Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Seasonings & Spices or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb

Nutrient-Rich Superfood. Fiber - Digestive Maintenance. Calcium - Bone Health. Potassium - Heart & Muscle Function. Trace Minerals - Healthy Cell Structure. USDA Organic • Non GMO Project Verified • Kosher. Raw • Vegan • Gluten Free. Certified Organic Carob Powder. Carob powder is made from the long bean-like pods of the carob tree a flowering evergreen shrub with native roots to the Mediterranean. Used as a replacement for cacao or cocoa carob has a naturally sweet taste without the stimulants typically found in chocolate. Besides being delicious carob is high in fiber a good source of calcium and has B vitamins potassium and iron - just a few healthy reasons to use carob in your favorite sweet recipe.  . The Sunfood Difference™. Our Carob Powder is made from raw organic non-GMO carob pods. After harvest the pod pulp is extracted dried and ground into a fine powder without the use of additives preservatives fillers or alternate processing aids. Unlike other carob powders our raw processing keeps the nutrients intact without the use of roasting or other high temperature processing.
Overall rating:
4.81 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 21(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Review 1 for SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromGrants Pass, OR
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Perfect
 March 9, 2016
" I've used carob for years and my favorite brand was discontinued. I've had a hard time finding raw or light toasted that tastes good. This one has a light powdery texture and a nice mild flavor and I'm thrilled to find one I like. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality
 March 9, 2016
" I wanted to try raw carob this time and it's just as good as the roasted! This brand has excellent quality and decent price. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Gender:Female
A rich chocolate flavor. Delicious!
 January 14, 2016
" I am a raw vegan who chooses to eat "live" foods for energy and health. I love the carob flavor, but until now was unhappy with the raw carob choices. SunFood Organic Raw Carob is smooth with a rich flavor, almost chocolate tasting, not gritty as other raw carobs I have tried. I have smoothies with it every day and use in dessert recipes. This product is undoubtedly the best on the market. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
The best carob powder I've tried!
 January 7, 2016
" It has a delicate fantastic flavor and it is the only carob powder, that I know of, which is organic and raw combined. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLafayette, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
NEW item in my smoothie pantry.
 November 19, 2015
" Wife wanted a non-fruit smoothie. Hemp seed, plant based protein powder, lecithin powder, carob powder, coconut manna, coconut water. Thank me later.... enjoy! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Terrific and healthy, chocolate-y flavor
 October 30, 2015
" This is a terrific substitute for cacao and has no caffeine and a healthy dose of fiber, calcium, and potassium. You can use this to make "hot chocolate", add it to a smoothie, or recipes like pancakes and cakes- enjoy. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Great Stuff
 August 6, 2015
" It is good tasting good alternative to Cacao (super sensitive to caffeine) very nutrient dense. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromcalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 July 29, 2015
" I like that the Carob Powder adds color and flavor as well, one of my kids not so much so I don't put too much of it. I especially like to add carob powder to the yeast instead of sugar when I make bread. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
don't believe it's raw
 June 29, 2015
" tastes fine, but not like raw; neither is it as light as the raw I've bought elsewhere; in color and flavor it matches toasted carob I've bought elsewhere; glad it's organic, but I wanted RAW to preserve micronutrients, vitamins and enzymes "
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delicious raw goodness
 June 17, 2015
" Love this superfood product - raw delicious and so healthy for you. Add to smoothies and home made icecream for some chocolate flavor. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
LOVE LOVE LOVE this product!
 May 23, 2015
" I love chocolate but don't like the caffeine, so I wanted to find some carob powder that would cater to my raw vegan diet and still let me enjoy some chocolate flavor:) This totally did it! Tastes amazing (I actually think I like it better than cocoa powder now!) I bought 3 bags last time so I could always have some around! "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great quality, great price
 April 6, 2015
" I love cacao and carob, but I'm using carob more because of the high fiber content. It definitely doesn't taste like cacao, but it's tasty in its own right! Great in smoothies and desserts! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
good stuff. better than the toasted variety.
 March 29, 2015
" Nothing like the bob's red mill toasted version. This is much milder and sweeter. Still not chocolate though. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Raw, Organic & Delish
 March 19, 2015
" We use a lot of carob in our kitchen.
Add to greens in the morning, in my coffee with a little coconut oil,
homemade chocolates and raw and baked treats.
Our pup likes it when I make treats we can all share too!
"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromJacksonville, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Raw carob is delicious.
 February 5, 2014
" As a vegan for nearly a year and having been vegetarian for 39 years, I have eaten a lot of carob. Because of this product's raw, organic state, I must say that it is far superior to any roasted carob I have used. Delicious! "
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromVermont
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
wonderful raw carob powder
 January 5, 2014
" a lovely, naturally sweet plant food--we love it stirred into drinks, mixed into breakfast cereals, added to baked goods, made into confections--esp. no bake treats; difficult to find raw, and more nutritious when not cooked--a little goes a long way... "
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNYC
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
excellent flavor
 December 4, 2013
" Great nutritional profile (read the label), I add it to smoothies. It dissolves so easily, some vigorous shaking mixes it well without a blender. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBoise, ID
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
So glad Vitacost started carrying this
 October 3, 2013
" I love raw carob. So glad to see Vitacost is now carrying it. Add it to my green smoothies every morning. Great chocolate taste, no caffeine! "
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromJacksonville, NC
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Good product
 September 19, 2013
" I have a new found love for carob! I make carob "chocolates" with just carob and coconut oil. Because its raw its pretty sweet and I don't even have to use any sweetener and its still delicious! "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SunFood Raw Organic Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromKentucky
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 August 12, 2013
" This product I give an excellent rating. I really liked the taste of it. I put it in my unsweetened almond milk and add a little honey or stevia and blend it up. It is a very good alternative to cocoa which has caffeine, and is organic. I also use it in smoothies. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next