Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Vinegar or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Eden Foods Selected Ume Plum Vinegar -- 10 fl oz Each / Pack of 2

Naturally fermented. Lightly filtered. Eden® Ume Plum Vinegar is the essence of umeboshi its pickling brine.
Overall rating:
4.737 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
17 out of 19(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Eden Foods Selected Ume Plum Vinegar -- 10 fl oz Each / Pack of 2
Review 1 for Eden Foods Selected Ume Plum Vinegar -- 10 fl oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ValerieN
fromRichmond VA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Tasty Enhancement to Meals
 September 17, 2013
"Eden's Ume Plum Vinegar is a delicious natural flavoring, for just about everything, -except deserts. Slightly similar to Tamari, but tastier....maybe - a slight tang. Since it is fermented (=containing the healthy bacteria), I do not cook with it or topple it over anything steaming hot, - as high temperatures would destroy that beneficial bacteria. A tasty find."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Eden Foods Selected Ume Plum Vinegar -- 10 fl oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mka7
fromArizona
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great health tool for great price!
 July 10, 2013
"Another great health tool that is a challenge to find anywhere else at such a good price, let alone find it anywhere else since it is unique. Excellent on salads, great for healing and maintaining the entire digestive system. Mixing it with olive oil and apple cider vinegar makes an incredible dressing!"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Eden Foods Selected Ume Plum Vinegar -- 10 fl oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MsM1
fromArizona, Cottonwood
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great for soups and gravies
 December 9, 2012
"this product has almost removed table salt from my household."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Eden Foods Selected Ume Plum Vinegar -- 10 fl oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nutritionmaven
fromrockaway nj
Age:75+
Gender:Female
just a little perks up flavor
 July 29, 2012
"My husband loves the difference in taste of almost any dish I make when I add just a quick dash of Ume Plum Vinegar."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Eden Foods Selected Ume Plum Vinegar -- 10 fl oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SeaViewLady
fromSan Juan, Puerto Rico
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
LOVE IT!
 July 26, 2012
"Excellent for salads or as a marinade. It is on the salty side, so no need to add salt if using this condiment. Particularly love it for pickling baby bella or portobello mushrooms."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Eden Foods Selected Ume Plum Vinegar -- 10 fl oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jackiefan
fromNorthern California
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great plum vinegar
 July 21, 2012
"I like ume plums to flavor rice. The are usually very expensive and this vinegar is a great alternative to using the plums. I use it with Tamari sauce to season sushi rice. It has a good flavor and very unique taste. I think it would taste good with all Asian cooking."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Eden Foods Selected Ume Plum Vinegar -- 10 fl oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CatF
fromColchester, VT
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:61-180 days
Absolutely amazing
 December 29, 2011
"if your are a vinegar snob you must add this to your collection.
Incredible in salad dressing (don't add salt) just olive oil 2 to 1 vinegar.
or lightly sprinkle on steamed baby bok choy, drizzle olive oil, fresh ground pepper et voila!
A refreshing new taste that really pops!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Eden Foods Selected Ume Plum Vinegar -- 10 fl oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
veggiefarmer
fromCentral Virginia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Add Some Umami
 September 26, 2011
"I use this ume vinegar paired with flax oil to dress baby greens for a very yummy salad. It is absolutely delicious! Don't use too much at a time though as it is quite salty!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Eden Foods Selected Ume Plum Vinegar -- 10 fl oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hitty
Nice!
 August 5, 2011
"I purchased this product to make hand made Japanese pickled ginger (Not sweet and sour sushi pickled ginger).
And I could make exactly what I wanted just with ginger and this vinegar. What I really like about this is this vinegar is just made from Ume Plum, Shiso(a kind of herb) and seasalt. So, it' very natural.
Of course, the taste is excellent and I'll say you can use it for salad dressing, stir fried vegetable or sushi rice too. You could arrange your dish with this as you want.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Eden Foods Selected Ume Plum Vinegar -- 10 fl oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
1 / 5
1 / 5
becky123
 July 25, 2011
"The vinegar was EXTREMELY salty. I tried mixing it with water to dilute, but still salty. It has over 1,200 mg of sodium in two tablespoons!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Eden Foods Selected Ume Plum Vinegar -- 10 fl oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
teaparty
fromMontana
Love this product!
 April 30, 2011
"My husband and I have been using ume vinegar with olive oil on our salads for years. All of the friends we share it with love it too. It helps to get the body more alkaline. It is also great on rice, vegetables, seaweed dishes, baked potatoes, etc. I don't care for the taste of other vinegars on salad, but I love this. It can be used as a salt substitute."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Eden Foods Selected Ume Plum Vinegar -- 10 fl oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthWonk
Glad I Did
 April 19, 2011
"Have thought of trying ume plum for a long time, but I already had a bunch of different vinegars so put it off. Since I love japanese fermented products, finally took the plunge. This stuff is so good you could dab it behind your ears like perfume."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Eden Foods Selected Ume Plum Vinegar -- 10 fl oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sadiedancer2
fromHawaii
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
tasty, healthy
 January 4, 2011
"Wonderful on greens, rice, and many foods, used like a vinegar, soy sauce, or salt. I keep several bottles on hand, a little goes a long way."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Eden Foods Selected Ume Plum Vinegar -- 10 fl oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JC4Me
fromCal
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
WOW! Delish
 July 2, 2009
"This stuff is so incredibly tasty and awesome.
One thing, use sparingly as it is very naturally salty."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Eden Foods Selected Ume Plum Vinegar -- 10 fl oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mearced
fromSan Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Good Price - Good Vinegar
 December 6, 2008
"This vinegar has a tangy, salty flavor and has many health benefits. It's wonderful for Asian type salads."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Eden Foods Selected Ume Plum Vinegar -- 10 fl oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Calgolf
fromHuntington Beach, Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good value
 September 7, 2008
"I buy this all the time to cook with and this is the best value I have found."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Eden Foods Selected Ume Plum Vinegar -- 10 fl oz Each / Pack of 2
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product