Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz

Little seeds with lots of power! Enjoy the superfood nutrition of chia in its most mild-tasting mixable form with Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds. What are white chia seeds?  . White verus black chia seeds—what’s the difference? While both varieties of this superfood seed offer big benefits—fiber protein omega-3s vitamins minerals and more—white chia seeds have a slightly milder flavor than black chia seeds making them even easier to blend into your favorite foods and recipes. Plus they’re white which means they’re less noticeable sprinkled on or mixed into dishes (ideal if you’re feeding picky eaters or health-food haters!).  . Where do they come from?  . Just like black chia seeds white chia seeds come from the Salvia hispanica plant a member of the mint family native to Mexico and Guatemala. Chia seeds were a staple for ancient Mayas Incas and Aztecs and considered a superfood even back in the day. The word chia means “strength” in the Mayan language and according to folklore the seeds were prized for their energizing properties.  . How can they be used? Sprinkle on yogurt cereal salad soup and more. Stir them into smoothies shakes or other drinks. Add to batter when making bread muffins or cookies. Mix with water to form a gel – use as a vegan egg replacer. Use chia gel to make salad dressing. Use chia gel to thicken sauces or soups. Why choose Vitacost White Chia seeds? 100% natural non-GMO & vegan. Free of additives and preservatives. 5 grams of fiber + 3 grams of protein per tablespoon. BPA-free jar.  . About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (cGMP).
Overall rating:
4.871 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
31 out of 31(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Review 1 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ladymay
fromRichmond Hill, Ontario
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Excellent value
 August 10, 2014
"Good for everyone and an excellent value. I gave this one to my friend who has problems with constipation, I know this will help her.
I had to order another one for myself don't want to be without Chia so good for you.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mandc94
Great!
 July 30, 2014
"I use these everyday in my cereal and in a host of other foods. Love them!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Limerick
fromLewisburg, W. V.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Chia Seeds
 July 18, 2014
"Using the chia for drinks and salad dressing, It is my first try and having only a few weeks into the infusion haven't noticed a change. Will keep you posted."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GreatOne
fromPortland, oregon
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Great place to buy vitamins.
 July 2, 2014
"I needed more fiber in my diet."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
matildasmom
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great source of fiber
 May 25, 2014
"This makes things regular and keeps them that way, while providing nutrition too."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
flaxoil
good and fresh tasting
 April 29, 2014
"Good quality I've tried several producers of Chia and this is one of the best"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Khorn
fromFlorida
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
New to Chis
 April 20, 2014
"I have seen chia seeds before and was worried about trying them due to the quantity and price. These were/are perfect. The white chia seeds do not have that distinct chia flavor so, that was a plus. I definitely recommend."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chefa
fromPittsburgh,Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
LOVE IT!
 April 8, 2014
"The white chia makes beautiful chia pudding! It thickens soup and sauce naturally and is NON GMO!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
amigo
fromSonora, Ca. 95370
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
chia seeds are a nutrient powerhouse
 March 24, 2014
"Vitacost Non GMO chia seeds are top quality. I grind them for a few seconds in a blender, and store them in a tightly closed container in the freezer to preserve their nutrients."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
momof4crzybz
fromIdaho
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
A Great Cupboard Addition
 March 2, 2014
"I wasn't sure this small container would last me very long, but it does. It is worth the price!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Willow1584
fromPA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great on Cereal or Granola
 February 24, 2014
"After reading how great chia seeds are for your overall health, I started adding them to my cereal or granola every morning. I had purchased these white chia seeds because at the time, they were new and featured at 40% off making them a steal compared to any other brand.
These seeds are white, which I don't know if that makes any difference over the brown/black ones. They're small, and hard until they soak up liquid, which takes 15-20 minutes.
The go so well in any granola and many cereals. They'll stick to the cereal instead of all sinking to the bottom.
Chia seeds have only a mild flavor, a little nutty. They don't drastically change the flavor of what you add them to, so it's easy to add them.
My concern about this particular chia seed is that thy are not organic. I prefer organic.
The packaging for these chia seeds is great. You can just screw off the top and spoon out how much you want. Very easy whether it's full or empty."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JKLA
fromPhoenix
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Another Great Product from Vitacost
 February 7, 2014
"Use it in my morning juice along with the Flax seed from Vitacost - love them both!!! Great job Vitacost!!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GaPeach
fromGa
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
New chia seed user
 January 18, 2014
"In trying to eat a more healthy diet I am now incorporating chia seeds into smoothies, making individual servings of pudding and today discovered that if I put a tablespoon into a cup of hot chocolate, waited a few minutes for the seeds to expand, it makes a nice snack drink that fills me up enough that it satisifes my urge to eat something."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
amypalooza
fromVirginia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Chia Pudding
 January 15, 2014
"If you take 1/3 cup of white chia seeds, 1 1/2 cups milk and 2 tbsp maple syrup...put it in a jar...shake it up and leave it in the fridge for at least four hours...just like tapioca pudding! So Good!"
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glutino
fromWI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
So good for you!
 January 15, 2014
"Chia seeds are so good for you! I love adding them to our breakfast shake. Remember, to keep them in fridge after opening."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mailforava
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
GREAT PRODUCT, SO MANY USES!
 January 14, 2014
"I put this in my green smoothies, you can also make homemade puddings and jams with it (as it thickens as it sits). Very simple recipes needing very few ingredients. Great health benefits--fiber, omegas, etc. Superfood. Enjoy!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
katmb
Nice size for the price
 January 13, 2014
"I put this in my smoothies and oatmeal. It is a great product!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Magdi
Great tasty seeds
 January 8, 2014
"I love these seeds.
Great nutrition values.
I am adding a tablespoon a day to my breakfast, and to cooking too.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Daylili
fromAlbany GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great source of Omega 3s
 December 19, 2013
"Great source of Omega 3s and fiber. I use about a tablespoon in my protein shake every morning."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DLORI
fromNorth Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good
 December 7, 2013
"I have heard this is great for your liver, so I eat them."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next