Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Cacao or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)

Superfood cacao in a scoopable powder – instantly add intense chocolatey flavor and nutrition to smoothies desserts and more. Certified organic and non-GMO. Packed with whole-food nutrition from cacao beans. Rich chocolaty taste in a smooth-mixing powder. Stir into smoothies or hot cocoa – also great for baking. Unsweetened – no added sugar. No artificial flavors or preservatives. Need chocolate…now? Put down the candy bar. Back away from the shake. What you need is a scoop of Vitacost® Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder the intensely rich nutrient-packed superfood source of chocolate in its purest and most nutritious form.  . Cacao (pronounced kuh-COW)—not to be confused with cocoa—is a bean-like seed collected from the Theobroma cacao tree a type of evergreen that grows in tropical regions throughout the world. It’s naturally rich in antioxidants vitamins minerals (especially magnesium and iron) fiber and other good-for-you nutrients you’d expect from one of nature’s most exquisite plant foods.  . Unlike cocoa powdered cacao is chocolate in the raw. It’s not roasted chemically treated or sugared up for overly sweet taste. Vitacost® Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder is carefully ground from certified organic and non-GMO cacao beans with no fillers flavors or sweeteners added. Mix it into smoothies create your own hot cocoa sprinkle over desserts or use as an ingredient in recipes for baked goods.  . Why choose Vitacost® Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder? Mixes up smoothly for luxurious velvety texture. Intense pure chocolate flavor. Premium cacao beans – organic & non-GMO. No fillers flavors sweeteners or preservatives. 32 servings. Great value! About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (cGMP).  
Overall rating:
4.457 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
31 out of 35(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Review 1 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthCrazyMom
fromOKC, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love this!
 July 14, 2014
"Great flavor - good in my morning smoothie to give me some extra iron, great for baking my special gluten-free brownie recipe, and I can't tell any difference between this and the brand names that cost twice the price! Thank you Vitacost!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaleoPixie
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Amazing Flavor
 July 8, 2014
"This cacao powder has the most amazing flavor. It has a really dark, rich, and full cocoa taste. I have used it for Paleo "cakes" and chocolate icing - both turned out really well thanks to the fantastic influence of this product. I would highly recommend this cacao powder."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
naturebug
fromCT
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 June 24, 2014
"This item is AMAZING! Chocolaty - mixes well- great value- can't say enough good things...try it...you'll love it !!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Joe123
fromFayetteville, NC
Gender:Female
Vitacost cacao powder tastes great!!
 June 19, 2014
"I love this cacao powder. I use it to make all of my hot chocolate drinks. It is easy to mix. I think it is a great value."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mknapp
fromFort Mill, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful!
 June 16, 2014
"Great product for the value!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Emeraldgreen
fromNew Mexico
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Definitely a Best Buy!
 June 11, 2014
"The powder is silky smooth when mixing with smoothies, beverages, whatever. Not grainy or "powdery". I add to my evening treat of a small serving of chocolate coconut milk ice cream for extra choclatey richness. Super creamy and rich! Hope vitacost will hang on to this product and keep it price competitive. It's a great way to get your dose of chocolate without added fat or sugar. It blends discreetly. (I have tried other brands that don't.)"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
EHandley
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
The worst cacao I have ever tasted!
 June 6, 2014
"I was so excited to see Vitacost had come out with their own cacao powder, as I use cacao nearly everyday. I tried it in three different recipes. HORRIBLE! Everything ended up tasting like sour milk, including the non-dairy recipes! I will never buy this again. Everything other Vitacost product I have tried, I love. So disappointing."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthyonly
fromColorado
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love it!
 June 5, 2014
"I add honey to it and some flax also."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Houndsandhorses
fromKayCee, KS
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Taste is a subjective thing
 June 4, 2014
"The rating I gave the product is a reflection of my liking of it as compared to the Navitas brand--my usual purchase. They are definitely not interchangeable, IMHO. Surely not everyone would agree, and if you've never tried Navitas (or don't like it), you may think this is dandy. I gave the bag (minus one spoonful) to a co-worker, and she thinks it's super yum. Much to Vitacost's credit, I wrote a note to customer service to tell them I didn't think it tasted at all like the Navitas, but that I wasn't interested in returning the product since I gave it to someone else to try. They gave me a refund anyway--totally unexpected, and very customer-friendly."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromTucson
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Super Yummy!
 June 2, 2014
"I use this awesome Cacao powder to mask the "grassy" taste of my green shakes/smoothies...and the husband loves it too!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steph987
fromJacksonville, NC
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Wonderful
 May 19, 2014
"This cacao powder is really great and a great price! I just love chocolate and it seems just as good as other cacao powders I've bought!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CBMD
fromEnglewood, Fl
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
delish.
 May 17, 2014
"easy to add to smoothies, my nut power herb balls and all"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Artsun
fromMonterey, California
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Wonderful Cacao Powder, aromatic and moist...
 May 15, 2014
"Great for baking chocolate muffins, chocolate breads and desert breads..."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Skeeter530
fromSan Jose, CA
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Not good!
 May 14, 2014
"Maybe some would like this product, but not me. It will not dissolve completely, and the taste is yucky. I love hot chocolate, but this product was very disappointing"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
waterbabyla
fromLos Angeles
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Excellent
 May 10, 2014
"I have used a lot of organic cacao powders and this one is great in terms of taste, consistency, and packaging. Would buy again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Juneymoon
fromSound Beach, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product!
 May 6, 2014
"It arrived fresh, automatic, and tasted wonderful in my smoothies! Loved the packaging :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
ericsmom
fromHuntingdon Valley, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
not worth it
 May 5, 2014
"I was very happy to see that this was an organic cacao product that cost less than the one I was buy at Whole Foods Market. But then I did a taste comparison and the Vitacost product was bitter. I will go back to paying more for the superior product by Navitas."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovesong2
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best Cacao Powder
 May 4, 2014
"This is the best tasting cacao powder that we've tried and also has the best price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JDuke
fromMiddletown, RI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Delicious and rich in flavor
 May 3, 2014
"Vitacost cacao powder was as good or better than the fancier brands I've purchased in the past. It has a rich flavor and is not too bitter. I use it to flavor oatmeal, make hot chocolate, smoothies and baking. Versatile and delicious! I definitely recommend it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Morganhorse
fromColville, WA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Excellent product
 May 1, 2014
"Great product. It makes a wonderful raw fudge."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next