Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Vitacost Brand Promo or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box

Discover the "Be Pretty" box which could contain anti-aging products lotions face creams and all things that can make anyone feel pampered and pretty from the leading beauty and personal care brands you're familiar with and from new ones! Each month we offer a surprise box of samples and full-size items to give you a taste of the newest and most popular beauty and personal care products. The "Be Pretty" Box can include anti-aging products lotions face creams shampoos conditioners vitamins and supplements and much much more - everything you need to Be Pretty. Shipping is FREE. Also be on the lookout for coupons or other special offers included with the delivery of your Be Pretty Box. And be sure to put your Be Pretty Box on Set & Save so you'll never miss a shipment! Please note the following about the "Be Pretty" box:. Not all Be Pretty boxes contain the same samples and contents may vary. Due to the nature of the contents in the box the Be Pretty box is a non-refundable item. The Be Pretty Box cannot be shipped to customers living outside the contiguous United States. The Be Pretty Box may contain food and skin allergens. If you have allergies please check with the product manufacturers for detailed ingredient information before using these products. Box Dimensions: 6 x 6 x 6. The Be Box products are not gender- or age-specific. The Be Box Series is all about discovering new products. We hope you love everything in your box but if you don't please pass the item on to a friend or family member or donate it to your favorite charitable organization.
Overall rating:
2.441 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(143 reviews) 142
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 143 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
13
1 Star
73
56 out of 143(39%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box
Review 41 for Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
KathrynT
fromproud to be from Oklahoma
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
don't buy this
 June 13, 2013
"The value in this box is the packaging that I may use in a gift sack! This is the first time I've ever been ripped off by Vitacost. This was my first time to order the be pretty box-thanks for the tea bags! Maybe I'll try it again next month. When they read all these bad reviews I hope they might try a little harder! I feel like a chump!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
AlliCat
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Disappointed.
 June 13, 2013
"I was really excited to receive the Be Pretty box. I've had a monthly subscription to another monthly beauty box for over a year, and thought I'd check this one out for comparison. Since there's no ability to "personalize" this box (based on age, preferences, skin type, etc.) I anticipated a generic and varied product selection.
My box contained the following:
(10) St. Dalfour tea bags,
(4) Redmond toothpaste packets 3gm/each,
(1) Supersmile Quickee Whitening Breath Freshening packet,
(1) Sparklehearts shampoo packet,
(1) Sparklehearts sparkly body lotion packet,
(1) Burts Bees Intense Hydration Day Lotion 0.25oz/7gm.,
(1) Atopalm Intense Moisturizing Cream 0.25oz/8ml.,
(1) Acure Argan Oil 5ml.
Based on another customer's review, I guess the 'ear candles' I found in my package must be associated with the Be Pretty box, as well -- since I didn't order them.
I'm not seeing the "value" in this box. At all. The tea was unexpected. Most of the samples are tiny packets -- not even deluxe/generous samples. The Burt's Bees and Atopalm moisturizers are both intended for dry skin, which won't work for me. The only sample I'm likely to use is the tiny vial of Acure Argan oil. (So, basically, I paid $13.99 for 1-2 uses of Argan oil.)
Just...disappointed. Honestly, I've received better samples from other retailers for free."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Smam
fromDallas, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Disappointed
 June 13, 2013
"I expect that when I am willing to pay $14 for products that I am blindly sampling, that the collection of mystery products will value at LEAST what I paid. The way this should work is for the products to be valued at MORE than what the customer pays as a reward for good faith in purchasing unknown products. This box I just received had one full-size product, which were ear candles. Everything else was a smattering of tea bags, natural toothpaste samples, a 2 oz lotion, .25 oz atopalm jar, and 5 ml Moroccan oil sample. In my opinion, this was very, very skimpy and not worth $14. I won't be buying a Be Box again, which makes me very unhappy because I was really excited by the whole idea."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
DisappointedinAL
fromAL
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Have to step up your game, Vitacost
 June 13, 2013
"I purchased the April Be Pretty box and was glad to get it. So, I was looking forward to May's box. For some reason, they didn't have any. (Weird.) So...I just decided to wait until June's box and was getting so excited about it. I was utterly disappointed. Not worth the price at all. Even now, your site shows that the box contains Hugo lotion (which I didn't even get in my box). Sheer disappointment. I have signed up with another eco-friendly monthly subscription that has consistently good reviews out there."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
TipTess
fromPittsburgh
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Utter Disappointment
 June 13, 2013
"This box of assorted nothings was not worth the price and certainly not a "value". Tea? Toothpaste packets? Will never buy again."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Chevysamara
fromRUSSIA, Volga-Matushka
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
They show - inside June be pretty* just trash!
