Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Coconut or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)

Snacking Naturally™: It’s never been so delicious or nutritious! Made from fresh premium organic coconuts at just the right hearty thickness for snacking or baking Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ Organic Medium Shredded Coconut has a lightly sweet fragrant flavor.  . And Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ Organic Medium Shredded Coconut is more than just delicious.  It’s also:. Made with no added sugar. Certified kosher. Organic. This coconut is simply the best—naturally.  . Did you know? One of the most widely consumed fruits in the world coconuts are a product of the coconut palm (Cocos nucifera) a tall tree that thrives in tropical climates. Consisting of round hard shells surrounding an edible fleshy white “meat” and thin milky liquid coconuts have been a dietary staple among island populations for centuries.  . Dried coconut is a versatile food with a slightly sweet nutty flavor and pleasantly chewy texture. Typically shredded dried coconut can be eaten plain or toasted in recipes or as a simple topping or garnish. Although high in saturated fat coconut is a good source of fiber iron and potassium and contains other important vitamins and minerals.  . Ideas for using Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ Organic Medium Shredded Coconut. Create coconut confections by using to coat homemade chocolate truffles. Sprinkle on yogurt ice cream and fruit salads. Add to a peanut butter and honey sandwich. Combine with nuts seeds and dried fruit for a trail mix. Toast and add as a topping to oatmeal. Stir into curries and stews. Use to garnish cakes cupcakes and other baked goods by mixing into the frosting. About Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™. Snack naturally! Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ are all-natural portable superfoods. Fuel your body the right way with plant-based goodies that will refresh your energy stores. Gathered fresh from local farms and poured into eco-friendly resealable bags Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ offer the perfect foodie fix anytime anywhere.  . Made with the freshest natural ingredients for great taste and value Vitacost® Snacking Naturally™ are an affordable alternative to expensive health food store products. Take the cost out of healthy living with Vitacost.com’s complete line of natural snacks—including nuts seeds chocolate confections trail mixes dried fruits and veggies spicy sweet and savory mixes and whole-grain medleys.  
Overall rating:
4.643 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Review 1 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
YoSamiJo
fromPlano, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I like this coconut but wish it were less dried.
 July 19, 2014
"A bit on the dryer side of dried.
The flavor is good and the texture is almost there.
Price is right for organic, so I will buy again most likely.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Saramarie33
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great for when you need a fine shred
 July 11, 2014
"This is great for adding that extra little touch of crunch to your food. It is a fine shred which I like for certain recipes."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
WrenBird
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Very good medium sized sweetened coconut
 July 10, 2014
"I use this coconut to make macaroons and I'm happy with the shred size. This product is also great in homemade energy bars and pancakes. I have had no luck finding medium sized unsweetened shredded coconut in the health food stores in my town, so I'm glad to finally find it at a great price online."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SBentley
Excellent for baking!!
 July 10, 2014
"I purchased this shredded coconut to bake some cookies. It is amazing! Taste wonderful and easy to use. It does not clump together or stick."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pbal384
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
good taste and texture
 June 15, 2014
"Have used in cookies and oatmeal, pleased with the product. Or local stores don't carry unsweetened coconut"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromBozeman, Montana
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
coconut
 June 2, 2014
"The vitacost coconut is really excellent and at a good price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Morganhorse
fromColville, WA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great buy!
 May 1, 2014
"Excellent product. I buy it with Vitacost's cacao powder to make a wonderful raw fudge."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dore430
fromHuntsville, Alabama
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Love this coconut
 April 12, 2014
"Love this Vitacost organic shredded coconut! It has its own natural sweetness that adds to any dessert or main dish, like curried chicken! The fact that it's organic and a Vitacost brand makes it that much better!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
naturelady2
fromSun City, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I love this product!
 April 7, 2014
"I love the coconut flake size and flavor. I also love the fact that it does not have added sugar or polyethylene glycol in it, as some store bought coconut flakes have. I would definitely buy this product again and again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jamkpa
frompa
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Plain and simple...good shreddred coconut
 April 4, 2014
"I prefer this coconut for making macaroons. It is very dry and the shreds are on medium side. No added chemicals. Use a couple of bags and a can of organic sweetened evaporated milk plus a half a can of water and a heaping TBS of flour, mix...bake 325, 15-20 minutes and your are good to go....and enjoy."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tribalmama
Hard to find
 February 27, 2014
"NO sugar added, shredded coconut is getting hard to find in super markets these days. I'm not sure what that is all about but then when you do find it in a health food store it is expensive and the taste is inferior. Most times it is so dry and bland that I get discouraged and go for months without. But Vitacost's is priced very reasonable and the taste is by far the best I have found in years."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TayRed
fromNew York, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 February 24, 2014
"Love a spoonful as a snack! Healthier and tastier than junk food!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
madeleinesmom
fromSeattle, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good but you can do better
 January 22, 2014
"This is good coconut but is not quite as flavorful as Edward and Son's Let's Do Organic which I buy here. I wouldn't buy it again but I'm very picky. It's not bad. If you just wanted it for fiber and not for flavor I suppose it would be fine."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost Organic Medium Shredded Coconut -- 6.5 oz (184 g)
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product