Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Moisturizers or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Alaffia Everyday Coconut Daily Face Lotion SPF 15 -- 12 fl oz

For All Skin Types. Fair for Life Certified Fair Trade Coconut. Helps prevent sunburn. Higher SPF gives more sun protection.  . Alaffia® Fair Trade & Community empowerment. While poverty and gender inequality issues seem overwhelming on the African continent we believe through fair trade of our indigenous African resources and knowledge our communities can rise from poverty and become self-sufficient without relying on outside aid. We pay fair wages to members of our certified fair trade coconut cooperative in Klouvi-Donnou Togo and we use the funds from this and our other Alaffia products to conduct our long-term community empowerment projects.
Overall rating:
2.875 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
6
9 out of 16(56%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Alaffia Everyday Coconut Daily Face Lotion SPF 15 -- 12 fl oz
Review 1 for Alaffia Everyday Coconut Daily Face Lotion SPF 15 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Gabarooz
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Technique to avoid white-cast face
 July 19, 2015
"First, place about a dime-sized amount in your hand. Second, rub it between both your hands (rub well). Third, brush some on your cheeks, forehead, nose, chin, and neck. Last, rub it into your skin. I find that this gives my face a fresh look as opposed to white-cast look. Adding too much will definitely give you a white face and this is a way to fix that. The reason I gave this 2 stars is because it isn't really moisturizing, it is only SPF15, the fact that too much of this product will leave a white cast, and because it leaves a white, flaky look on eyebrows/hairline. I'm anxious to get to the bottom of this bottle!!!! (p.s. As a reference I am a tan Latina)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alaffia Everyday Coconut Daily Face Lotion SPF 15 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
YogaGurl
fromMidwest, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
An OK moisturizer
 July 3, 2015
"As a raving fan of the other Alaffia Everyday Coconut products, I do not feel that this product is quite as versatile as the others. I have very fair skin, so the "whiteness" after application does not bother me, but for those with more olive or darker skin tones I can see it would be a problem. I love that it has a sunscreen, but feel that they need to lessen the "whiteness". Sometimes I use the night moisturizer if I am having a make-up free day so my face isn't as pale. It does a good job of keeping my face feeling fresh and non-greasy, so that is a plus, and it is an affordable option for a more natural sunscreen, as well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alaffia Everyday Coconut Daily Face Lotion SPF 15 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
stardustdancer
fromUnicoi, TN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Did not absorb well
 June 4, 2015
"I do not like this product because it left a white film on my skin,
especially after I was starting to tan. I almost want my money back or another product. I use other products by this brand name and love them. This particular cream is NOT acceptable!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alaffia Everyday Coconut Daily Face Lotion SPF 15 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
fromEaston, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Geisha Makeup
 June 1, 2015
"This cream will leave you looking white as a ghost. Reminds me of Asian theater masks. It won't rub in at all and it leaves a white residue on clothing. I really like the Everyday Coconut body lotion but I wouldn't recommend this cream at all."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alaffia Everyday Coconut Daily Face Lotion SPF 15 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
safaral
fromLincoln, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
This product is good
 July 15, 2014
"A good everyday moisturizer for face. Initially turns your face white but eventually soaks in and goes away."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alaffia Everyday Coconut Daily Face Lotion SPF 15 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
JAYBK
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Won't rub in!!
 July 6, 2014
"I don't recommend using this if you are in any way 'tan'. The product is almost impossible to rub in well and leaves my skin looking like I used a foundation that's 3 shades too light. Very disappointed with the product."
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alaffia Everyday Coconut Daily Face Lotion SPF 15 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rayonce
fromSacramento, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
LOVE THIS!
 July 2, 2014
"After the first day of using this face lotion my brother, who never, ever notices anything different about me when it comes to this kind of stuff, said, "Wow, your face looks different, but in a good way". It leaves you with a bright glow and easily absorbs into skin. A little goes a long way, so just a little pump should be fine for your face.
I am really loving all of Everyday Coconut's products.
