Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Sweeteners & Sugar Substitutes or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Swerve Sweetener Granular Gluten Free -- 16 oz

The All-Natural Sweetener. Zero Calories Glycemic Index. Tastes Bakes and Measures Like Sugar • Prebiotic Activity. Safe for Diabetics • No Digestive Discomfort. Kosher • Non-GMO • Vegan • Gluten Free. Good to be true.  . With zero calories Swerve® tastes bakes and measures like sugar without the bitter aftertaste and digestive discomfort of other sweeteners. Enhancing your favorite beverage fruit or sugar-free foods Swerve is perfect for all your sweetening needs. Swerve is a unique combination of ingredients which have been part of the human diet for thousands of years naturally occurring in a variety of fruits and vegetables.
Overall rating:
4.188 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
14 out of 16(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Swerve Sweetener Granular Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Review 1 for Swerve Sweetener Granular Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VictorianRose57
fromSan Diego,CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I love Swerve Sweetener!
 May 9, 2016
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I use Swerve in baking sugar-free low carb cheesecakes, low-carb fruit curds and unless I use over a half cup, there isn't any aftertaste or minty-burn sensation. Better to bake with than Stevia blends which always have a Stevia aftertaste."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Swerve Sweetener Granular Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lethallin
fromNorway
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great sugar substitute
 October 2, 2015
"I haven't tried caramelizing it yet, but it seems to perform well in every other way I've used it. :D"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Swerve Sweetener Granular Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vitamin3
fromTN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Still Experimenting
 September 25, 2015
"No after taste noticed, tried measuring like sugar in peanut butter cookies and overly sweet and not the right texture. However, used in place of sugar in a blueberry cheesecase and best one I ever made, including those with refined sugar."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Swerve Sweetener Granular Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husker77
No bitter taste and easy to use!!
 September 9, 2015
"This product along with its confectioners counterpart is the only way we survive our ketogenic (very low carb) lifestyle. We use this as a replacement to sugar in everything and it allows us to still enjoy donuts, ice cream, pancakes/syrup, cakes, cookies, cheesecake etc. wish it was sold in larger bags but this is a good price for this product"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Swerve Sweetener Granular Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
gramma2two
fromIllinois
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good alternative to sugar
 September 7, 2015
"I do like using Swerve - however it did leave a slight aftertaste. I can deal with that as it has helped in my weight loss journey (on Trim Healthy Mama plan). Giving up sugar has done wonders and I find that I can use a very minimal amount of the Swerve to satisfy my sweet tooth in my recipes."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Swerve Sweetener Granular Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AuntLa
fromwisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great
 September 6, 2015
"product does what it says! to me it tastes a little sweeter than sugar."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Swerve Sweetener Granular Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RKOCanary
fromMaryland
Gender:Female
I don't use real sugar in anything I make anymore.
 July 30, 2015
"I don't use real sugar in anything I make anymore. I made a great homemade brown with it as well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Swerve Sweetener Granular Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rays1
fromNY
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Swerve
 May 24, 2015
"This product is an alternative to aspartame, which is out of favor at this time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Swerve Sweetener Granular Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
2Sweet
fromTennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
If you're expecting sugar, it's not quite the same
 May 13, 2015
"If you take it for what it is, a sugar replacement, then it's pretty nice. It's nicer than stevia. No weird after taste at all. It has a cooling feel to it (when eaten plain) like xylatol or erythratol which I don't mind. It does a pretty good job of sweetening. I do plan to cook with it and use it more extensively. It is not supposed to cause bloating, so I'm hoping it doesn't. I would not call this all natural as it is clearly chemically developed whether it has natural ingredients or not."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Swerve Sweetener Granular Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
galynn
Sad
 April 27, 2015
"I am looking for a sugar substitute that will work for me. Sadly this is not it, within 30 minutes and for the last 2 hours it has upset my tummy and caused me to spend alot of time in the bathroom. I hope it works well for others.....and the search continues to find something that won't upset my system. :("
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Swerve Sweetener Granular Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Luckyme7238
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Works just like sugar.
 June 1, 2014
"I've eliminated sugar from my diet as a treat to myself, but still like baked goods once in awhile. Swerve is just like using sugar in baked goods. Cookies brown the same and so far I have never detected any bitter aftertaste as I have heard others complain of in Stevia, Splenda and other sweeteners. Very expensive, I think, but maybe the price will come down later. Sure hope so."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Swerve Sweetener Granular Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jwild
fromdalton, ga
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
tastes great
 April 7, 2014
"best tasting natural sugar alternative - i HATE stevia and truvia - leaves a bad taste in my mouth but this tastes just like real sugar and measures the same too. would highly recommend this."
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Swerve Sweetener Granular Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
perfect
 March 5, 2014
"Taste as expected, very good product. keep in mind doesn't melt like sugar so you might prefer the confectioners version :)"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Swerve Sweetener Granular Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
TheGardeningFool
fromOrlando, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Not my cup of tea
 February 26, 2014
"In all fairness: I have a taste buds that are extremely sensitive to any chemical-y flavors, particularly in sweeteners. My husband did not mind it for coffee (but did not love it at all) but after testing it in a couple of sugar free baking recipes I had to toss it out. That is too bad because most reviews for the product are great (that's why I bought several bags of it) but I get this awful after-taste in the back of my palate and the odd taste (it is almost stevia-like) lingers in my mouth like glue for hours after consuming the product.
Even as I poured the Swerve into a canister the minute powder particles that floated up gave me the same odd feeling in my palate and nose.
Even when it is quite a bit more expensive, I prefer Norbu 100% (Monk Fruit) more than Swerve. Norbu has the consistency and taste of regular organic cane sugar without the blood sugar spike."
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Swerve Sweetener Granular Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FigureBombshell
fromNaples, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Perfect for baking!
 January 7, 2014
"EXCELLENT Zero cal baking. I bake a lot of clean treats, desserts, etc. this acts exactly like sugar, tastes just as sweet, zero aftertaste and works well in anything hot or cold. They need to sell it in 30# tubs!!"
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Swerve Sweetener Granular Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product