Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Cacao or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)

Bits of chocolaty bliss from pure organic and non-GMO cacao beans. Superfood cacao in tiny tasty nibs. Sprinkle on or mix in – just like chocolate chips. Raw organic and non-GMO cacao. Intense chocolaty taste. No added sugar flavors or preservatives. Naturally rich in pure cacao nutrition. Little bits of bliss. Tiny treasures of taste. Vitacost® Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs are a small chocolaty indulgence with big bold naturally delicious flavor from the source of all things chocolate—pure raw cacao.  . Cacao (pronounced kuh-COW)—not to be confused with cocoa—is a bean-like seed collected from the Theobroma cacao tree a type of evergreen that grows in tropical regions throughout the world. It’s naturally rich in antioxidants vitamins minerals (especially magnesium and iron) fiber and other good-for-you nutrients you’d expect from one of nature’s most exquisite plant foods.  . Unlike cocoa cacao is chocolate in the raw. It’s not roasted chemically treated or sugared up for overly sweet taste. Vitacost® Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs are crumbled crunchy bits of whole cacao beans that can be snacked on as is sprinkled on desserts stirred into smoothies or mixed into batters for baked goods for rich chocolaty flavor and instant superfood nutrition.  . Why choose Vitacost® Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs? From premium cacao beans – organic & non-GMO. A healthy snack tempting topping or delicious dessert ingredient. Rich intense chocolate taste. 100% vegan gluten free and free of trans fat. 16 one-ounce servings per bag. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (cGMP).
Overall rating:
4.292 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
20 out of 24(83%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Review 1 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DeniceRH
fromYucca Valley, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Best chocolate taste and consistency
 August 18, 2014
"I had been using a very popular, organic brand for a year before I tried Vitacost's version. These are, by far, superior tasting to the popular brand and almost 60% cheaper, AND they're organic!. Vitacost's cacao nibs have a much better flavor (they really taste like chocolate!) than the other brand and I like the consistency better. I now order two at time to make sure I don't run out as I'll never go back to the expensive, health-store options."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SuperMarioCycling
fromMinnesota
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
THIS is the chocolate that has the nutrients
 August 5, 2014
"Chocolate companies have been trying to cash in on the health benefits of dark chocolate for a few years now. Truth is, the health benefits of a Hershey's Dark, or a Trader Joe's 85% cocoa bar are negligible due to the processing on top of processing after roasting and cooking, etc, etc. By that time the benefits are just about gone. Cacao Nibs on the other hand are where the benefits start. This have a crunchy, bitter yet rich taste of strong cocoa flavor, but not bitter in the same way as unsweetened bakers chocolate. You can't just cook these down into chocolate syrup though, but there are many uses. I have blended them up into shake style smoothies lending the drink a chocolate chip ice-cream sort of taste and texture, mixed them into trail mix, granola cereal, and even stir them into yogurt. I just nibble on them right out of the bag too. Another great product from VitaCost."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
darkmountain
fromWA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
These are great
 July 20, 2014
"I have started using these in my black bean fudge brownies, mixing with fruit and yogurt, and the best yet is using in trail mix instead of m&ms. They don't melt and are so much better! Great flavor, nice crunch."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
RockyN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO
 July 3, 2014
"I use cacao nibs for my chia pudding. These nibs are gritty like there is gravel in them or it's bark of a tree. The flavor is good but I don't like the grit. I would not order them again."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HappyCamper4416
fromMilwaukee, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love These!
 June 29, 2014
"I bought these because they are needed for a lot of smoothie recipes in my new book, Superfood Smoothies. I absolutely love them! They add great chocolate flavor without all the extra sugar and preservatives in chocolate. Also great to sprinkle on smoothies after you blend them for some crunch."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NMRat
fromNew Mexico
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Great quality at a super price!!
 June 22, 2014
"As I have come to except from Vitacost another high quality superfood, at a great price. Would recommend to all!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mknapp
fromFort Mill, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent@
 June 16, 2014
"Great product for the price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PinkyGram
USE IT DAILY
 June 11, 2014
"I SPRINKLE THESE NIBS ON MY CEREAL IN THE AM. I LOVE THE BENEFITS OF CHOCOLATE WITH NO SUGAR. ALTHOUGH I DO ADD STEVIA TO THEM."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
kenkat
fromOhio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
questioning my choice
 June 11, 2014
"there is nothing wrong with the product, just didn't understand what I was getting when I ordered. Wanted to use in smoothies but they don't chop up too well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nandance
fromKenwood CA
Gender:Female
 June 10, 2014
"Love these cacao nibs and the price--and, just as important, they're organic!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boos
fromVentura, Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Really good!
 June 6, 2014
"Add this very crunchy and healthy product to cereal, icecream, smoothies, homemade protein bars, etc.. very versatile and affordable. will surely re-order!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
crosscountrypapa
fromOregon
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Yum
 June 4, 2014
"Yummy. Rich chocolate flavor, no sugar. It feels healthy and decadent at the same time. Top granola or yogurt, add to smoothie, or baked goodies."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Kathrna
fromFL
Not what I was expecting but still good
 June 1, 2014
"I had never tried raw cacao nibs so I wasn't expecting them to have a woody taste with the VERY slightest hint of cocoa. I expected a chocolatey taste. Something to nibble on when I needed a chocolate fix. Not so much. But, instead of just throwing them out, I put them in my granola cereal for some added flavor and in baking. It is a quality product just not what I was expecting."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MarleneY
fromElma, NY
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Acquired taste - then you will want these every da
 May 19, 2014
"Each time you eat these they taste better and better and after 3 or 4 times you can't leave them alone AND they are so good for you"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SeekerMan
fromWoodstock, NY
Good stuff
 May 16, 2014
"If it;s true that chocolate is healthy for you, this is a great way to get it without any added sugars. I sprinkle it on my morning cereal. Mm mm good"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fruitfly
fromMilwaukee, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Tasty littte buggers.
 May 6, 2014
"Cant say I ever had Cacao or even these nibs, but I found out how great they are for you. I have tried them first time here and will continue to use them. I even eat them right out of the bag. Good Stuff."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JanetG
fromFulton, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Nice Crunch!
 May 4, 2014
"I didn't know what to expect with this and I am a chocolate lover. Nibs are fantastic! I put them in oatmeal and on ice cream. This is at a great price too. They are like crunchy little bits, pure chocolate taste without any sugar. Highly recommended!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
grandmaof2
fromNY
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
1st time I ever tasted cacao nibs
 April 5, 2014
"I thought I'd try this, never tasted cacao nibs before. I'm definitely Not rating the brand because I have nothing to compare it to. I tasted it right out of the bag, hoping for a delicious snack, But unlike the other reviews I read I couldn't stand the taste -- tasted horrible to me & left a really bad taste in my mouth until I ate something to get rid of the taste -- had to throw out the $12.99 bag.
It doesn't tastee remotely like chocolate to me, unless maybe chocolate that's been sitting around for 50 yrs & is totally spoiled. But, apparently the people who wrote reviews before me like it, so maybe you will too. Taste, of course, is a subjective thing.
"
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
healthymom22
fromtucson, az
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great for the price
 March 27, 2014
"If you are looking for Organic, non-GMO cacao nips, you can't beat their price."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Whole Food Organic Cacao Nibs - Non-GMO -- 16 oz (454 g)
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
ltait
fromLake Stevens, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
a bit bitter
 March 11, 2014
"these are a bit bitter, but maybe all organic nibs are. still new to this whole clean eating thing :)"
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 next