Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Ener-G Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3

Wheat Free • Gluten Free • Dairy Free. Since 1962 when we first created low protein products for renal pre-dialysis patients we have striven to meet the challenging requirements for diet restricted consumers. We not only offer wheat free gluten free products but also products for low protein diets egg free and dairy free products. Our bakery is dedicated to wheat free gluten free baking guaranteeing that contamination from gluten will not occur. Our innovative packaging gives our products a 1-year shelf life without the need for refrigeration. We bake our products as orders are received to insure that the freshest product is available. Our bread is kept fresh through a highly developed vacuum packing process and guaranteed until each best before date on the package. With a long shelf life you can enjoy your favorites continuously.
Overall rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
12 out of 16(75%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ener-G Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Review 1 for Ener-G Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
thefathen
fromColorado Springs, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
A bit dry, but great for toast
 April 14, 2013
"I love having this on hand for times when only tea and toast will do. The shelf life allows that. If there is a loaf in the refrigerator nearing the end of its life, it makes wonderful gluten-free breadcrumbs. This has become a staple in my pantry."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ener-G Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
buttercup94
fromSt. Pete Beach, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great taste
 April 8, 2013
"Very happy with this purchase. I was eating sprouted grain bread but I am allergic to gluten and soy. This is one of the few products I have found that I can eat. Ironically the taste is closer to actual bread. Sprouted breads are more fulling and heavy. This bread is light and each slice is very small. Definitely for those with allergies."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ener-G Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DebJoy
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Really good taste
 December 17, 2012
"While I might wish the dietary fiber came from rice bran rather than an ingredient that is more like an additive, I have to say that this GF bread is addictive. Like all Ener-G breads, it really must be toasted. But it is, imo, the best tasting one. And unlike their other breads, it doesn't require salting. For some reason the slices are a bit thinner on this bread (and the calorie count lower), but that is nice sometimes. I rotate this one with the yeast free brown rice bread now. This one tastes much better, but it seems wise for me to watch my yeast consumption."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ener-G Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
KittyKittyKitty
fromMichigan
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Repulsive, I think...
 September 1, 2012
"Literally repulsive, as in, we opened the bag and were repulsed by the smell. I attempted to toast a piece, but that didn't help. I couldn't get anyone to try it...I couldn't even convince MYSELF to try it. (shudder) Ultimately, we just threw out the loaf. In my opinion, one star is one star too many for this, I am sorry to say. We continue to look for a gluten-free bread alternative."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ener-G Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fushia22
 August 18, 2012
"Great for those allergic to wheat, milk and egg. Sometimes pieces may break but it's nice to have sandwiches again. Taste better toasted."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ener-G Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SammyV
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Ener-G tapioca loaf gluten/wheat free bread
 July 28, 2011
"Since I make most of my food from scratch, I know first hand how hard it is to come up with a gluten free flour mix that will approximate the taste and texture of regular bread. While still easily broken, this bread comes really close. Makes wonderful toast, and I buy several loaves at a time, and it freezes well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ener-G Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Taste:
1 / 5
1 / 5
LiveLongAndProsper
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Not good
 April 25, 2011
"Sure it may have desirable ingredients, but this bread is just plain no good. Breaks apart so easily toasted or not. Sticks together and the taste is bland. Still searching for that perfect bread."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ener-G Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peanutzmom
Think Sourdough
 October 20, 2010
"Some reviews I have read would have made me not take the chance on this, but luckily I got it a store close by. I have to say the fragrance of the bread was a bit different - if you have brewed your own beer or made your own sourdough bread, it smells like that bitter smell. The taste is great though - just think sourdough and you'll enjoy it as a great gluten-free sourdough alternative!
It is great toasted, great in sandwiches, awesome with hummus. I strongly recommend this bread!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ener-G Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GFRox
fromToledo, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Pleasantly surprised
 February 17, 2010
"I wasn't too sure when I ordered this bread because most gluten free bread products I've tried have been a big disappointment. I was pleasantly surprised to find the texture and taste of this bread to be good! (It smells a little weird but tastes just fine) I was able to have a grilled cheese sandwich for the first time in over a year :) I wrapped the slices individually to freeze them and they worked just fine when I toasted or made grilled sandwiches later (not soggy or crumbly) It is a firm bread so it works great for grilled sandwiches, panini or toast. I definitely recommend this product!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ener-G Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JenS
fromBlakely, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
BEST SO FAR
 November 25, 2009
"I believe everyone is being a little hard on the taste of this product. Gluten free bread will not taste like the "real thing". Gluten is an important component of bread's taste and texture, however, this is the best store bought bread I have had so far. Most of us do not have time to bake our own. Please do not buy the bread and give it a poor review because it just doesn't stack up to the bread you bought from your local bakery or the homemade bread you made last week. If you are looking for gluten free bread it means you probably have an allergy. This bread is a good substitute and will not make you sick which in the end, is what is important. As for the lack of flavor, hopefully this will make you a little more creative with the ingredients in the sandwich which will cleverly disguise the lack of "fresh bakery bread" taste. Enjoy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ener-G Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Taste:
1 / 5
1 / 5
sheilaMN
fromMN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Not very good
 August 31, 2009
"If you need some bread quick and this all you can find then fine. I hesitated to make my own gf bread because of how not good these breads were. Buy a bread machine and make your own. Some machines have GF settings. Bread machine bread mixes are good like gf bakery brand. I enjoy brown rice bread made in my own machine."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ener-G Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Taste:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Babette
fromKY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
 May 17, 2009
"If you're gluten intollerant, like me, and all you can have is this bread then it's ok but it's hard to aquire a taste for it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Ener-G Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
4 out of 4 recommend this product