost brand product to cut costs?
Thanks "
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sesame Seed Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Best Tahini Ever
 May 26, 2014
" This tahini/sesame seed butter is sooooooo silky smooth. I thought the oil had separated and the bottom was all hard and dry like other nut/seed butters when I first opened the jar, but discovered it really did have a more pour-able liquid-y consistency to it after stirring, and the taste of it is stellar! Definitely worth the price. Dastony is awesome! "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sesame Seed Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPhoenix, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great taste for my raw hummus
 May 7, 2014
" I am a 100% raw foody, I make raw zucchini hummus with sesame seeds and add 6 TB of raw tahini (sesame butter) to it. Since I found this raw product vs. having used the roasted one in the past, the hummus tastes much creamier and better. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sesame Seed Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMichigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
BEST RAW TAHINI THERE IS
 September 2, 2013
" This is a the best raw tahini on the market!! I LOVE THIS STUFF!!! "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Windy City Organics Dastony™ Sesame Seed Butter -- 8 oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product