Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2

All Natural Product. Wheat Free. Dairy Free. Kosher. Specially designed for those sensitive to wheat and gluten this mix can be made into delicious homemade cakes cookies breads muffin pancakes and waffles. Contains a blend of gluten-free flours from potatoes sorghum tapioca garbanzo and fava beans.
Overall rating:
4.515 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
30 out of 33(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chris2r
fromvernon, ny
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
great taste compared to other gluten free flour
 September 18, 2013
"This flour works great in cooking and baking. Tastes great too for being gluten free! Finally found a flour we can use!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cdnskmom
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Sorry Bob's... not this one!
 August 21, 2013
"I love every Bob's Red Mill product... except this one! Very strong bean smell and flavour... very off-putting."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
MightyMouseMama
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Eh...
 August 9, 2013
"I will probably order this again, but only because it's convenient. It's very nice to have a GF flour since I and my 3 kids can't have gluten, but it takes a bit to get used to the aftertaste. Don't expect it to taste like regular flour. I'll probably (eventually) find a recipe on fb or pinterest that uses multiple flours and make my own all-purpose gf flour eventually, but until then, this will do.
As an aside- To make a suggestion of a baking mix that pleases even the picky gluten eaters, Pamela's baking mix is incredible (like a tasty Bisquick- but like all gf mixes I've found so far- add salt)
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bluelover
fromCrawfordville, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Gluten-free great tasting baking flour
 August 1, 2013
"Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour is wonderful for Celiacs as it is very safe to eat as it does not contain gluten! I make garlic bread & banana nut bread from this & add Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Flour. It really tastes great & nobody can tell the difference in these & wheat flour. My grown children request my banana nut bread as they really love it. A mixture of crushed pineapple & Libby's pumpkin & grated lemon as a topping, makes a delicious dessert!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
potentialredcard21
fromMilwaukee, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great flour
 July 10, 2013
"Love this flour blend, but don't use it for sweet stuff or you end up with a typical "g-free flour aftertaste""
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MamaJive
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Nice rise
 March 25, 2013
"Great taste and texture in pan cakes, waffles, cookies and cakes. This flour needs to sit with wet ingredients to rest (if your adapting a non-GF recipe more liquid may be needed) and soak up more moisture. Otherwise baked goods can be a bit dry."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vittorio
fromsan diego
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
a little more work than the mixed type
 March 13, 2013
"but you can add own ingredients"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
LadyPotter
fromMichigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Strange Aftertaste
 January 23, 2013
"I have been Gluten Free for 4 years now, and there are many more options for good tasting gluten free flour. Because this has Fava and Garbanzo Beans, it has an unpleasant aftertaste. It also has the effect that beans give many people (wind advisory). I tried this product when I first started gluten free baking and threw the rest away because of the aftertaste.
Yesterday, a kind neighbor baked me some gluten free cookies. I tasted one and I knew it must have bean flour in it. That aftertaste! After I asked what flour was used, I found out it was this product. Do yourself a favor, and make your own blend, or buy another flour
The other non-bean flours from Bob's are very good and I use them all the time."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wtxpainter
fromMarfa, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Recommend!
 December 30, 2012
"Another wonderful product from Bob's."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Danilynn
fromAlbany, Or
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great versatility a wonderful product
 November 8, 2012
"I value the quality of this product, learning to eat vegan has been
a challenge & this flour takes all the fuss out of baking.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Missybear
fromTN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Excellent product
 July 25, 2012
"One of the better gluten free products I have tried."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BLDinLA
fromLouisiana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wow! Off to a great start!I
 July 3, 2012
"I am new to being gluten free and miss baking. So stocked up on some Bob's Red Mill GF products, this one included. My first baking project was the GF Oatmeal Toffee Cookies (as found on the GF Oats Bag and at their website). These cookies were nothing short of amazing. Especially given that this was my first try at this new type of baking! My kids went nuts for them and my husband said they were "better than 'regular' cookies." I'm pleased because it allows me to have some treats, too. Thanks to Vitacost for a good price and shipping and to Bob's for supplying such great products."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
javid
fromCrossville, TN.
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Makes great Banana Bread!
 July 1, 2012
"My husband is now on a gluten-free diet and I converted his favorite banana bread recipe with this flour. I also like the chart on the package that tells how much xanthan gum to use per cup of flour."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nessablue
Just what you need
 June 12, 2012
"This is perfect! No more tracking down obscure and hard to find ingredients in order to make gluten free meals and baking. Its all in a bag and ready and easy to use. Great staple to have around!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
dizzyhappymama
fromlexington, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Easy to use mix
 June 11, 2012
"I have an intolerance to gluten and this is the mix i use. I simply substitute it when a recipe calls for all purpose flour. it makes it easier than buying 3 different kinds of flour and xantham gum!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
asalo
fromUpland, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Taste great
 May 24, 2012
"I used it to make pizza dough, and may kids love it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tabbyca
fromontonagon, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
good baking stuff
 May 9, 2012
"i made buffilo wings with this flour and they turned out
very good."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nener
Easy substitute in recipes
 May 3, 2012
"This product worked great, cup dor cup, in my regular recipes...biscuits, banana bread...just need to add zanthum gum like recommended on the package."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GlutenFreeUser
good flour
 May 1, 2012
"I use this for most recipes that call for flour. Works great."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 22 oz Each / Pack of 2
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SwimteamMom
fromIndiana
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Can't tell the difference
 February 6, 2012
"I've only used this product once. I like it. I didn't notice any difference in taste or texture from regular flour."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next