 June 13, 2013
"It will be good, if vitacost refund the money for June be pretty. Because it`ll show - how they appreciate us-their clients. Because all 100 % rewievs of June be pretty are bad&awful. Not even only one neutral."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
savvymom3
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Terrible June Box
 June 13, 2013
"If you're like me who did not receive a May BePretty Box due to inventory sell out, and have been waiting excitedly for the June Box then (also like me) you will be sorely disappointed! I cannot believe Vitacost is charging customers $13.99 for some packets of tea and toothpaste samples. Oh, sorry I am forgetting the micro-ounce size sample of burt's bees moisturizer. Save your money & don't order this rip-off item! It's not even worth half this price."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
HeatherVitacost
Not Worth It...at least not this month
 June 13, 2013
"I'm not sure that I even got $13.99 worth of stuff, let alone $40. I got about ten bags organic tea, which I was expecting (nor wanting) in the "Be Pretty" box. It wasn't even some type of exotic blend that I would be interested in trying in a sample box. Just regularl old green tea. Then I got three tiny samples of lotion/oil. 4 individual size samples of toothpaste. Two tiny samples of body glitter stuff for little girls. And one tiny sample of teeth whitening stuff. The only cool thing was a White Egret Paraffin, although, there are no directions, so I'm not even sure what this is for (I'll google it.)
After reading the reviews, I was really looking forward to this box, but I was disappointed. Maybe it was just a bad month?"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
crea
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
bad June box
 June 13, 2013
"As others have commented already, the June box is a rip off for the price, 2 tiny samples of moisturizers, 1 tiny argan oil, tea bags and a few packets of toothpaste; if we bought the tiny sample of moisturizers separately, it would have cost less per oz than the box. I had seen reviews and youtube videos for the other boxes, and they contained much more and a bigger variety of products on a ok size."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
healthygal7
fromBellingham, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Pretty disappointing box
 June 13, 2013
"I got the Be Pretty box a couple of months back that was great, the one with the moisturizer, eye gel, soaps, lip gloss, balm stick, etc. That one was definitely a great deal.
This month's was not good. A bunch of tea samples and tiny cream samples, with one full size item if you can call it that. Too bad, since I was looking forward to another awesome box.
I'd probably be wary of getting it again after this.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
SWTNNurse
fromTennessee
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
My kit was not worth it
 June 13, 2013
"I love Vitacost so I ordered the Be Pretty box after reading the reviews. When I got the box I had 10 tea bags, 2 ear candle waxes, 5 small packets of toothpaste trials and 3 very small containers of hand lotion. There was nothing in there that seemed appropriate to "pretty". So I called to inquire about returning it and got an authorization number. However, I have to return it at my expense. Those that received a good box are very lucky. I was so disappointed."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
windermerewmn
fromWindermere, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Awful
 June 13, 2013
"After ordering two of the previous boxes, one for me and one for a gift, this was a major disappointment. Worst experience ever from a subscription/mystery box service. Too bad, I love Vitacost but this was a big misstep on their part."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Strawberries
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I'm dissapointed
 June 13, 2013
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"I read all the great reviews about previous months' boxes, and was so excited to get my June Be Pretty Box. Well, it came today, and I am very disappointed.
Here is what it contained: 11 tea bags, four single-use packs of toothpaste/ breath-freshener, one single use pack of shampoo and lotion, a .5 ml sample of argan oil, .25 oz sample of Burt's Bees day lotion, .25 oz sample of Atopalm Intensive Moisturizing cream, and a two pack of ear candles. There were no full-size products.
I don't understand how some of these things even fall under the "Be Pretty" category. Toothpaste, ear candles and tea bags aren't beauty products. In addition, ear candling is at best useless, and at worst, dangerous.
