Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3

Wheat Free • Gluten Free • Dairy Free. Since 1962 when we first created low protein products for renal pre-dialysis patients we have striven to meet the challenging requirements for diet-restricted consumers. We not only offer wheat-free and gluten-free products but also products for low-protein diets and those that are egg free and dairy free. Our bakery is dedicated to wheat-free and gluten-free baking guaranteeing that contamination from gluten will not occur. Our innovative packaging gives our products a 1-year shelf life without the need for refrigeration. We bake our products as orders are received to ensure that the freshest product is available. Our bread is kept fresh through a highly developed vacuum packing process and guaranteed until each best before date on the package. With a long shelf life you can enjoy your favorites for a while.
Overall rating:
3.333 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
7
17 out of 27(63%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Review 1 for Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Rob4815
fromArizona
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Average rice bread
 September 2, 2013
"It's the only bread that you carry....Not that good....better then nothing.... make good toast......Udi's is superior rice breadand the best on market... taste as good as the best wheat bread wheat bread..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
elting
fromStaten Island, NY
Age:75+
Gender:Female
bread is ok toasted
 August 25, 2013
"haven't found anything better"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bluffton
fromBluffton, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Tasty once you toast it
 August 8, 2013
"The one thing I miss the most after my diagnosis is eating bread, but with this Brown Rice Bread I am almost there. Once I toast it, it's pretty close to "the real thing". I love the packaging, it keeps it fresh for a very long time and I am able to buy in bulk because of that."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
winke
fromvirginia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Doesn't last without getting moldy
 June 12, 2013
"I purchased this three pack of Brown Rice Bread. They told of their innovative packaging and that no refrigeration was needed. Since we live in the country and no Gluten Free breads are available in the local marketplace ...I kept this , as an emergency bread if I wasn't baking or hadn't been to a larger grocery store. We used the first two loafs within a months time, but the third was on the shelf and then taken down this weekend to make french toast. After opening this wonderful "innovative" packaging, we found the bread moldy. Don't buy it unless you intend to use in within a couple of months. Their claims that it will last a year is untrue."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Diane00000
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Not Good
 June 12, 2013
"This bread does not taste good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Okie4ever
fromOklahoma
Age:45-54
Tastes good
 May 29, 2013
"I order this for my mother and she says it is much better quality than what she had been getting in the store. Fresher."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Avon1234
fromVan Nuys, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Tastes awful.
 April 22, 2013
"This bread tastes awful even when toasted."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CandyApples
fromNC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Toast it first!
 March 8, 2013
"This bread is horrible, unless you toast it first! Even if you don't want a warm sandwich, toast it and let it cool. Seriously, it's like magic. When I tried it without toasting it, it was so bad I spit it out and needed a drink. I'm not one of those people who expects Gluten Free foods to taste like 'regular' foods, especially baked goods. It is good bread, though... if toasted first. If you are craving soft Gluten Free sandwich bread... give it up, unless you want to bake your own. This pre packed stuff is just not going to cut it for you. But, if you have to eat Gluten Free and need a quick bread option sometimes, this brown rice loaf is my favorite of the GF pre packaged breads we've tried. The loaves are small, but that's great because you've only got 3 days to use it... or about a week if you put it in the fridge (in an airtight container). My son (a 4 year old who CAN eat gluten) went absolutely nuts over this bread! I toast it lightly, spread a little butter over it, sprinkle sugar and cinnamon on top and call it 'sweet bread'. I do this on 'regular' bread, too. But, he asks for this bread"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
jerushy
fromTN
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
No salt
 February 19, 2013
"This bread would be, to me, a perfect replacement for wheat bread except for one thing--no salt. That's fine for people on salt free diets but that isn't me. However, I can remedy that by putting a sprinkle on whatever I spread it with AFTER I'VE TOASTED IT. Yes. It must be toasted. I haven't tried packing a sandwich but I'd think it would be best to toast it and not assemble it until time to eat."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
MrsIncredible
fromWesley Chapel, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Taste Horrible
 November 18, 2012
"This was the first time I tried this bread. When I took a bite it made me think of alcohol and card board. I tried to give it to birds in our back yard and they kept spitting it up. I can't speak for all of Ener-G breads but the Brown Rice is the worst tasting GF bread I have tasted yet. VitaCost was amazing though and showed me the best customer service I have experienced from a company and took care of me beyond what I expected. I will definitely use them again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VeganGreenGranny
fromColumbus, OH
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Good toasted
 August 28, 2012
"As a recent gluten free dieter, I find this product quite tasty toasted. The texture is good, and it's filling."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
 August 12, 2012
"I am not a picky eater but this is definately an aquired taste. Not good for me."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Shannij
fromGa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Very Dry
 July 24, 2012
"I am new at trying gf breads but this was very dense and dry. I couldn't eat it. It has a shelf life of a year?? Not sure what I think of that"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cheetalake09
fromOklahoma City, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Just OK
 July 23, 2012
"These have an odd texture that I have a hard time getting used to (compared to regular gluten bread). They are OK in a pinch but you need to make sure you toast it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Irishgma
Age:75+
Gender:Female
 July 18, 2012
"nice size for sandwich for senior appetite,nice toast ,doesn't crumble if store according to instructions like some of them do"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
gluty
fromScottsdale, AZ
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Too plain and smooth
 July 6, 2012
"I was looking forward to more substance to the bread. I wanted more grains, than just brown rice, I guess. I will not reorder."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Missy468
Would Not Buy Again
 June 10, 2012
"Worst "bread" ever! Crumbled into bits when I opened the package and the taste was just dreadful."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Minor
fromSheffield, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Excellent product
 May 26, 2012
"My 5 year old daughter has Celiac so we have been experimenting with different foods/brands. She actually loved this bread."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
momdkk
Good substitution for any one avoiding wheat
 May 26, 2012
"My Daughter is allergic to wheat, after trying different products she liked this one. I like that it is brown rice."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ener-G Brown Rice Loaf Gluten Free -- 16 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
3 / 5
3 / 5
alpha1961
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
An excellent replacement for Gluten products
 February 29, 2012
"This is not bad; it's just that I've been used to all the gluten used in other breads. Like another reveiwer said: Toast this and it tastes actually quite good. But, eaten plain, it's very dry. I just tried it the other day--toasted with a bit of salt on it and some extra virgin olive oil. THEN it tasted really good. If you're trying to break the gluten habit, give yourself some time to enjoy its many uses, as I will."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next