Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Chia Seeds or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz

Little seeds with lots of power! Enjoy the superfood nutrition of chia in its most mild-tasting mixable form with Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds. What are white chia seeds?  . White verus black chia seeds—what’s the difference? While both varieties of this superfood seed offer big benefits—fiber protein omega-3s vitamins minerals and more—white chia seeds have a slightly milder flavor than black chia seeds making them even easier to blend into your favorite foods and recipes. Plus they’re white which means they’re less noticeable sprinkled on or mixed into dishes (ideal if you’re feeding picky eaters or health-food haters!).  . Where do they come from?  . Just like black chia seeds white chia seeds come from the Salvia hispanica plant a member of the mint family native to Mexico and Guatemala. Chia seeds were a staple for ancient Mayas Incas and Aztecs and considered a superfood even back in the day. The word chia means “strength” in the Mayan language and according to folklore the seeds were prized for their energizing properties.  . How can they be used? Sprinkle on yogurt cereal salad soup and more. Stir them into smoothies shakes or other drinks. Add to batter when making bread muffins or cookies. Mix with water to form a gel – use as a vegan egg replacer. Use chia gel to make salad dressing. Use chia gel to thicken sauces or soups. Why choose Vitacost White Chia seeds? 100% natural non-GMO & vegan. Free of additives and preservatives. 5 grams of fiber + 3 grams of protein per tablespoon. BPA-free jar.  . About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (cGMP).
Overall rating:
4.913 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Review 1 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Khorn
fromFlorida
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
New to Chis
 April 20, 2014
"I have seen chia seeds before and was worried about trying them due to the quantity and price. These were/are perfect. The white chia seeds do not have that distinct chia flavor so, that was a plus. I definitely recommend."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chefa
fromPittsburgh,Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
LOVE IT!
 April 8, 2014
"The white chia makes beautiful chia pudding! It thickens soup and sauce naturally and is NON GMO!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
amigo
fromSonora, Ca. 95370
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
chia seeds are a nutrient powerhouse
 March 24, 2014
"Vitacost Non GMO chia seeds are top quality. I grind them for a few seconds in a blender, and store them in a tightly closed container in the freezer to preserve their nutrients."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
momof4crzybz
fromIdaho
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
A Great Cupboard Addition
 March 2, 2014
"I wasn't sure this small container would last me very long, but it does. It is worth the price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Willow1584
fromPA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great on Cereal or Granola
 February 24, 2014
"After reading how great chia seeds are for your overall health, I started adding them to my cereal or granola every morning. I had purchased these white chia seeds because at the time, they were new and featured at 40% off making them a steal compared to any other brand.
These seeds are white, which I don't know if that makes any difference over the brown/black ones. They're small, and hard until they soak up liquid, which takes 15-20 minutes.
The go so well in any granola and many cereals. They'll stick to the cereal instead of all sinking to the bottom.
Chia seeds have only a mild flavor, a little nutty. They don't drastically change the flavor of what you add them to, so it's easy to add them.
My concern about this particular chia seed is that thy are not organic. I prefer organic.
The packaging for these chia seeds is great. You can just screw off the top and spoon out how much you want. Very easy whether it's full or empty."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JKLA
fromPhoenix
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Another Great Product from Vitacost
 February 7, 2014
"Use it in my morning juice along with the Flax seed from Vitacost - love them both!!! Great job Vitacost!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GaPeach
fromGa
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
New chia seed user
 January 18, 2014
"In trying to eat a more healthy diet I am now incorporating chia seeds into smoothies, making individual servings of pudding and today discovered that if I put a tablespoon into a cup of hot chocolate, waited a few minutes for the seeds to expand, it makes a nice snack drink that fills me up enough that it satisifes my urge to eat something."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
amypalooza
fromVirginia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Chia Pudding
 January 15, 2014
"If you take 1/3 cup of white chia seeds, 1 1/2 cups milk and 2 tbsp maple syrup...put it in a jar...shake it up and leave it in the fridge for at least four hours...just like tapioca pudding! So Good!"
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glutino
fromWI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
So good for you!
 January 15, 2014
"Chia seeds are so good for you! I love adding them to our breakfast shake. Remember, to keep them in fridge after opening."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mailforava
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
GREAT PRODUCT, SO MANY USES!
 January 14, 2014
"I put this in my green smoothies, you can also make homemade puddings and jams with it (as it thickens as it sits). Very simple recipes needing very few ingredients. Great health benefits--fiber, omegas, etc. Superfood. Enjoy!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
katmb
Nice size for the price
 January 13, 2014
"I put this in my smoothies and oatmeal. It is a great product!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Magdi
Great tasty seeds
 January 8, 2014
"I love these seeds.
Great nutrition values.
I am adding a tablespoon a day to my breakfast, and to cooking too.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Daylili
fromAlbany GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great source of Omega 3s
 December 19, 2013
"Great source of Omega 3s and fiber. I use about a tablespoon in my protein shake every morning."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DLORI
fromNorth Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good
 December 7, 2013
"I have heard this is great for your liver, so I eat them."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
flygrrl
Age:35-44
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
My first Chia Seed product
 December 6, 2013
"I read about chia seeds and their many health benefits. Then, I noticed how often they were being used in GF smoothies and in some dessert recipes. I bought these and have tried them once. Convenient container as the seeds are small and have a tendency to spill easily. The taste was neutral - nothing of note, and it was fine on cold cereal. It makes whatever it's in gelatinous, and has fiber."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
alismile
fromBeaver Dam
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great product!
 December 2, 2013
"This is the first time I bought White Chia Seeds. It's a great product!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Normajean
fromNY, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Yummy chia variety
 November 29, 2013
"Superfood chia can be added to foods like salad, baked things, sandwiches, soups, and shakes, SO GOOD for you!"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kefoodle
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great way to get fiber
 November 20, 2013
"First I stocked up when these were on sale. I use all day long. They go into my Greek yogurt for breakfast, my protein shake at lunch, land into any casserole I am making. I even added them to pumpkin pie custard a few times, and my dinner guests loved the dessert. These little super-food seeds go anywhere because they don't impart a distinct flavor to the foods to which they are added. Just remember to floss/irrigate after eating as they like to hide between teeth."
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
H888
fromCairns australia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
White Chia Seeds
 November 19, 2013
"Love this product!,,"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Whole Food White Chia Seeds - Non GMO -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LiveWise
fromOhio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Product
 November 18, 2013
"I love Vitacost Chia Seeds! They are 100% natural, non-GMO & vegan, as well as free of additives and preservatives! They are competitively priced as well!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next