I included a photo of the contents of my box. This was a very bad purchase, and I regret it. These boxes are non-refundable, by the way."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
vivster
fromMarlboro, NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Very disappointed
 June 12, 2013
"I would have given 0 stars if that was an option. Had seen earlier reviews of getting full sized products so I decided to order it. Will never order this again after getting June's box. Not sure why organic teabags would be put in a "Pretty" box. Seems to be more fitting for a "Healthy" box instead. Samples of toothpaste, thumb-sized argan oil and other small samples so not worth $14. I'm exerting my right to get a refund and will probably net $4 after paying for shipping. The only people making money off this transaction are Mr. UPS and Ms. US Postal service."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
hil64
fromIllinois
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
disappointing
 June 12, 2013
"I waited for a while to finally get a Be Pretty box, always sold out before. So today I finally got it and it was somewhat disappointing. I guess I should have read some of the reviews....No full sized products, a whole bunch of tea bags. I like tea, but it shouldn't be in this particular box. I like the Altopalm and Burts Bees samples, and the mini argan oil will come in handy as well. Overall not woth the wait for me."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
oustephanie
Major Letdown
 June 12, 2013
"I loved my first Be Box - Be Well. It contained great samples as well as full sized supplements. I had heard rave reviews about the Be Pretty box. So, I was thrilled to finally get my hands on one. Nonetheless, I think my sighs of disappointment were audible down the street. These were foil samples I could have popped in and gotten at my local health stores. No need to pay $14. And bagged tea? I can see where tea may fit into "Be Pretty" but not cheapo bagged tea. Will definitely NOT order this box again. I truly feel like I was cheated. What a bummer."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lovecat
Very disappointed
 June 12, 2013
"Just received the June box. I had such high hopes after reading so many good reviews. But I was really disappointed once I opened the box. The quantity and selection of samples are poor. The size of samples are very small, like free samples you can get in any drug stores, nothing special. There are only very few beauty product samples, the rest of them are TEA BAGS!!!! I was not expecting tea bags in the Be Pretty box!! The total value of the whole box at best is worth the $13.99, but for sure no more. I don't know what happened. It seems the quality of the Be Pretty box is changed. I ordered set and save on this box. I will give it another month. If the quality stays the same then I will cancel and never order again."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
lana619
fromSuffolk, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Seriously?
 June 12, 2013
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have waited three months to try this box, as it was out of stock every time I tried to purchase it. After reading the rave reviews on here, I was SO excited when I finally snagged one this month! I have been anticipating opening the box, even though I was a little worried since the past few Be Well and Be Fit boxes had left much to be desired. I thought surely the Be Pretty box would be different since it had received such high marks.
Boy, was I wrong.
Every review I had read had said over and over again there were several full sized products in addition to the many samples received. Someone must have forgotten to add the full size product(s) to my box, because I did not receive not ONE.
The full list of what I received today:
1- Supersmile Quickee whitening breath freshening on the go TINY sachet. 0.05 oz
1- Atopalm 0.25 oz intensive moisturizing cream
1- Sparklehearts Shine Shampoo sachet packet-no size noted
1- Sparklehearts Sparkly Body Lotion sachet packet-no size noted
1- Burt's Bees sample jar Day Lotion with Clary Sage 0.25 oz
1- Earthpaste for Kids Amazingly Natural Toothpaste sachet packet 3 grams
3-Earthpaste for Adults Amazingly Natural Toothpaste sachet packets
5- St. Dalfour Organic Classic Breakfast Tea teabag sachet. .07 oz each.
5- St. Dalfour Organic Golden Mango Green Tea teabag sachet .07 oz. each.
That's it. Yes, you read that right...See below for the picture proof. Again, not one full sized product, only tiny samples that in NO way even met the cost of $13.99.
To add insult to injury, when I opened my Be Fit box (which DID include several full sized products), there were the same tea bags. Yay. Now I have 20 tea bags that I will probably never use. Not that I don't expect to receive some items that I won't or can't use, I do,I really do. It's just that I would think the company would realize that customers who are buying more than one box aren't interested in receiving the same items in what are supposed to be different types of boxes. This isn't a fluke, either. For the past two months I've gotten multiple bottles of fish oils by the same company. Perhaps a different variety, but still...how many bottles of fish oil can one have at a time?
I still believe in Vitacost, and it's still one of my favorite places to buy supplements and other items for my family. I just hope this doesn't happen again next month or it's goodbye Be Boxes for me."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
BoboC
fromChicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Don't buy!
 June 12, 2013
"Based on so many good reviews, I purchased Be pretty box for the first time and I totally regretted it.
See what I received : 10 tea bags, 3 sample-size cream/oil in small jars, 4 small packets of earth paste, 1 small packets of shampoo and 1 small packet of body lotion. There is NO full-size product except a pair of ear candle (who will use ear candle at home?). That's all! Definitely not worth it for the price I paid. Will not buy again."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Vitacost Be Box Be Pretty -- 1 Box
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Snoopie
Gender:Female
Okay box
 June 12, 2013
"I was really looking forward to trying this box, given all the rave reviews and reports of full-sized products. There were no full-sized products in the June box, and the samples were just okay. They included 10 tea bags, which seemed odd to me, since they were not at all beauty-related--just regular (organic) tea. They also included a packet of sparkly body lotion, which I won't be using since I'm past the age of 12. The best part of the box was a 5 ml sample of argan oil. Overall, I admit I am a bit disappointed; I would much rather have had actual beauty products to try instead of tea. The contents do not add up to a $70 value, but more like the actual price of the box ($14). It's a fair price for what you get, but I won't be trying another box."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next