Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Cacao or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)

Superfood cacao in a scoopable powder – instantly add intense chocolatey flavor and nutrition to smoothies desserts and more. Certified organic and non-GMO. Packed with whole-food nutrition from cacao beans. Rich chocolaty taste in a smooth-mixing powder. Stir into smoothies or hot cocoa – also great for baking. Unsweetened – no added sugar. No artificial flavors or preservatives. Need chocolate…now? Put down the candy bar. Back away from the shake. What you need is a scoop of Vitacost® Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder the intensely rich nutrient-packed superfood source of chocolate in its purest and most nutritious form.  . Cacao (pronounced kuh-COW)—not to be confused with cocoa—is a bean-like seed collected from the Theobroma cacao tree a type of evergreen that grows in tropical regions throughout the world. It’s naturally rich in antioxidants vitamins minerals (especially magnesium and iron) fiber and other good-for-you nutrients you’d expect from one of nature’s most exquisite plant foods.  . Unlike cocoa powdered cacao is chocolate in the raw. It’s not roasted chemically treated or sugared up for overly sweet taste. Vitacost® Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder is carefully ground from certified organic and non-GMO cacao beans with no fillers flavors or sweeteners added. Mix it into smoothies create your own hot cocoa sprinkle over desserts or use as an ingredient in recipes for baked goods.  . Why choose Vitacost® Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder? Mixes up smoothly for luxurious velvety texture. Intense pure chocolate flavor. Premium cacao beans – organic & non-GMO. No fillers flavors sweeteners or preservatives. 32 servings. Great value! About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (cGMP).  
Overall rating:
4.592 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
45 out of 49(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Review 1 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Arteest
fromTwin Cities
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This IS really good!
 October 17, 2014
"Based on other positive reviews, I decided to try and am another confirmed, Happy customer. Excellent tasting Organic Cacao powder for an awesome price. Cannot recommend enough!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yo22
Delicious
 September 28, 2014
"This is an amazing cacao powder - the best I have found to date. You can tell the flavor is great just by smelling it.
I can't get enough of the raw vegan ice cream I make with it!
Definitely recommended!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jcant137
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Deal
 September 28, 2014
"This is such a great value for a really quality product. It is the only Cacao that I buy again and again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quilter4Charity
fromHuntsville TX
Good Stuff!
 September 27, 2014
"A whole new world of food has opened up to me since starting the Fast Metabolism Diet. This cacao powder is just one of the really good ones."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TinkerTime
fromJacksonville, Fl
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Yummy!
 September 22, 2014
"Very good taste. I love to put this in my Vitacost Chocolate Protein shake, add ice and blend. It gives it an extra chocolate kick and makes a great shake with low calories. Will buy again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrsssporter
fromEast Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love it
 September 21, 2014
"love love love love love this product!! It's great to add to a frozen banana smoothie in the evening to appease my evening chocolate craving."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
13rannon
Great stuff!
 September 10, 2014
"Good product good price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellentwife
fromPensacola, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Love this cacao powder in my raw brownies
 September 5, 2014
"This stuff is addictive. I just love it. My first time using it, but it is wonderful. Highly recommend."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tlemmorf
fromAhwahnee, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Wonderful for baking
 August 27, 2014
"I love that this product is organic, non-gmo and raw. Because the cacao powder is cold-pressed and milled at a low temperature, all the nutrients are protected. I use raw cacao powder in place of regular cocoa power for great results in all my baking and cooking applications."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CEB82
new to cacao
 August 15, 2014
"I am new to cacao but loving it! Using it in baking, shakes/smoothies, avocado pudding, coconut oil chocolate frosting. Great taste."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bosdaddy
fromathens,ga
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
par excellence
 August 7, 2014
"great product.has super good chocolate taste,better than refined chocolate or cocoa.Bonus,it's nutritious."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flowerek
fromFL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
amazing
 July 28, 2014
"I drink cacao everyday, this one is a great quality."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
lifelover
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Organic Cacao
 July 23, 2014
"I am new to cacao powder, so maybe I'm not the best one to rate it. I've always used cocoa, so switching to cacao was a big shock; the flavor is very strong! I've had to adjust many recipes, but overall we like it. I also like the added nutrition of eating cacao over cocoa."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthCrazyMom
fromOKC, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love this!
 July 14, 2014
"Great flavor - good in my morning smoothie to give me some extra iron, great for baking my special gluten-free brownie recipe, and I can't tell any difference between this and the brand names that cost twice the price! Thank you Vitacost!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaleoPixie
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Amazing Flavor
 July 8, 2014
"This cacao powder has the most amazing flavor. It has a really dark, rich, and full cocoa taste. I have used it for Paleo "cakes" and chocolate icing - both turned out really well thanks to the fantastic influence of this product. I would highly recommend this cacao powder."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
naturebug
fromCT
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 June 24, 2014
"This item is AMAZING! Chocolaty - mixes well- great value- can't say enough good things...try it...you'll love it !!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Joe123
fromFayetteville, NC
Gender:Female
Vitacost cacao powder tastes great!!
 June 19, 2014
"I love this cacao powder. I use it to make all of my hot chocolate drinks. It is easy to mix. I think it is a great value."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mknapp
fromFort Mill, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful!
 June 16, 2014
"Great product for the value!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Emeraldgreen
fromNew Mexico
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Definitely a Best Buy!
 June 11, 2014
"The powder is silky smooth when mixing with smoothies, beverages, whatever. Not grainy or "powdery". I add to my evening treat of a small serving of chocolate coconut milk ice cream for extra choclatey richness. Super creamy and rich! Hope vitacost will hang on to this product and keep it price competitive. It's a great way to get your dose of chocolate without added fat or sugar. It blends discreetly. (I have tried other brands that don't.)"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Powder - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
EHandley
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
The worst cacao I have ever tasted!
 June 6, 2014
"I was so excited to see Vitacost had come out with their own cacao powder, as I use cacao nearly everyday. I tried it in three different recipes. HORRIBLE! Everything ended up tasting like sour milk, including the non-dairy recipes! I will never buy this again. Everything other Vitacost product I have tried, I love. So disappointing."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next