Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Eco Nuts Organic Natural Laundry Soap 100 Loads Fragrance Free -- 6.5 oz

HE + Standard Compatible. 100 Loads / Greater Value! Fragrance Free. Hypoallergenic. Biodegradable. Non-Toxic. Kills Odors. USDA Organic. What's an Eco Nut? Eco Nuts™ are dried berry shells from the Sapindus mukorossi (soapberry) tree in Asia that have amazing cleaning abilities and have been used for centuries to clean clothes. Using this natural detergent can reduce residual chemical buildup and odors in washing machines. Safe for septic and gray water systems. Eco Nuts™ are a highly effective natural cleaner and a green alternative to man-made detergents. you'd be nuts to use any other soap!  . Works for:. Laundry • Delicates • Silk • Baby Clothes • Cloth Diapers • Wool • Wetsuits • Camping • Stains.  . What's Inside:. 2 Wash Bags • Eco nuts™ • Instructions
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
8 out of 10(80%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Eco Nuts Organic Natural Laundry Soap 100 Loads Fragrance Free -- 6.5 oz
Review 1 for Eco Nuts Organic Natural Laundry Soap 100 Loads Fragrance Free -- 6.5 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
CountryGirlintheCity
fromPhiladelphia, Pa
Doesn't work on heavily soiled or synthetic fabric
 August 20, 2014
"I was excited to find this product, but the more I have used it, the more disappointed I have become. Eco nuts do not work on synthetic fabric. My husband's work uniforms came out of the wash still dirty. A dress shirt which was only part synthetic and not very dirty still smelled like the fragrance in the deodorant I use. Lightweight/vintage/heathered style tshirts came out of the wash with horrible pilling. To the point that about 4-5 shirts are ruined and aren't good for anything besides wearing around the house or yard. I would give this one star, but it does do well on towels and flannel sheets.
For reference we have city water that is not considered hard. I have a front loading HE washer and I used the product as directed."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Eco Nuts Organic Natural Laundry Soap 100 Loads Fragrance Free -- 6.5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
RoseK
No suds.
 June 22, 2014
"Brought Eco Nuts Natural Laundry Soap 100 Loads Organic Fragrance Free for my baby's laundry. It produced no suds whatsoever, and the clothes did not come out clean. Going back to dapple laundry detergent.
Looking at the price, the results that you obtain is very disappointing.
"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Eco Nuts Organic Natural Laundry Soap 100 Loads Fragrance Free -- 6.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chocogirl10
 June 15, 2014
"lovely product. such a relief to not worry about washing our clothes with harsh and toxic chemicals! these work great and leave no strong fragrance on the clothes. would definitely recommend this natural alternative to laundry detergent."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Eco Nuts Organic Natural Laundry Soap 100 Loads Fragrance Free -- 6.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Raae
fromNew York
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
So much better than carrying HUGE jugs home!
 March 30, 2014
"These seem to work great! The bag that you use in the washer is hard to open for some reason?!? I like that if you accidentally out them in the dryer you can still reuse them. If you are doing a cold load of laundry, put them into the bag and soak in a cup of hot water for about 3 minutes to “activate” the saponin (sudsing power) in the soap nuts. I will never buy the giant jugs ever again!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Eco Nuts Organic Natural Laundry Soap 100 Loads Fragrance Free -- 6.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
okfarmlady
fromStillwater OK
Gender:Female
Great fragrance free laundry soap
 January 31, 2014
"I was surprised at how well this soap worked. My laundry is just as clean as it was with other name brand liquid or powder soap. Soap nuts don't leave an odor in our clothing either. I would not have believed that a nut could clean clothes until I lived in Belgium for a year and used a product made out of these nuts while we were there. The woman I bought the product from in Belgium said her mother used to wash their clothes with a wooden washboard from a certain tree wood, that leached out soap when it was wet so they didn't have to buy or make soap. Also when we were in Italy I noticed that some of the trees were actually emitting large amounts of soap that ran down the streets when we were walking in heavy rain one evening. A box of 100 soap nuts lasted me about 100 loads when used as directed. I then made liquid soap out of the used nuts with a recipe I found on the internet. I use the liquid for washing dishes and hands. I like the fact that I have a little bitty box in my laundry room holding my laundry soap and I no longer have to lug home large bottles or tubs of soap anymore. The price is unbelievably cheap per load of clothes. I am so glad I found these soap nuts. Also, I am no longer putting unnecessary chemicals in our laundry and environment. Our cows and dogs actually drink the water that runs our of our washing machine. I already checked and cannot find a way to buy and ship the soap I loved so much in Belgium. These work just as well though. Soap nuts don't suds up a lot though so don't be surprised. They still clean well."
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Eco Nuts Organic Natural Laundry Soap 100 Loads Fragrance Free -- 6.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mandierh
fromCleveland, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Product works well
 December 11, 2013
"After getting the hang of using these soap nuts, I think they work well and keep my mind at easy knowing that there are no chemicals being used on our laundry, especially my children's cloth diapers!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Eco Nuts Organic Natural Laundry Soap 100 Loads Fragrance Free -- 6.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rdhfairy
 September 15, 2013
"Excellent product. It works well, and doesn't leave a scent on your clothes. There is a slight apple smell to the soap nuts when they're wet, but that doesn't transfer to the clothes. Much easier than trying to make my own detergent!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Eco Nuts Organic Natural Laundry Soap 100 Loads Fragrance Free -- 6.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nomnomnom89
Impressed!
 August 25, 2013
"These work great on all my laundry, from food-soiled towels to delicates. Fuzzy pajamas and blankets come out almost as soft as when I purchased them (and much softer than with detergents). Whenever I replace the soap nuts, my clothes have a light apple smell!
The only bad thing about these is that the two bags they come with smell horrible until you wash them a couple times."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Eco Nuts Organic Natural Laundry Soap 100 Loads Fragrance Free -- 6.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lubenica
fromNaples, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Small package, but good product!
 July 17, 2013
"I was surprised how small package it is, however it saves space and does a good job with no harsh chemicals!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Eco Nuts Organic Natural Laundry Soap 100 Loads Fragrance Free -- 6.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
3kiddos
fromMonroe, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product!
 April 15, 2013
"No more powder or liquid detergents and softeners. Works great! My only little problem is keeping track of how many times I used each sachet."
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.