Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Breakfast or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2

Steel-Cut Oats are freshly milled from high protein oats and cut into neat little pieces on a steel buhr mill. Steel Cut Oats are one of the healthiest foods you can eat and they make a delightful full-bodied hot cereal with an appealing texture. Try some Steel Cut Oats today!
Overall rating:
4.957 / 5
5
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CXCYCLIST
fromSomerset County, NJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Gr8
 August 24, 2013
"Tastes very, very, very, very good!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
schoolsecretary
Age:65-74
 August 17, 2013
"Absolutely love steel cut oatmeal!! This is one of the best brands I have tried. Love that it is gluten free too!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gymgoer
fromCA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Bob's comes through again.
 July 11, 2013
"I have eaten their regular GF oatmeal and decided to try the steel cut oats. These are wonderful as well. They turn out best when soaked in water overnight. A little almond milk, vanilla, blueberries..yum!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Turboshopper
fromNorthern California
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hard to Find in Stores!
 June 18, 2013
"Very filling. I cook a 1/4 cup at a time. It cooks in ten minutes. I add cinnamon and it's a great snack."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
no2gluten
fromalbany, ga
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Delicious!
 June 6, 2013
"So glad to find Bob's Red Mill steel cut oats available at Vitacost for such a reasonable price - much better price than at health food stores. As for the taste of steel cut oats - don't think I could ever go back to eating rolled oats as the steel cut taste is so, so, so much better - kind of a nutty texture. I eat these at least 5 times a week with blueberries and walnuts, with a little almond milk poured in. Love the taste! Love the Vitacost price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
STLGrandma
fromLake Worth, Fl
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
My preferred oatmeal
 March 17, 2013
"I make enough for 4 days at a time and just refrigerate the leftovers. It takes 2 minutes to reheat in the microwave. I add cinnamon and honey to my oatmeal. This has a great taste and I prefer it to the faster cooking Bob's Red Mill Oatmeal."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Healthyone1
fromNew York, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Wonderful, gluten free oatmeal
 December 5, 2012
"Significantly cheaper at Vitacost than my local food coop or Whole Foods.
Great product for a healthy breakfast that sticks to the ribs."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
tillee
fromCA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Steel Cut Oats
 November 11, 2012
"This was the first time I had ever tried steel cut oats. Tastes great. Texture is different than rolled oats."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
beechwood
fromseattle, wa
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love the flavor and versatility
 November 8, 2012
"These are such a great price and taste so good. I add the to soups, stews add great flavor."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
animalmom1
fromAlamo, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Best oats ever!
 November 6, 2012
"Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats are the absolute best. I microwave them every morning for breakfast. I put 1/4 c. of them in an extra large bowl with a little over 3/4 c. hot water and microwave on high for 3 minutes. I then give a quick stir and put a plastic vented cover over the bowl and microwave for 6 minutes on my microwave's Defrost setting. The oats come out perfect every time (except when I accidentally forgot to press the Defrost button and the oats cooked on High for six minutes -- a good part of the oatmeal had escaped the bowl and I had a mess in my microwave to clean up!) Steel cut oats have a much better texture and taste than regular oatmeal. Trust me, once you try steel cut oats, you won't want regular oatmeal anymore. My husband eats regular oats because they take less time to microwave before he rushes off to work, but when I see his oatmeal in his bowl now, I wonder how I ever ate it. It looks like a pale, gluey, homogenous glob in the bowl -- not very appealing!
It's hard to find Bob's Steel Cut Oats in the gluten free version -- my grocery store has it only intermittantly, so I really appreciate being able to buy it from Vitacost at a very good price."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strongheart
fromSilver Spring, MD
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Steel cut oats are different and delicious!
 October 22, 2012
"I have never tried steel cut oats before and I was a little hesitant. I'm afraid I have been guilty of eating Instant Oatmeal lots of times. After trying these, I will never eat Instant Oatmeal again! The steel cut oats have authority and you just know you're doing something good for yourself. Try 'em...you'll love 'em!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
singlefella
fromBatesville, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Pleasantly surprised
 October 7, 2012
"This was my first try of steel cut oats. I really enjoyed the flavor and the texture. I did cook them the full 20 minutes. Will try the shorter time in the future."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GrannyNan
fromNH
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
So good in the crock pot!
 August 15, 2012
"Make this in the crock pot with 1 1/2 C milk and 1 1/2 C half water to a cup of oats. Add chopped apples, raisins, cinnamon and nuts and wake up to the smell of apple crisp for breakfast...so good!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GFFamilyinIndiana
fromIndiana
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
One of our favorites!
 August 11, 2012
"This is one of my go-to breakfasts!
Overnight Oatmeal
1 1/2 Cup Steel Cut Oats
3 Cups milk
3 Cups water
3/4 tsp salt
1/4 Cup Packed brown sugar
Combine in greased crock pot and cook on low overnight (9-10 hrs)
In morning uncover and stir in:
1/4 Cup brown sugar
1/2 Cup dried cranberries
1/2 Cup shredded coconut
1/2 Cup Sliced almonds
Serve w/ milk."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LizoftheLake
Great!
 May 15, 2012
"I really like these steel cut oats. Not too mushy, not too crunchy. and they don't take as long to cook as some others."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ResearcherGirl
fromCamas, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Healthly, Quick, Delicious, GF Breakfast
 April 15, 2012
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"I make this for my son before school every morning. A couple of tricks, First put the oats in the pot the night before, with half the recommended water (bring it to a boil and turn off for softer grains) then bring to a boil in the morning and simmer to finish. Very quick and delicious. We add a pinch of Kosher salt, 1 teaspoon brown sugar, cinnamon and stir gently. Then a few frozen berries to cool it quickly, sprinkle of chia and a drizzle of half and half. Whenever we have company they all want my son's breakfast."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PrettyEyes
fromNew Mexico
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great Oats
 November 26, 2011
"I really love this Oatmeal, it's very healthy and keeps me full for along time. it tastes real good to."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadyJaneUSA
fromSouthwest USA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Steel Cut Oats
 October 24, 2011
"I will never eat rolled oats again!! This tastes great. I make the recipe for four servings and refrigerate them. This way I just warm up the oats in the morning and I am on my way."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sadee
fromIndiana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Happy!
 January 2, 2011
"Happy to be able to eat oatmeal again! The taste and texture are great. Satisfies hunger very well. My husband loves it too."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Gluten Free -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buckeye2010
Age:35-44
Excellent
 April 27, 2010
"Hard to believe it's gluten free. Excellent taste and texture. Very please with purchase."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next