Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop General Health or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Great Lakes Gelatin Collagen Joint Care Porcine Gelatin Unflavored -- 16 oz

For Use in Regular and Dietetic Recipes. Pure Protein. Porcine Gelatin. Gelatin is the purified protein derived by the selective hydrolysis of collagen from the skin the connective tissue and/or bones of animals. Great Lakes Gelatin provides you with the highest types of pure unflavored edible gelatins. It is available in type A (porcine) or type B (bovine or bone). This consumer package represents a special grade of gelatin that meets the specifications set forth by the U.S. Pharmacopoeia regulated by National Formulary. All grades of gelatin are prepared under the most rigid sanitary conditions.
Overall rating:
4.889 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 18(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Great Lakes Gelatin Collagen Joint Care Porcine Gelatin Unflavored -- 16 oz
Review 1 for Great Lakes Gelatin Collagen Joint Care Porcine Gelatin Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CSchweikert
fromWaxahachie, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great for Making Gelatin
 July 19, 2014
"This is great for making gelatin for the kids to have as snacks. It is great for you! My daughter's favorite is Sour Watermelon Gummies. There are sons of recipes on Pinterest."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Great Lakes Gelatin Collagen Joint Care Porcine Gelatin Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
koryn101
Great
 July 7, 2014
"Worked great to make homemade marshmallows and homemade gummies. This is a reputable brand and a great price!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Great Lakes Gelatin Collagen Joint Care Porcine Gelatin Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suli
fromTucson, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Wonderful product
 June 20, 2014
"This is a wonderful product and the pricing is great! So happy that you carry this incredibly healthy food."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Great Lakes Gelatin Collagen Joint Care Porcine Gelatin Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jane32
fromFreedom, IN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great stuff for you!!
 May 4, 2014
"I'm really glad I've tried this stuff. This gelatin is great for you, but can only be used in hot drinks or jello recipes. It is also harder to digest so the green can is easier to handle and it can be added directly to smoothies. The red can is awful in smoothies, but you can put a little water at room tempature in a mug then add 1 TBSP of gelatin and mix. Then pour in hot coffee or hot water and a tea bag. The benefits are very good; it helps with back problems, it does help your hair and nails grow. It is a wonderful source of protein and tons of amino acids. I think my body was badly needing these."
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Great Lakes Gelatin Collagen Joint Care Porcine Gelatin Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jedadiah
fromDecatur, GA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Protein for a good start to the morning
 April 20, 2014
"It goes in my breakfast smoothie each morning, and the protein holds me until lunch."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Great Lakes Gelatin Collagen Joint Care Porcine Gelatin Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lisama
fromFallon, NV
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Lakes products are the best
 March 13, 2014
"I bought this for myself and my dog. I like how easy it is to mix for my use. I add this to my dog's food each day mixed with water, her fish oil and other supplements then add her freeze dried raw foods. She loves her food and never leaves any behind. She always licks the bowl clean. Next time around I will be purchasing the canine product for my dog as it is more easily assimilated, thus works better all around. For myself, I recommend this gelatin as it can be used in many different ways."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Great Lakes Gelatin Collagen Joint Care Porcine Gelatin Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ashleyeln
fromTN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good product
 March 10, 2014
"It does what I need for a great price, but I wish they'd get the kosher variety again."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Great Lakes Gelatin Collagen Joint Care Porcine Gelatin Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Moony
fromMaynard, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Doesn't mix well for me
 February 25, 2014
"I have been using their green product witch is fabulous, it mixes great in hot or cold. I tried this one since Vitacost didn't have the green version and I hate it. It is suposed to mix good in hot, but I use it in my coffee and it's doens' mix good at all. It might be fine for it's true purpose, but not for what I am using it for.
I do however reccomend the green one."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Great Lakes Gelatin Collagen Joint Care Porcine Gelatin Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Liberty0
fromAurora Ontario
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product
 February 23, 2014
"I like this product very much and try to incorporate the
gelatin in my diet in various ways during my day. It will now be a
constant in my diet. Il love making jello with fruit juices too.
What a treat
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Great Lakes Gelatin Collagen Joint Care Porcine Gelatin Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ketofan
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Excellent product and best price
 January 30, 2014
"I love making gelatin and Vitacost has the best price on this product!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Great Lakes Gelatin Collagen Joint Care Porcine Gelatin Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cidd
fromfort wayne, in.
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 January 23, 2014
"Great product. Have to mix in room temp. liquid to get it to dissolve."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Great Lakes Gelatin Collagen Joint Care Porcine Gelatin Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kdawn
Excellent - will buy again and again
 January 21, 2014
"Love this product, great quality and a great price from this site"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Great Lakes Gelatin Collagen Joint Care Porcine Gelatin Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mamacanter
Homemade Jello
 December 18, 2013
"Used the gelatin to make our favorite Thanksgiving jello recipe bypassing the additives and chemicals in the Jello brand product. My kids were thrilled!"
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Great Lakes Gelatin Collagen Joint Care Porcine Gelatin Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
zflower1000
fromCleveland, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
the best!
 November 24, 2013
"I hesitate to review this because I don't want everyone in the world buying it and then I won't be able to find it anymore."
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Great Lakes Gelatin Collagen Joint Care Porcine Gelatin Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RedHoney500
fromPark Hill, OK
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
High Quality
 November 6, 2013
"My nails were thin, splitting, and would not grow out. I add this to my green smoothie, and could tell a difference within a few weeks. Love It!"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Great Lakes Gelatin Collagen Joint Care Porcine Gelatin Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lifelover
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
A must have!
 November 2, 2013
"This stuff is a staple in my house. There are so many ways gelatin can benefit you that we take it daily. Some people don't like the taste if mixed alone in water, but there are gelatin recipes all over the internet, as well as candies, too. There's no reason not to use this awesome stuff everyday. Plus, its grass-fed which makes it all the better!"
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Great Lakes Gelatin Collagen Joint Care Porcine Gelatin Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Makethedifference
 October 16, 2013
"Great product.... great price"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Great Lakes Gelatin Collagen Joint Care Porcine Gelatin Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SunnyLane
fromValdosta, Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good Product
 October 10, 2013
"I have used this to add extra nutrition to my soups, homemade marshmellows, jello, and my hot drinks. I intend to continue using this to benefit my joints, and my aging body. I'm always happy about Vitacost's reasonable prices, and quick service."
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.