Highly recommend!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alaffia Everyday Coconut Daily Face Lotion SPF 15 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JessicaH
fromHartsville, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Product
 June 13, 2014
"I have for years used Mary Kay products on my face but this past year every time I'd sweat or my face got really oily the product would make its way into my eyes and burn them so I needed a change. I tried everyday coconut for my new moisturizer and love it. I usually have problems with breaking out when I use moisturizers that's why I stayed with Mary Kay, but this stuff doesn't give me any problems. It also doesn't make my oily skin problem worse, which I was worried about. My only complaint is that it is white and it goes on white so it does tend to wash my skin color out but if you rub it in well that tends to diminish."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alaffia Everyday Coconut Daily Face Lotion SPF 15 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pastrygal
fromnc
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
very nice
 May 18, 2014
"this is the first natural daily face lotion with spf that i haven't had an allergic reaction to. my skin tends to be dry so i do have to use quite a bit. it would probably be ideal for someone with normal to oily skin. i would highly recommend it if you have sensitive skin."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alaffia Everyday Coconut Daily Face Lotion SPF 15 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
worldy
fromAsheville NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Coconut Daily Face Lotion
 April 29, 2014
"This smells wonderful and really softens my skin."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alaffia Everyday Coconut Daily Face Lotion SPF 15 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
infinityduo
fromDurham, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Dried out my skin!
 November 12, 2013
"I bought this because I liked the fact that it contained natural ingredients as well as SPF, but I was so disappointed in this product that I have stopped using it completely. Every time I use it, it dries out my skin almost instantly. I've taken several breaks from using it before giving it another try, but the same thing keeps happening. I don't usually even have problems with dry skin--I actually bought the lotion for the SPF protection!
I even tried it on my arms to see if I had different results, but it dried out the skin there as well!
I have almost a full bottle, so this was a waste of money for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alaffia Everyday Coconut Daily Face Lotion SPF 15 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
fromWestchester, NY
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great protection from sun
 October 14, 2013
"I'm very particular about what I put on my skin. The Natural Ingredients + the Non-Chemical Sunscreen (Zinc Oxide) Is why I love this product so much. Texture wise this product is thick. It did leave a "White Cast", when I first started using It. I'm an Olive color girl, but I figured out how to work this to my advantage. I usually just add some Almond Oil, Coconut Oil etc In my palms & mix It with the Lotion, and No "White Cast". Blends Right In. For the price you can't beat this, last a long time."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alaffia Everyday Coconut Daily Face Lotion SPF 15 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mamavon
fromMaryland
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
great face lotion
 July 14, 2013
"I really like this face lotion! I have fair freckled combination skin and this lotion offers a perfect amount of moisture and sun protection. Like another review said, probably best for fair skinned as it does seem to make even my skin seem 'white' before it soaks in all the way - probably the natural sunscreen ingredients. I like to mix my mineral foundation with a dab of this lotion for a quick tinted moisturizer. Only 4 stars because it does smell a little odd and takes a few minutes to soak in before it 'whiteness' is gone."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alaffia Everyday Coconut Daily Face Lotion SPF 15 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
imogine
fromChapel Hill, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
only for fair skin
 June 28, 2013
"I have olive skin and this made me look ashen--not only was it white, it had a matte finish. Didn't work for me at all. LOVE the night cream!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alaffia Everyday Coconut Daily Face Lotion SPF 15 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
jbear
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great sun protection and moisturizer for the price
 June 10, 2013
"I also didn't like the smell of this lotion at first. I think it is because they add lavender oil, so it has more of a piney smell than a coconut smell to me. But, I got used to it; and now I even like it a little. Natural sunscreens like zinc and titanium dioxide do make lotions a little "stickier." Sometimes I remedy this by adding a wee touch of olive oil. All in all, I'd say you can't beat the price for a fair trade product that is all natural and offers sun protection."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alaffia Everyday Coconut Daily Face Lotion SPF 15 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
spanky52
fromNowhere, Pa
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Coconut daily face lotion
 June 6, 2013
"Yuck! I am very careful about what I put on my skin as far as ingredients and making sure everything is cruelty free. Even tho I thoroughly read the ingredient list and know the company does not test on animals, I cannot recommend the product. It is extremely difficult to get blended in and very sticky to the touch. It is kind of disgusting and has a weird smell. I will not be ordering this product again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.