Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Sauces & Marinades or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Chicken Base -- 8 oz

Makes 9.5 Quarts of Broth. 38 Servings. Made with Seasoned Vegetables. Certified Vegan. Does Not Contain Chicken. A paste that produces a standard base with chicken flavor that can be used in soups gravies and meat stocks.
Overall rating:
4.786 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Chicken Base -- 8 oz
Review 1 for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Chicken Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SUNNYSMILES
fromKerrville, TX
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
GREAT PRODUCT
 February 5, 2016
"Tastes great and gives vegans more options when it comes to adding flavor to our dishes. only wish it came in a bigger size."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Chicken Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Texan89
fromAustin, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
A staple in our house
 December 24, 2015
"We love this No Chicken Base. We use it for vegetarian/vegan cooking and it adds great flavor without any chicken. A great alternative for those wanting to stay away from the meat based broths."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Chicken Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tequilla
fromDunkirk, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Better than any other I've tried!
 November 29, 2015
"This broth is delicious! It's good enough to actually sip as a broth -- and it's really concentrated. I've tried all the other powdered brands -- I will stick with this one from now on. It's even better than prepared vegetable broth (packaged in aseptic containers). Being vegan, it's difficult to find a really yummy broth -- this is it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Chicken Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Berniesmom
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love this!
 November 24, 2015
"I always keep it stocked. This is a wonderful, versatile product. It can be used in many different ways and always tastes great. A low sodium choice would be nice but I don't add additional salt and have been quite pleased. Both the chicken and the beef flavors are great although the chicken is my favorite!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Chicken Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ny76
fromNy
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Tastes like chicken!!
 May 11, 2015
"For not being a real chicken base, this, the taste is super close. Blends well. i don't eat pasta so i ise oats in my soups and this is great to add on. The only downside is the trmedous ampunt of sodium.for a bowl of personal soup, i ise only a 1/4 teaspoon. If a version could be made with less sodium, would buy again. The sodium was the reason for 4 not 5 rating."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Chicken Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowntohike
fromTucson, AZ
Gender:Female
Been using this for years
 April 1, 2015
"This is an excellent vegetarian "chicken" flavored broth. I like that it isn't a cube so that you can more or less depending on how much flavor you need for a recipe. I often use this in recipes that call for vegetable broth."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Chicken Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MacGuffin
fromNYC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Indespensable
 December 15, 2014
"Although I usually substitute vegetable bouillon for the chicken broth called for in recipes, some of them just taste better with chicken. Enter Better Than Bouillon No Chicken Base. I haven't actually eaten chicken in 27 years but I can tell you truthfully that Better Than yields sublime results when used as directed. Vitacost has better prices than my local stores, even with shipping, so I stocked (ha ha) up. Incidentally, Better Than's Vegetable, No Beef, and Mushroom are terrific as well. Highly recommended and much tastier than cubes."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Chicken Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ManhattanWoman
fromNew York City
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Versatile! Love it. Always have it on hand!
 July 18, 2014
"Great for soups and wonderful in recipes of various kinds. Use your imagination! High recommendation."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Chicken Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ShopCrueltyFree
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Vegan
 May 8, 2014
"Great for vegans. Tastes great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Chicken Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VeganJen
fromLodi, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
One of the best
 February 13, 2014
"I use this product as a broth in rice dishes and soups primarily. Omnivores have been fooled by it. It's not too expensive considering how many cans of broth or bouillon cubes it replaces. It's also more versatile and tastes great. The brand's other flavors - vegetable broth and no-beef broth are also good."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Chicken Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NaturalVegan
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Just like it says - better than chicken broth!
 December 13, 2013
"This is the only vegetarian chicken broth that I've tried, so can't compare to other options, but I'm completely satisfied. This enables me to recreate non-vegetarian family recipes and make them Vegan! My meat-eating sister actually prefers this to regular chicken stock because it has more depth of flavor. Perfect substitution in my opinion! Very hard to find in stores, excited to find it here for a great price!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Chicken Base -- 8 oz
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product