Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Tea or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Alvita Milk Thistle Tea Caffeine Free -- 24 Tea Bags Each / Pack of 2

Milk Thistle Tea Bags. Caffeine Free. Native to the Mediterranean region Milk Thistle (Silybum marianum) is indigenous to both western and central Europe and is now found in the United States. An annual or biennial herb growing up to 10 feet tall Milk Thistle has a large bright purple flowering head. It is often considered a pesky weed. It gains its name from the milk white veins that streak its prickly-edged leaves. The plant contains the natural chemical substance Silymarin an active constituent highly concentrated in the fruit but also found in the seeds and leaves. Milk Thistle has been used as both a food and a health aid for hundreds of years. it makes a delicious salad green and cooked vegetable as well as a wholesome tea. For more than 75 years long before it became fashionable Alvita was championing the profound health-giving properties of herbal teas. Alvita travels to the far reaches of the globe for the finest herbs the best growers the most precious sources. Small wonder that so many consumers trust the Alvita name. Today it stands for more than 100 different teas including classic single herb varieties and our unique Alvita blends. The package you hold in your hand combines ancient herbal wisdom with modern science and brings to you all the richness and benefits of herbal teas. This philosophy is the very reason why you will find sensible English pillow style tea bags that are oxygen bleached not chlorine treated. And why you won't find any strings tags or staples. We thank you for choosing our product but more importantly we thank you for the trust you've put in the herbal values that we all share. Alvita. Natural Herb Teas that are Good for You and the Environment.
Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 24(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Alvita Milk Thistle Tea Caffeine Free -- 24 Tea Bags Each / Pack of 2
Review 1 for Alvita Milk Thistle Tea Caffeine Free -- 24 Tea Bags Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jlmp
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great over all
 April 26, 2013
"Have been using this with dandelion root tea and green tea to regulate cycles and has been working great! the first thing that has been working for(have tried progesterone cream, taking out all soy and toxins going completely organic and juice fasting for a month, etc, etc) Finally this worked and also worked for someone else i know. Also best price around"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alvita Milk Thistle Tea Caffeine Free -- 24 Tea Bags Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
HealthyLivng
fromMI
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Not overpowering flavor good!
 December 29, 2012
"Nothing extremely potent tasting here so if your worried about a bad taste don't be. Vitacost definitely has the best price my local store was selling one box for over $5!!! Good product!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alvita Milk Thistle Tea Caffeine Free -- 24 Tea Bags Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
runnergirl999
fromTampa Bay, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good clean product
 December 11, 2012
"I have used different brands of Milk Thistle tea before and this by far is my favorite. It steeps well, the bags hold up well and I don't get "floaty stuff" in my tea water."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alvita Milk Thistle Tea Caffeine Free -- 24 Tea Bags Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MoniH
Milk Thistle is da bomb
 January 8, 2012
"I love Milk Thistle tea, great taste and great for you."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alvita Milk Thistle Tea Caffeine Free -- 24 Tea Bags Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
illey13
fromCape Girardeau, MO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 December 2, 2011
"I like to try new things so with my order I selected the Milk Thistle Tea. My husband tried it and just loves it....It is caffeine free and this is also a plus."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alvita Milk Thistle Tea Caffeine Free -- 24 Tea Bags Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Taste:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Abbah
fromMassachusetts
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Didn't meet my expectations for taste
 February 3, 2011
"It produced a very weak flavored tea even when I never removed the teabag."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alvita Milk Thistle Tea Caffeine Free -- 24 Tea Bags Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Turboshopper
fromNorthern California
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Way to Detox
 June 26, 2010
"I drink a cup of this tea every morning, and I feel much more energetic. This tea has a mild taste and doesn't upset my stomach at all. Milk Thistle is a good way to help your liver if you take prescription medications or over the counter medications."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alvita Milk Thistle Tea Caffeine Free -- 24 Tea Bags Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Taste:
1 / 5
1 / 5
CJsmom
fromBozeman, MT
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Not very good taste
 April 17, 2010
"This does not taste or smell very good to me. The good news is that it is a mild taste so if it is mixed with another tea such as peppermint you will not really taste it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alvita Milk Thistle Tea Caffeine Free -- 24 Tea Bags Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
strosdegoz
fromSanto Domingo, Dominican Republic
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good taste!
 April 10, 2010
"I buy several teas from Vitacost and I like this one because of the taste, is not strong but you can enjoy it nicely without any sugar."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alvita Milk Thistle Tea Caffeine Free -- 24 Tea Bags Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saraswati
fromVermont
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
yummy tea
 February 11, 2010
"have not tasted milk thistle tea before--but I love it! gently sweet, no bitterness... just wish it were organically grown..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alvita Milk Thistle Tea Caffeine Free -- 24 Tea Bags Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vito58
Would buy again
 October 23, 2009
"I have heard how good this is for your liver. It doesn't taste too bad and no caffeine allows me to have before bed. No comments from my liver about its effectiveness."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alvita Milk Thistle Tea Caffeine Free -- 24 Tea Bags Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gomer
fromValley, AL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Pick Me Up!
 July 11, 2009
"If people knew the benefits of Milk Thistle tea, they wouldn't want to be without it. I feel great whenever I drink it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alvita Milk Thistle Tea Caffeine Free -- 24 Tea Bags Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
FitnessFan
Tasty Tea
 June 30, 2009
"This light tasting tea seems to help keep me regular. I would prefer the tea bags were individually wrapped, but for the price, I'm happy with the tea."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alvita Milk Thistle Tea Caffeine Free -- 24 Tea Bags Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
RawIsHealthy
fromarizona
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
bland taste
 January 19, 2009
"i decided to give this a world. Alvita produces great teas. this tends to be on the bland side."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alvita Milk Thistle Tea Caffeine Free -- 24 Tea Bags Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lenarta
fromHawaii
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Mild and relaxing
 October 14, 2008
"I ordered this tea as a supplemental source of milk thistle plus a good night time tea with no caffeine. That's just what I got and I like it. It's so mild and almost completely colorless but when I sip it, my throat and chest relax. I think I'll go have a cup right now!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alvita Milk Thistle Tea Caffeine Free -- 24 Tea Bags Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dbunne
fromOhio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Healthy habit
 August 13, 2008
"This is an excellent product. The taste is so mild I've been adding mint leaves for more flavor. If you do any research on milk thistle you'll find so many benefits that it couldn't hurt to add it to the list of things you do to stay healthy. I started drinking it to ease symptoms of a cranky gall bladder. It's worked great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Alvita Milk Thistle Tea Caffeine Free -- 24 Tea Bags Each / Pack of 2
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
8 out of 8 recommend this product