Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Sauces & Marinades or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Beef Base -- 8 oz

Makes 9.5 Quarts of Broth. 38 Servings. Made with Seasoned Vegetables. Certified Vegan. Does Not Contain Beef. A paste that produces a standard base with beef flavor that can be used in soups gravies and meat stocks.
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 10(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Beef Base -- 8 oz
Review 1 for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromIndiana
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great Flavor!
 February 23, 2016
" Its hard to believe this is animal free. It really gives such a great "beef" flavor. We use it for stews, soups, rehydrating TVP or Soy Curls. Add a bit to your homemade black bean burgers for that extra pop of flavor. A bit on the expensive side but a little goes a long way! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromKitchener, Ontario
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Very tasty, but expensive
 February 10, 2016
" This product and their No Chicken Base are very tasty and they do not seem to have any ingredients that would upset my IBS. They are vegetarian and really add a lot to the dishes I have used them in. My only problem with them is that the jars come half full and I do not think that amount will make 9 quarts of stock as is advertised. This makes the product very expensive in comparison to grocery store broth. This is especially true since I live in Canada and have to contend with the exchange rate and will always be charged shipping. So I don't know if I will buy them again. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMaryville, Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good go to broth
 February 5, 2016
" I have been using the Better Than Bouillon Beef No Beef and Chicken No Chicken for years. The taste is really good and I recently switched to using the Beef over the Chicken due to lower fat levels. Both are a little high on the sodium so I use less. All other broths or bouillons I have found are tomato based and that just isn't me.
If you don't have time to make your own, this is a good and fast alternative!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromKerrville, TX
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
WONDERFUL PRODUCT
 February 5, 2016
" Tastes great and gives vegans more options when it comes to adding flavor to our dishes "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromFort Worth Texas
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great taste
 January 9, 2016
" Easy to use and has a good shelf life if kept in the refrigerator "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromSalamanca, Spain
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good taste and great value
 January 6, 2016
" I had been looking for an alternative to beef bouillon for a time now and I'm happy I have finally found it.
There's only one I thing I don't like: it smells of celery too much. If you don't like celery, you could think of choosing another one.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew Hampshire
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Terrific Flavor
 December 16, 2015
" I love the Vegetarian Better Than Bouillons and regularly use the No Beef, No Chicken, and Vegetarian. I recently used the No Beef for a fantastic pot of Pasta Y Fagioli ! Sometimes I wish there was a tad less sodium but for a large soup this was perfect. As a vegan, it has opened up a flavor profile I thought was lost to me. Wonderful !!! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNYC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Veggie Must-have
 January 12, 2015
" Like the previous reviewer, I haven't eaten meat in a LONG time (27+ years). And I don't like restricting myself to vegetarian recipes when there are so many out there that can be adapted for those who don't eat meat. I usually use Better Than Vegetable (both Superior Touch and Organic) but some recipes just won't fly if they taste too much like vegetables. Enter BT No Beef and No Chicken. I've used both (sometimes together, e.g. for the "brodo" needed for Pappa al Pomodoro), and they're often what's needed to put an adapted recipe over the top. NO comparison to those awful meat-free bouillon cubes that list salt as their primary ingredient--we're talking very rich flavor here when used as directed. It's very difficult for me to find BT No Beef in NYC for some reason, so thanks for being there, Vitacost! Great prices, reasonable shipping, and FAST delivery. :)
Tip: The Better Thans that I use (Vegetable, Mushroom, No Chicken, No Beef) are very concentrated and should be used as directed; however, the labels state that for a quart, 1 ½ tablespoons (4 ½ tsps.) of base should be used--½ teaspoon more than the tsp./ 8 oz. recommended if made by the cup. I use only a tablespoon (3 tsps.)/quart because I like to taste my other ingredients and want the base to enhance, not overpower them. It's not only more cost-effective but tastes better as well. In this case, less is more! "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew York City
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
My kitchen not complete without this!!!!
 July 18, 2014
" Excellent for the predictable recipes...and conducive to imaginative cooking. I love the vegan Better Than Boullion offerings. Vegan, here, for >25 years - would not be without the Better-Than-Bouillion vegan sibling products!!!! "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Better Than Bouillon Vegetarian No Beef Base -- 8 oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product