Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Snacks or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)

Snacking Naturally™: It’s never been so delicious or nutritious! Dusted with a light layer of sugar crystals Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ Unsulphured Ginger Slices are a sweet and spicy confection with a delightfully gummy texture. And Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ Unsulphured Ginger Slices are more than just delicious. They’re also:. Free of artificial ingredients. Certified kosher. Contain no preservatives. These ginger slices are simply the best—naturally. Did you know? Ginger is a thick knotted underground stem (rhizome) of the Zingiber officinale plant. Native to Asia ginger is enjoyed for its distinct somewhat spicy flavor. A common ingredient in stir fries and vegetable dishes ginger is also brewed into tea and taken as a supplement. Ginger has a long history of use for its calming effects especially on the digestive system. Ginger ale was invented in the mid-1800s and was considered the most popular beverage in the U.S. until 1930.  . Ideas for using Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ Unsulphered Ginger Slices. Chop and mix into vanilla ice cream for an Asian-inspired taste. Eat with nuts seeds and other dried fruits for a zesty trail mix. Add to Asian stir fries. Use in place of raisins in recipes for a spicier more exotic flavor. About Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™.  . Snack naturally! Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ are all-natural portable superfoods. Fuel your body the right way with plant-based goodies that will refresh your energy stores. Gathered fresh from local farms and poured into eco-friendly resealable bags Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ offer the perfect foodie fix anytime anywhere.  . Made with the freshest natural ingredients for great taste and value Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ are an affordable alternative to expensive health food store products. Take the cost out of healthy living with Vitacost.com’s complete line of natural snacks—including nuts seeds chocolate confections trail mixes dried fruits and veggies spicy sweet and savory mixes and whole-grain medleys.  
Overall rating:
4.558 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
37 out of 43(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Review 1 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mimi90
fromWashington DC
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Zingy!
 April 19, 2016
"The ginger is just hot enough and and just sweet enough. I love to snack it with pecans or walnuts. Thanks, Vitacost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
stringthing
Too much sugar
 April 6, 2016
"These slices of ginger could be delicious but they are doused in sugar. So it's not a great health snack if you like these dried snacks.
The plus side is that at least they are unsulphured.
Vitacost should put one out with reduced sugar or no sugar.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bonxmom2013
fromBronx New York
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Ginger candy slices
 March 24, 2016
"Good for nausea and added to my tea. Too much sugar and I just wiped off the excess."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ammaof5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Absolutely Delicious!
 March 7, 2016
"This is the best crystallized ginger I have found - and unsulphered too! I use these for my water kefir as well as snacking. There's a tad more sugar than I like for snacking, but works beautifully for the kefir and it doesn't stop me from enjoying this tender and tasty treat!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dearie
fromFrostburg, MD
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
I'm hooked
 February 19, 2016
"I have found the ginger slices to be a good pick me up whenever I am just looking for something to put into my mouth. I have wiped most of the sugar off the pieces and it is a small price to pay for something that is good for you. I something snack on this along with raw cashew pieces."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
peteybaby
fromRedmond, Oregon
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
very ginger!
 February 14, 2016
"Loved the taste, quality and price"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tedra
fromAlabama
good stuff!
 February 10, 2016
"I love this stuff! I keep it in the freezer and eat a few pieces for indigestion. Good quality and quite a lot in bag. I got it on BOGO sale to get more bang for my buck. The taste tales a little getting used to but not bad"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sas44
fromSouthern California
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
great product
 November 29, 2015
"We use these as dessert. They promote digestion, clear your pallet and taste great. Of course, they're good for snacking as well."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Annandale
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Tasty
 November 12, 2015
"I just like the ginger slices."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gb1115
GINGER SLICES
 November 2, 2015
"Very flavorful, although agreed too much sugar; however, if you wash the sugar off with warm water, the ginger becomes warm and deliciously chewy. Mild degree of hotness that is NOT like pepper hot...just a very tasty, different kind of hot. No aftertaste at all.
The one thing I wish Vitacost would do is put a picture of the back of a product on line to review, as well as the front, so you could tell where the products originate."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Stoc
Too much sugar
 October 26, 2015
"The ginger is outstanding, but it's coated in WAY too much sugar. Was hoping at least that it was organic sugar or something close, but it's not. Would be a 5 if not for the excessive sugar."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
jb1155
fromPetoskey MI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Ginger Slices
 October 23, 2015
"Unless you really love spicy foods, you will not care for these !
Had a bad after taste and neither one of us could get past the tiny bite we took to try it !!
I love all of Vitacost products, but this was a real disappointment. We bought one and had the other 1/2 off, got rid of them.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PchefJ
fromDover, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good taste
 September 2, 2015
"I really like this ginger , it has the right amount of sweetness added to make it extra enjoyable It's a nice treat and ginger is so good for me."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stickshift
fromTucson, Arizona
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
warning: addictive!
 July 13, 2015
"My intent was to keep this on hand for use after a heavy/rich meal, but it's hard to save some until then!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1inabillion
fromWest Coast
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Ginger Is Good for a person…
 July 3, 2015
"I just can't do Raw! Too Hot for me! I do sake off some of the sugar!
Have it with Nut Butters + Coconut Sheds
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tohavetohavenot
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 July 3, 2015
"very tasty and helps an upset stomach"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
5fabstrength
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 June 17, 2015
"My Father and I enjoy this as a snack and I know it's healthy. He seems to eat a bag a week"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ArtemisSB
fromDover, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good medicine & tasty treat
 May 16, 2015
"I had never eaten crystalized ginger before, but from my first bite of this I became a fan! If I get a craving for something sugary, I just grab a few pieces of this instead, and besides curbing the craving it always cheers me up too. Just the right amount of zing, and perfect after I brush a bit of the sugar off. Plus it has helped immensely with cramps & nausea when I get them. I even have a neighbor addicted to it now, and this is someone who would ordinarily reach for something like potato chips before."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jjohnson
fromAnn Arbor Michigan
nice treat!
 April 23, 2015
"Very good, consistent sizes in the package and perfect texture."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Finally! Ginger that doesn't cost an arm or a leg!
 April 22, 2015
"As my title states, the great thing about this product is the price. Especially if you can catch it on a b1g1 free sale, or use it to rack up that free shipping with Vitacost items, this product far surpasses buying it buy the pound or in the little bags from the grocery store. As far as the actual item itself goes: two word ingredient list: ginger and sugar. For once a snack food is just exactly what it says it is. No hidden corn syrup, preservatives, ect. How can you beat that? Just be forewarned, have a friend on hand to help restrain you from eating the entire bag in one sitting. Or at the least to share the bag with so you don't eat the whole thing yourself. They're that good!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next