Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Frontier Natural Products Whole Elder-European Berries -- 16 oz

Sambucus nigra. Herbal Supplement. Non-Irradiated. Kosher. Elderberries are dark purple fruits with a sweet-tart fruity flavor. They make tasty warming winter cordials teas syrups and wines. Elderberries contain bioflavonoids and vitamin C.
Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Frontier Natural Products Whole Elder-European Berries -- 16 oz
Review 1 for Frontier Natural Products Whole Elder-European Berries -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JillOAT
fromKauai, Hawaii
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Recipe for Elderberry Syrup
 January 24, 2016
"I saved this recipe from another Vitacost contributer:
*****ELDERBERRY SYRUP*****
I ordered these so I could make my own Organic Elderberry Syrup (aka Sambucus). The organic store brands (I don't even bother with non organic) usually have an ingredient or two that I don't want to consume.
I used a recipe I found on MountainRoseHerbs(dot)com. Not only was it really easy to make, I only had to use 1/2 cup of berries, making several small jars of delicious syrup!
When I think of how expensive it is for a little jar of store bought syrup, making my own with my own ingredients in my own kitchen is a no brainer!
I don't expect I will need another 1lb bag for a while, but when I do, I'll be getting these.
Recipe:
1C Fresh OR 1/2C Dried Blue or Black Elderberries (Note: Red Berries are poisonous)
3C Water
1C Raw Honey
1 Cinnamon Stick
3 Cloves
Ginger to taste (fresh or powdered)
Place berries, water & spices in a saucepan. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat & simmer for 30 minutes. Smash berries to release remaining juice & strain the mixture. Allow to cool & stir in honey. Syrup will last 2 - 3 months stored in the refrigerator.
Enjoy!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Frontier Natural Products Whole Elder-European Berries -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pamsplace00
fromTN
Gender:Female
AAAA ****
 January 20, 2016
"excellent product...anyone care to share their recipe for elderberry syrup?
TIA
Pam
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Frontier Natural Products Whole Elder-European Berries -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Godsjoy
Great price & berries
 January 20, 2016
"I purchase dried elderberries to make my own Elderberry Syrup. The last time I was running low, I found Vitacost had the best price. Thanks so much Vitacost!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Frontier Natural Products Whole Elder-European Berries -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snooks1951
fromMaryland
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Product
 December 2, 2015
"I use this for elderberry syrup - great berries for this!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Frontier Natural Products Whole Elder-European Berries -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kacki
fromAZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good Quality Berries
 April 3, 2015
"I use these in teas and to make elderberry syrup and tincture."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Frontier Natural Products Whole Elder-European Berries -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BluWolf
fromNorthern Virginia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Flavoring for My Kombucha
 April 3, 2015
"I use these in my k-tea--they're perfect for the second-ferment along with some ginger."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Frontier Natural Products Whole Elder-European Berries -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
smittenheart
Great for making elderberry syrup!
 November 3, 2014
"This is a staple in my house.I love to make elderberry syrup and this is the only one I use. The quality is great and the price is awesome."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Frontier Natural Products Whole Elder-European Berries -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ashleyeln
fromTN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Excellent
 March 10, 2014
"Great price, lots of berries. Have used them for several recipes and still have some left over."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Frontier Natural Products Whole Elder-European Berries -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
karsmile
Great price!
 March 4, 2014
"Vitacost has a great price. We make our own elderberry syrup.
This is worth the buy. Will keep on buying this.
"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Frontier Natural Products Whole Elder-European Berries -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
scmommyto4
fromSouth Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 February 1, 2014
"I make my own Elderberry syrup. Love the fact that Vitacost sells it at an awesome price , and shipping is super fast. Great quality elderberries!"
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Frontier Natural Products Whole Elder-European Berries -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
velavalerie3
fromMilwaukee, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
good product!
 December 15, 2013
"love this, great price, good quality berries : )"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Frontier Natural Products Whole Elder-European Berries -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cmans6282
fromUSA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this product
 October 7, 2013
"A natural source of vitamin C (versus Ascorbic Acid). Also using AMLA tablets. Great in tea."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Frontier Natural Products Whole Elder-European Berries -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kwaz
fromMoosup, CT
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Buy on the flavor not just the benefit
 May 18, 2013
"A very dark, rich berry tea that I drink in the evening (when caffeine is inappropriate) for taste never mind the healthful benefits. Almost like berry juice. You'll be hooked if you try it once."
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Frontier Natural Products Whole Elder-European Berries -- 16 oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product