Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Seasonings & Spices or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

SunFood Organic Raw Carob Powder -- 1 lb

Nutrient Rich Superfood. Contains:. Fiber - Digestive System. Calcium - Strong Bones. Potassium - Muscle Repair & Growth. Trace Minerals - Maintenance & Repair. Certified USDA Organic • No Additives • No Added Sugars • No Preservatives. Non-GMO Project Verified. Carob powder is made from the long bean-like pods of the carob tree a flowering evergreen shrub with native roots to the Mediterranean. After the carob pods are harvested the pod pulp is extracted dried and ground into a powder. Used as a replacement for cacao or cocoa carob has a naturally sweetened chocolate taste without the caffeine or theobromine stimulants typically found in chocolate.  . The Sunfood Difference. Our carob powder is made from sustainably harvested carob pods. The flesh is pulverized into a fine hygroscopic powder without the use of additives preservatives fillers or alternate processing aids. Unlike other carob powders our raw processing keeps the nutrients intact without the use of roasting or other high temperature processing.
Overall rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 15(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for SunFood Organic Raw Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Review 1 for SunFood Organic Raw Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RMac13
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Great Stuff
 August 6, 2015
"It is good tasting good alternative to Cacao (super sensitive to caffeine) very nutrient dense."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SunFood Organic Raw Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MommyAndMe
fromcalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 July 29, 2015
"I like that the Carob Powder adds color and flavor as well, one of my kids not so much so I don't put too much of it. I especially like to add carob powder to the yeast instead of sugar when I make bread."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SunFood Organic Raw Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
SaraswatiVT
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
don't believe it's raw
 June 29, 2015
"tastes fine, but not like raw; neither is it as light as the raw I've bought elsewhere; in color and flavor it matches toasted carob I've bought elsewhere; glad it's organic, but I wanted RAW to preserve micronutrients, vitamins and enzymes"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SunFood Organic Raw Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
amymck
Delicious raw goodness
 June 17, 2015
"Love this superfood product - raw delicious and so healthy for you. Add to smoothies and home made icecream for some chocolate flavor."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SunFood Organic Raw Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FruityNinja
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
LOVE LOVE LOVE this product!
 May 23, 2015
"I love chocolate but don't like the caffeine, so I wanted to find some carob powder that would cater to my raw vegan diet and still let me enjoy some chocolate flavor:) This totally did it! Tastes amazing (I actually think I like it better than cocoa powder now!) I bought 3 bags last time so I could always have some around!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SunFood Organic Raw Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
moonflower325
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great quality, great price
 April 6, 2015
"I love cacao and carob, but I'm using carob more because of the high fiber content. It definitely doesn't taste like cacao, but it's tasty in its own right! Great in smoothies and desserts!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SunFood Organic Raw Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
rockfan1987
good stuff. better than the toasted variety.
 March 29, 2015
"Nothing like the bob's red mill toasted version. This is much milder and sweeter. Still not chocolate though."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SunFood Organic Raw Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ktdidtoo
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Raw, Organic & Delish
 March 19, 2015
"We use a lot of carob in our kitchen.
Add to greens in the morning, in my coffee with a little coconut oil,
homemade chocolates and raw and baked treats.
Our pup likes it when I make treats we can all share too!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SunFood Organic Raw Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
visuallyaware
fromJacksonville, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Raw carob is delicious.
 February 5, 2014
"As a vegan for nearly a year and having been vegetarian for 39 years, I have eaten a lot of carob. Because of this product's raw, organic state, I must say that it is far superior to any roasted carob I have used. Delicious!"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SunFood Organic Raw Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saraswati11055
fromVermont
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
wonderful raw carob powder
 January 5, 2014
"a lovely, naturally sweet plant food--we love it stirred into drinks, mixed into breakfast cereals, added to baked goods, made into confections--esp. no bake treats; difficult to find raw, and more nutritious when not cooked--a little goes a long way..."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SunFood Organic Raw Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cuttingedge
fromNYC
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
excellent flavor
 December 4, 2013
"Great nutritional profile (read the label), I add it to smoothies. It dissolves so easily, some vigorous shaking mixes it well without a blender."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SunFood Organic Raw Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrMary
fromBoise, ID
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
So glad Vitacost started carrying this
 October 3, 2013
"I love raw carob. So glad to see Vitacost is now carrying it. Add it to my green smoothies every morning. Great chocolate taste, no caffeine!"
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SunFood Organic Raw Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Steph987
fromJacksonville, NC
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Good product
 September 19, 2013
"I have a new found love for carob! I make carob "chocolates" with just carob and coconut oil. Because its raw its pretty sweet and I don't even have to use any sweetener and its still delicious!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SunFood Organic Raw Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RuthieK
fromKentucky
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 August 12, 2013
"This product I give an excellent rating. I really liked the taste of it. I put it in my unsweetened almond milk and add a little honey or stevia and blend it up. It is a very good alternative to cocoa which has caffeine, and is organic. I also use it in smoothies."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SunFood Organic Raw Carob Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HappyStLouis
fromSt. Louis MO
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great Chocolate Substitute
 August 1, 2013
"I was glad to find this raw form of carob powder. I prefer it because it is less bitter. I love making a tapioca like pudding with it mixing silken tofu, chia seeds (they create the tapioca texture), vanilla, maple syrup and the carob powder. Healthy and nice treat when I need one."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.