Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Snacks or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)

Snacking Naturally™: It’s never been so delicious or nutritious! Dusted with a light layer of sugar crystals Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ Unsulphured Ginger Slices are a sweet and spicy confection with a delightfully gummy texture. And Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ Unsulphured Ginger Slices are more than just delicious. They’re also:. Free of artificial ingredients. Certified kosher. Contain no preservatives. These ginger slices are simply the best—naturally. Did you know? Ginger is a thick knotted underground stem (rhizome) of the Zingiber officinale plant. Native to Asia ginger is enjoyed for its distinct somewhat spicy flavor. A common ingredient in stir fries and vegetable dishes ginger is also brewed into tea and taken as a supplement. Ginger has a long history of use for its calming effects especially on the digestive system. Ginger ale was invented in the mid-1800s and was considered the most popular beverage in the U.S. until 1930.  . Ideas for using Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ Unsulphered Ginger Slices. Chop and mix into vanilla ice cream for an Asian-inspired taste. Eat with nuts seeds and other dried fruits for a zesty trail mix. Add to Asian stir fries. Use in place of raisins in recipes for a spicier more exotic flavor. About Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™.  . Snack naturally! Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ are all-natural portable superfoods. Fuel your body the right way with plant-based goodies that will refresh your energy stores. Gathered fresh from local farms and poured into eco-friendly resealable bags Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ offer the perfect foodie fix anytime anywhere.  . Made with the freshest natural ingredients for great taste and value Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ are an affordable alternative to expensive health food store products. Take the cost out of healthy living with Vitacost.com’s complete line of natural snacks—including nuts seeds chocolate confections trail mixes dried fruits and veggies spicy sweet and savory mixes and whole-grain medleys.  
Overall rating:
4.63 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
24 out of 27(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Review 1 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
5fabstrength
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 June 17, 2015
"My Father and I enjoy this as a snack and I know it's healthy. He seems to eat a bag a week"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ArtemisSB
fromDover, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good medicine & tasty treat
 May 16, 2015
"I had never eaten crystalized ginger before, but from my first bite of this I became a fan! If I get a craving for something sugary, I just grab a few pieces of this instead, and besides curbing the craving it always cheers me up too. Just the right amount of zing, and perfect after I brush a bit of the sugar off. Plus it has helped immensely with cramps & nausea when I get them. I even have a neighbor addicted to it now, and this is someone who would ordinarily reach for something like potato chips before."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jjohnson
fromAnn Arbor Michigan
nice treat!
 April 23, 2015
"Very good, consistent sizes in the package and perfect texture."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Finally! Ginger that doesn't cost an arm or a leg!
 April 22, 2015
"As my title states, the great thing about this product is the price. Especially if you can catch it on a b1g1 free sale, or use it to rack up that free shipping with Vitacost items, this product far surpasses buying it buy the pound or in the little bags from the grocery store. As far as the actual item itself goes: two word ingredient list: ginger and sugar. For once a snack food is just exactly what it says it is. No hidden corn syrup, preservatives, ect. How can you beat that? Just be forewarned, have a friend on hand to help restrain you from eating the entire bag in one sitting. Or at the least to share the bag with so you don't eat the whole thing yourself. They're that good!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Catlady10
fromCt
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good price
 April 22, 2015
"I keep this on hand for upset stomach. I add to green tea."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Katrinkka
fromAlbuquerque, NM
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Tasty but stringy
 April 21, 2015
"This was the first time I'd tried this product -- the pieces are not of a consistent size -- range from very small to very large. Although they taste fine, a lot of the pieces were very fibrous/stringy making for a not so pleasant chewing experience."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
drbryanbikes
fromWestlake Village, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Super price, and great taste!!
 April 16, 2015
"These are an easy to use, and spicy sweet treat for salads, toppings, or add-ins to cereal or oatmeal....yep, top your oatmeal with this and you will thank me!! Note: I wash off the extra sugar on the pieces before I use, as it's too sweet for me and don't need all that sugar. The pieces are infused with sugar, so washing off the extra will not affect the taste! Love em'!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
IsItHealthy4us
fromPhoenix, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Too much sugar!
 March 22, 2015
"While I love the taste and benefits of ginger, when there are 33 gm of sugar in 6 slices, I could not possibly consume not recommend this product!"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LhasaApso
Best option
 March 13, 2015
"To be honest, I don't really like ginger, but I started nibbling on it for all the health benefits. This one is rather palatable, considering, and I like it that the sugar is evaporated cane juice."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JennyD5
So good!
 March 9, 2015
"This is such a good snack - a little sweet, a little spicy. Perfect. I just wish it came in bigger bags!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fairy
fromRenton, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent!
 February 19, 2015
"These ginger slices are of excellent quality and great taste of hot ginger. Just writing about them caused me to get up and get one....delicious and great for cutting up and putting in baked goods as well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TiJai
fromusa - I travel
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Just the Right Bite
 January 8, 2015
"Because this is Ginger there is no standardization, no blending of components. So, it is up to the candy maker to choose roots that have stand - up flavor. This package was ideal. Thank you Vitacost for providing me with slices of delicious hot ginger and just enough sweetness to balance it out."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BlueDragonfly
fromAstoria, OR
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Delicious1
 September 15, 2014
"I like to add candied Ginger to some of my Indian and Thai recipes, which allows me to not have use the required amounts of sugar. It gives my dishes that nice gingery undertone. I also love eating these right out of the bag. It is a nice, sweet treat that is good for you and delicious. Candied Ginger helps digestion and is a handy take-along for motion sickness or nausea. I particularly like the low price and the fact that it is un-sulphered. Great quality item and I will certainly order this again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AntsyPants
fromWest Coast
Wonderful crystallized ginger
 September 7, 2014
"I'm picky about my candied ginger. I like the crystallized version with no sulfates. This one is perfect. A nice large bag, reasonable price, great taste, and no sulfates. The only problem was that I downed it in one sitting. Yum. ;)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
anglaispom
fromatlanta, ga
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Way tooooooooooo sweet
 September 3, 2014
"A spoonful of sugar may help the medicine go down, but it doesn't help these ginger slices go down."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rileydog
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very good Product
 August 31, 2014
"A good way to get some ginger into your diet. These ginger slices taste great. I eat a few after dinner as a desert."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
little4
fromCalifornia
More than great taste
 July 29, 2014
"I have yet encountered anything less than great from Vitacost, these Unsulphured Ginger Slices included. Although personally I prefer them with less sugar, but the sweetness does not choke out the ginger flavor. Compared to many other brands, I have very very rarely got a fibrous piece or two.
Besides the quality of it's products, consistently super fast delivery, very secured packaging, Vitacost has first class customer service. I realized this when I recently had to call the company regarding a vandalized shipment. I was treated with great respect and was immediately offered a replacement (10 packs of the ginger slices) or refund. I chose replacement - not gonna give up my ginger.
Will definitely buy again and recommend it."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Noninews
fromPittsburg, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
a yummy snack alternative
 July 17, 2014
"The Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices are a delicious sweet and spicy natural snack. Very enjoyable chopped and sprinkled atop a bowl of oatmeal for breakfast. I will be purchasing more for sure."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Apronmom
fromNew Jersey
Age:65-74
Great snack!
 June 26, 2014
"These Ginger slices make a great little snack when you want something quick and tasty."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Unsulphured Ginger Slices -- 8.5 oz (241 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nomentgal
fromatlanta ga
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best ever!
 May 11, 2014
"I found the sweetened ginger to be delicious, but I have to caution you... These can become addictive. I have to force myself to only take a few pieces at a time, close the bag and put it away. If I don't I will eat the entire bag!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next