Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Coconut or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)

Snacking Naturally™: It’s never been so delicious or nutritious! Made from fresh premium organic coconuts at just the right hearty thickness for snacking or baking Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ Organic Medium Shredded Coconut has a lightly sweet fragrant flavor.  . And Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ Organic Medium Shredded Coconut is more than just delicious.  It’s also:. Made with no added sugar. Certified kosher. Organic. This coconut is simply the best—naturally.  . Did you know? One of the most widely consumed fruits in the world coconuts are a product of the coconut palm (Cocos nucifera) a tall tree that thrives in tropical climates. Consisting of round hard shells surrounding an edible fleshy white “meat” and thin milky liquid coconuts have been a dietary staple among island populations for centuries.  . Dried coconut is a versatile food with a slightly sweet nutty flavor and pleasantly chewy texture. Typically shredded dried coconut can be eaten plain or toasted in recipes or as a simple topping or garnish. Although high in saturated fat coconut is a good source of fiber iron and potassium and contains other important vitamins and minerals.  . Ideas for using Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ Organic Medium Shredded Coconut. Create coconut confections by using to coat homemade chocolate truffles. Sprinkle on yogurt ice cream and fruit salads. Add to a peanut butter and honey sandwich. Combine with nuts seeds and dried fruit for a trail mix. Toast and add as a topping to oatmeal. Stir into curries and stews. Use to garnish cakes cupcakes and other baked goods by mixing into the frosting. About Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™. Snack naturally! Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ are all-natural portable superfoods. Fuel your body the right way with plant-based goodies that will refresh your energy stores. Gathered fresh from local farms and poured into eco-friendly resealable bags Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ offer the perfect foodie fix anytime anywhere.  . Made with the freshest natural ingredients for great taste and value Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ are an affordable alternative to expensive health food store products. Take the cost out of healthy living with Vitacost.com’s complete line of natural snacks—including nuts seeds chocolate confections trail mixes dried fruits and veggies spicy sweet and savory mixes and whole-grain medleys.  
Overall rating:
4.683 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
40 out of 41(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Review 1 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromFountain Valley, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Fresh and Organic
 January 2, 2016
"I sprinkle this on yogurt. It has great fresh flavor."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alternico
fromRaleigh, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Can't beat it!
 December 27, 2015
"Tasty, healthy and a great price here!! I stocked up on several bags - I used it for so much: top yogurt, ice cream... put in a smoothie... etc. Good stuff!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
manybird
fromAppalachians
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
yummiest
 November 30, 2015
"Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut
is so yummy. Its pleasing to my coconut palate :)
Its totally delectable! I love this stuff!
I also enjoy Vitacost Extra Virgin Coconut
oil! I use it in my cooking and/or baking.
I put it in my homemade bread instead of
olive oil..it makes a difference I find delightful.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GerbilK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
It's coconut
 November 22, 2015
"Nothing special about this coconut, but if you're cooking and need decent quality for a cheap price, it works."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
oldcowgirl67
fromVirginia
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Good ~
 November 21, 2015
"Being used to the moist & sweeter coconut in the stores made this seem dry and not very sweet ~~~but I am sure that is due to being natural and organic ~~ rather have the real thing not messed with by companies trying to make more money ~!!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gategirl1
fromNorth Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent!
 November 18, 2015
"I love this unsweetened coconut. I don't eat much sugar and like to eat this in my yogurt."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TRILD
fromFL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
AMAZING!!
 September 21, 2015
"Rather than taking the time to crack open a coconut & run the risk of stabbing yourself scraping out the meat, get THIS product instead...you can toast/brown it in a frying pan (no need to add oils) and enjoy! It is delicious!!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1mamac
fromFlorence South Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Really Great Snack
 September 3, 2015
"I eat this by the handful and I have added it to my cereal. Really, really good."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lplscse
fromMelbourne, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great price and quality!
 August 18, 2015
"Much cheaper than my local health food store and great quality. Adding it to homemade protein bars and sprinkling it on everything imaginable or just snacking on it straight out of the bag!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
inyourlove
fromKorea, South
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I love it as my snack
 July 24, 2015
"it was really nice! no sugar and very fresh!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1inabillion
fromWest Coast
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
LOVE This!!
 July 17, 2015
"So Glad NOT roasted Has All the Coconut goodness! Have it with Nut Butters & Fruits! Dates, Raisins YUM!! I Pascha 100% Cocao (Caffeine ONLY in AM)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MsPicky
fromRaleigh, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Fresh, Tasty, and No Sugar
 May 11, 2015
"The title says it all. Try some with peanut butter and cacao nibs."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cheap4life
fromNJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
unsweeted coconut
 April 28, 2015
"I like it ....its hard sometimes to get unsweetened."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zuzanka
fromChicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Yummy!!!
 April 12, 2015
"I love organic product from Vitacost!!! This one is s yummy!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jimmyi
fromPhiladelphia Pa.
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Good coconut
 April 10, 2015
"Good universal product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
StanJ
fromScottsdale
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Good product
 April 9, 2015
"This product is always fresh and free of impurities. No tiny pieces of coconut shells."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jes724
fromNJ
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Great flakes
 March 27, 2015
"I have put this oatmeal so far. I found recipes for energy snacks I will try this in. Coconut fan since I can remember and these are good. Refreshing to get a bag of organic and unsweetened flake."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tatunana
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 March 27, 2015
"use this in the energy bars I make. love it! has no added sugar like most coconut"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Giorgiboy
fromSwitzerland
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
FANTASTIC COCONUT
 March 17, 2015
"Great and truly delicious in salads, over tofu & seitan when I cook oriental :-))
the only question/doubt is: this Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut is or not GMO ?
Thank you to answer :-)
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
CullensMom
fromEwing, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
It was okay
 March 12, 2015
"I was not expecting a dehydrated form of coconut. I may have misread the information but I thought it would be more moist then it was. It tasted good but it was not what I was looking for."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next