Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Coconut or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)

Snacking Naturally™: It’s never been so delicious or nutritious! Made from fresh premium organic coconuts at just the right hearty thickness for snacking or baking Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ Organic Medium Shredded Coconut has a lightly sweet fragrant flavor.  . And Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ Organic Medium Shredded Coconut is more than just delicious.  It’s also:. Made with no added sugar. Certified kosher. Organic. This coconut is simply the best—naturally.  . Did you know? One of the most widely consumed fruits in the world coconuts are a product of the coconut palm (Cocos nucifera) a tall tree that thrives in tropical climates. Consisting of round hard shells surrounding an edible fleshy white “meat” and thin milky liquid coconuts have been a dietary staple among island populations for centuries.  . Dried coconut is a versatile food with a slightly sweet nutty flavor and pleasantly chewy texture. Typically shredded dried coconut can be eaten plain or toasted in recipes or as a simple topping or garnish. Although high in saturated fat coconut is a good source of fiber iron and potassium and contains other important vitamins and minerals.  . Ideas for using Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ Organic Medium Shredded Coconut. Create coconut confections by using to coat homemade chocolate truffles. Sprinkle on yogurt ice cream and fruit salads. Add to a peanut butter and honey sandwich. Combine with nuts seeds and dried fruit for a trail mix. Toast and add as a topping to oatmeal. Stir into curries and stews. Use to garnish cakes cupcakes and other baked goods by mixing into the frosting. About Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™. Snack naturally! Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ are all-natural portable superfoods. Fuel your body the right way with plant-based goodies that will refresh your energy stores. Gathered fresh from local farms and poured into eco-friendly resealable bags Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ offer the perfect foodie fix anytime anywhere.  . Made with the freshest natural ingredients for great taste and value Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ are an affordable alternative to expensive health food store products. Take the cost out of healthy living with Vitacost.com’s complete line of natural snacks—including nuts seeds chocolate confections trail mixes dried fruits and veggies spicy sweet and savory mixes and whole-grain medleys.  
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
24 out of 25(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Review 1 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jes724
fromNJ
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Great flakes
 March 27, 2015
"I have put this oatmeal so far. I found recipes for energy snacks I will try this in. Coconut fan since I can remember and these are good. Refreshing to get a bag of organic and unsweetened flake."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tatunana
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 March 27, 2015
"use this in the energy bars I make. love it! has no added sugar like most coconut"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Giorgiboy
fromSwitzerland
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
FANTASTIC COCONUT
 March 17, 2015
"Great and truly delicious in salads, over tofu & seitan when I cook oriental :-))
the only question/doubt is: this Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut is or not GMO ?
Thank you to answer :-)
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
CullensMom
fromEwing, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
It was okay
 March 12, 2015
"I was not expecting a dehydrated form of coconut. I may have misread the information but I thought it would be more moist then it was. It tasted good but it was not what I was looking for."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
RevRox
fromBartlesville, Ok
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Dried out tiny shreds!
 February 20, 2015
"Shreds are very small and are dry as straw!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kmangia
Why pay more elsewhere?
 February 19, 2015
"There is not much difference in all the brands of shredded coconut so might as well get the best price for Organic."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ecad
fromMissoula, MT
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 February 4, 2015
"Great and truly delicious snack!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
M1030
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Tasty
 January 20, 2015
"I've only snacked on it, never cooked or baked with it, but it is very tasty! I love that it has no weird added ingredients."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sedg
fromMichigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Vitacost Coconut
 November 21, 2014
"Love snacking on coconut when I have the muchies and this is very good coconut."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ALAMeemaw
fromMobile, Alabama
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Perfect for Coconut Shrimp
 November 20, 2014
"I have always hated that restaurants use sweetened coconut on their coconut shrimp. I was looking for unsweetened coconut to try at home....works perfect!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthyGlam
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Price & Quality
 October 8, 2014
"I love these coconut flakes! They were on sale (bogo) so the price was great! I used them for granola and I made coconut butter in my food processor. The taste is just as good as the brand names and cheaper!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
YoSamiJo
fromPlano, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I like this coconut but wish it were less dried.
 July 19, 2014
"A bit on the dryer side of dried.
The flavor is good and the texture is almost there.
Price is right for organic, so I will buy again most likely.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Saramarie33
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great for when you need a fine shred
 July 11, 2014
"This is great for adding that extra little touch of crunch to your food. It is a fine shred which I like for certain recipes."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
WrenBird
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Very good medium sized sweetened coconut
 July 10, 2014
"I use this coconut to make macaroons and I'm happy with the shred size. This product is also great in homemade energy bars and pancakes. I have had no luck finding medium sized unsweetened shredded coconut in the health food stores in my town, so I'm glad to finally find it at a great price online."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SBentley
Excellent for baking!!
 July 10, 2014
"I purchased this shredded coconut to bake some cookies. It is amazing! Taste wonderful and easy to use. It does not clump together or stick."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pbal384
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
good taste and texture
 June 15, 2014
"Have used in cookies and oatmeal, pleased with the product. Or local stores don't carry unsweetened coconut"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slingercat
fromBozeman, Montana
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
coconut
 June 2, 2014
"The vitacost coconut is really excellent and at a good price."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Morganhorse
fromColville, WA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great buy!
 May 1, 2014
"Excellent product. I buy it with Vitacost's cacao powder to make a wonderful raw fudge."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dore430
fromHuntsville, Alabama
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Love this coconut
 April 12, 2014
"Love this Vitacost organic shredded coconut! It has its own natural sweetness that adds to any dessert or main dish, like curried chicken! The fact that it's organic and a Vitacost brand makes it that much better!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
naturelady2
fromSun City, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I love this product!
 April 7, 2014
"I love the coconut flake size and flavor. I also love the fact that it does not have added sugar or polyethylene glycol in it, as some store bought coconut flakes have. I would definitely buy this product again and again."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next