Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hot Cereal & Oatmeal or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2

Organic. Whole Grain Cereal. Wheat Free. Good Source of Thiamin Niacin and Phosphorus. Low Fat. A Cholesterol Free Food. Vegetarian. All Natural - no artificial anything! Arrowhead Mills Rice and Shine Hot Cereal is made from nutty tasting brown rice which is higher in fiber vitamins and minerals than white rice making it a great tasting hot breakfast cereal!
Overall rating:
4.391 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
4
1 Star
0
19 out of 23(83%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Review 1 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ekztug
fromsc
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
tastes like corn grits
 August 27, 2013
"for those of you who can't eat corn grits this is a great substitute. the children love it in the winter when it is cold. i am still amazed how much it taste like real corn grits."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rhona
fromClearwater, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This and another cereal.
 March 21, 2013
"I eat hot cereal almost every day because it fills me up and stays with me. I switch between this cereal and the Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free because my body digests both very well, and the flavor is so good that I don't need to add anything to them. But sometimes I do - like fruit and/or flax oil."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ConsciousMama
fromMesa, AZ
A must-have
 December 6, 2012
"This yummy brown rice is great for sweet or savory dishes, not just as cereal. I made it withchicken broth, cheddar cheese and fresh tomatoes as a side dish with fish. Also made a delicious rice pudding that was loved by all. But what I love most is how quickly I can prepare a hot healthy breakfast for my son!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jsth
Love these!
 September 15, 2012
"So yummy, so easy to make, so wonderful for those of us who struggle with eating other grains. i eat mine with a little stevia or honey and it's WONDERFUL."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
revangelica
fromTionium, MD
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
yummy
 July 6, 2012
"Being a gluten free girl, I really appreciate finding something that tastes good and is easy to make. This certainly is -- throw in some cranberries and nuts & it is perfect!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CuteC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Tasty
 May 10, 2012
"This was very good, it was a nice change from oatmeal."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rossca
Love this cereal
 April 26, 2012
"I have it almost every day with dried fruit like raisins, cranberries and cherries."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
livingpuravida
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Satiating Breakfast Meal
 April 25, 2012
"Good price and great tasting!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Taste:
2 / 5
2 / 5
mcv85
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Not as good as I hoped.
 January 3, 2012
"Very blah taste. Needed to add xylitol and fruit to be edible."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
leepa
fromNH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
...rice, twice, thrice
 December 19, 2011
"Now a healthy "organic" alternative to hot oatmeal--Arrowhead Mills new, brown rice cereal.
This highly nutritional product is so versatile, that it can be served hot, sprinkled on fruit/yogurt or added to your favorite muffins.
Your whole family will love this delectable, organic, cereal. Be assured you're serving the best 'brand' on the market. Go ahead and try it!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cathyr
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
The Best!
 May 20, 2011
"By far, this is the best tasting gluten-free hot cereal I've tasted! It's slightly different than the 'run-of-the-mill' gluten-free products. It's tasty and filling"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eowyn
fromOklahoma
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great Taste!
 February 20, 2010
"For a gluten free product, this product has a great taste, and is easy to prepare."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Taste:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cynchip
fromOHIO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Filling but flavorless!
 October 27, 2009
"recently went gluten free and trying to find alternatives for everything!! Made this yesterday, putting a whole banana in a 3 serving size bowl, along with 2 tablespoons of honey. Cereal was gummy, dull and had no flavor. Cooked for amount of time specified. it is tolerable, but i wll not buy another box when this one is gone."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
1 / 5
1 / 5
abfab
fromRhode Island
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Gritty and nasty
 March 10, 2009
"A big surprise if you like cream of rice cereal! this is a gritty and nasty cereal and no matter how long you cook it it is gritty and bad."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Taste:
1 / 5
1 / 5
NaturalFan
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Not happy with this
 February 4, 2009
"I love cereal, but am gluten sensitive, so I feel like I have limited choices. I bought this based on other reviews, but I do not like it - and I don't consider myself to be picky. I added some cinnamon, dried fruit, nuts and honey, and it was tolerable, but I won't repurchase."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrsCrocetti
fromStaten Island, NY
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
A great product
 December 25, 2008
"Finally a product I can actually enjoy without the guilt. Being wheat intolerant and gluten sensitive, all cereals were out of bound for me. Now I can actually "pretend" I'm eating my favorit cereal, oatmeal and doctor it up to my needs. Now if I can only find a cold cereal without sugar and wheat I could be completely happy! Is there such a thing out there?"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
liliane
frommilpitas,ca
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good product
 November 20, 2008
"Very similar to regular cream of rice only this is made with brown rice, so better nutrition wise. Good for gluten intolerant."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pgturgati
fromOcala, Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:30-60 days
Excellent Product
 September 11, 2008
"If you are tired when you head out in the morning, try this for breakfast. I definitely have more energy on the days when I eat this hot cereal.
I like the fact that it is certified organic. I also enjoy the taste. I stir in some organic honey and organic butter."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OrganicGal
fromTucson, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Wonderful Tasty Cereal & Great Value
 September 3, 2008
"I bought Arrowhead Mills Organic Rice and Shine on sale a few years ago. I used to eat grits a lot in my youth but as gluten intolerant person now...who avoids wheat, gluten, plus a lot of other grains...I gave up on grits. I tried this formula and WOW! Not only is it organic and gluten free, but the taste is so delicious. It has a bit of a nutty flavor and as a brown rice lover, I was more than pleased. Plus, the little box lasts 2-3 times longer than a box of cereal you buy at the market. I keep mine in the freezer and it took a month to finish just one box. I have started to use the cereal for other recipes too. I add sea salt and that is all you really need but you certainly can add cinnamon, stevia, even milk. It is very versatile and especially in winter hits the spot as a nice pick-me-up in the morning. If you are on a budget, you can cook it with twice the amount of water and stretch the amount you get by cooking until the added water absorbs.
I highly recommend this wonderful cereal which is good and nutritious for the kids too!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Rice and Shine Hot Cereal -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
skipster
fromOhio
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Rice & Shine starts my day
 August 9, 2008
"For years I didn't think I could eat cereal for breakfast, because of my gluten allergy. Imagine how happy I was to find Rise & Shine hot rice cereal! I have tried several other brands of hot rice cereal since then, and this one has the best taste and consistency hands down! I eat it with butter like grits or sometimes sweeten it with real maple syrup and add organic milk. It's the bomb! And it's absolutely easy on my system."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next