Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Flours Meals & Grains or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Bob's Red Mill Whole Hull-Less Barley -- 26 oz Each / Pack of 2

Premium Quality Whole Grain. Friend of the Heart. Kosher. Most common varieties of barley require mechanical and abrasive removal of the tenacious hull covering. This process also removes most of the bran layer and germ. Bob's Red Mill Whole Grain Barley is grown from an ancient variety that grows in a loose hull called hull-less barley. It comes to you whole and complete with all its nutrition. Use it in most recipes that call for pearl barley.
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 10(80%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Whole Hull-Less Barley -- 26 oz Each / Pack of 2
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Hull-Less Barley -- 26 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TXrosie
fromcedar park texas
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 September 29, 2013
"Until you try the whole hullless barley you haven't really got to enjoy the nutty flavor -- good for side dishes (I add liquid aminos) and really good as hot cereal too"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Hull-Less Barley -- 26 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meac
fromColorado
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great replacement for rice or noodles!
 April 27, 2013
"We have had barley for the past week almost every night. My husband like it cooked in a slow cooker."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Hull-Less Barley -- 26 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Trishea
fromAntwerp, NY
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 December 23, 2012
"Ordered the wrong thing. Without the hull it is mushy."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Hull-Less Barley -- 26 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
WA9465
fromHilton Head Island, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Hearty barley, but a little chewy
 December 22, 2012
"Enjoy barley & appreciate less processed, whole grain benefits. I use a microwave steamer to cook barley & it seemed that this barley started to get mushy while still being chewy. I've had other barleys I liked better"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Hull-Less Barley -- 26 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ArielAnn
fromUP MI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love this yummy barely
 December 18, 2012
"If you love pearled barley...you will LOVE this stuff. A bit more in common with oat groats in consitency, and just as yummy. Love the chewy texture. I always soak my grains for hours to a day before I cook them. Cooks so much better that way."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Hull-Less Barley -- 26 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mommyrx
fromOhio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best barley
 December 6, 2012
"I have tried Bob's pearl barley and hull-less barley. Hull-less is far superior to pearl barley. More protein too. I do cook it longer. It is crunchier and requires less water in recipes. It expands much less."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Hull-Less Barley -- 26 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
singlefella
fromBatesville, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Might be me
 November 30, 2012
"First time to try barley and for me it is not what I expected. I did not care for the texture or flavor. Seemed to be a quality product and Vitacost delivery was great as usual."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Hull-Less Barley -- 26 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
swanjame
Gender:Male
Better than pearled.
 November 16, 2012
"I like the way that this hull-less barley maintains the whole-grain feel and texture through the cooking process. It mixes well with other grains. A very delicious treat for the barley lover.
Jim"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Hull-Less Barley -- 26 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fasttyper
Just love this product
 November 13, 2012
"I would buy this again and again, and only from Vitacost"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Hull-Less Barley -- 26 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Byrds
fromsuburban Pensacola, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Online Orders are the best.
 October 7, 2011
"I buy whole grain cereal on a continuing basis & rely on being able to order like this.
And this wholegrain hull less barley cereal, I can't even find elsewhere.
For me not having to drive 15 miles to a natural grocer is the best; I can get almost any & everything online at Vitacost."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.